Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz

Clarifying for Oily Hair. NSF-Contains Organic Ingredients. Remove excess oil and product build up with Desert Essence Organics Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo. Contains lemon tea tree oil and lemon peel extract to loosen and dissolve excess oil. Contains organic maca root extract known to strengthen and protect hair. With regular use hair is soft smooth and more manageable.
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(84 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 84 reviews
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
78 out of 84(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fawnmoon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells great, lathers well. Love it!
 January 17, 2016
"I have used many of Desert Essence products over the years and have rarely been disappointed. The Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo is one of their best products. It lathers well, rinses clean, and smells divine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kati
fromWA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it!
 December 31, 2015
"It's made of natural ingredients and leaves my hair clean and shiny!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ones71
fromBarcelona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious smell
 November 29, 2015
"I love the way this shampoo smells and how it leaves my hair,without oil"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrBrutalHonesty
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great Stuff
 November 25, 2015
"I've searched through many brands, many kinds, and many price ranges for shampoo and conditioner. Desert Essence delivers on both quality and price. Note that their shampoos seem a little watery kind of like simple syrup (bar ingredient) but all you really need for good lather is a about a little more than a dime's portion on your palm. The smell is great. Being that it is vegan and without a lot of the chemicals in your normal shampoos in the market it makes it a win-win.
This shampoo does dry your hair a lot because it does CLARIFY. So, you definitely NEED to get a STRONG conditioner for after using this. I use this shampoo every 2 or 3 days especially if I have a lot of oil or grit in my hair.
Recently, there is less of a discount on Vitacost for Desert Essence. It use to be at around $4.49 and now it's $5.00+. I'd still buy it over those other brands."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nanaw2
fromHumboldt, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fabulous shampoo!
 November 5, 2015
"I have been using this shampoo for a few years now. My daughter and grandson love it too. It cleans your hair without stripping its natural oils so your hair is left shiny and manageable! GREAT PRODUCT!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bellataliana
fromPompano Beach, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo!
 November 5, 2015
"This shampoo is great for Oily hair. It does what it says, it clarifies without leaving a dry scalp, and it smells great! The best part? It's Organic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Panda1
Happy with the product.
 October 10, 2015
"This product is great for oily hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
PSLL
Okay...so so
 August 19, 2015
"The bottle leaked when I received it. The product works so so."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MCSLady
fromJackson, MO.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love The Fragrance....
 August 2, 2015
"This shampoo has a light lemony fragrance. I enjoyed using it although it dried my hair out a little. I just won't use it that often. Only when I need a deep clean."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewHopeMom
fromNew Hope, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Lovely shampoo
 July 27, 2015
"Left my hair very soft and clean. Its gentle and did not irritate my scalp which some shampoos do because of harsh ingredients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kay4Peace
fromMuskogee, Oklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo!
 April 30, 2015
"This shampoo smells wonderful! Works great on my baby fine oily hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rosi36
fromIsrael
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great smell but not effective against itchy scalp
 April 13, 2015
"Purchased this product to deal with itchy and flaky scalp.
The smell of the shampoo is great but it made my scalp oilier and itchier than originally.
Sorry - didn't do it for me.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyinTacoma
fromTacoma, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
DESERT ESSENCE...ALWAYS GOOD!
 February 1, 2015
"I love this product. Cleans you hair squeaky, makes it shiney without drying out your hair. I love Desert Essence products because of the HEALTHY, NON TOXIC ingredients. Highly recommend on my 60+ yr old hair! :-)
I use all these shampoos and love them!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruta2d
fromOntario canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for oily hair
 November 10, 2014
"My teenage son had very oily hair. We tried many shampoos for oily hair which arent easy to come across. None of them worked. Dry shampoos etc. nothing worked. This shampoo is amazing. His hair ir soft,shiny and never greasy or oily. I highly recommend anyone that suffers with oily hair to use this product. You wont be dissapointed. Dont recommend if you dont have oily hair. My daughter has normal hair and it dried her hair out after a few uses.
It smells great too. Very lemony :)
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peppermintcrunch
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 November 6, 2014
"LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this shampoo! My hair has become very oily again and after trying several brands of shampoos with nothing working I stumbled upon this.
I am amazed not only at just how well it work but at such a small amount I need. I will continue to buy this. If you have exstreamly oily hair like I do I highly recommend you try this shampoo."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NutriDiva
fromKewaunee, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo!
 October 16, 2014
"We like this shampoo a lot and have been using it for several years. It works well, has a nice, mild scent and considering that it doesn't have tons of toxic chemicals in it (for which we usually have to pay a lot extra), it's not a bad price!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fireflybrite
fromNorthern California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Shampoo
 October 6, 2014
"Great Shampoo"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthConnoisseur
fromGeorgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for very oily hair
 September 4, 2014
"My children used this when they were going through hormonal changes that caused their hair to be extremely oily. Most other shampoos did not work, even if they washed their hair multiple times. The Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo did the trick.
Caution: If your hair is NOT extremely oily, this shampoo will strip the oils and cause frizz. Lots of frizz. Now that my kids have moved to another stage of growth, this shampoo is now too much and we have switched to a more balanced shampoo."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carambolaa
fromYonkers, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best product for oily hair!
 August 26, 2014
"My hair gets very oily on the scalp and dry at the ends. I usually go to the salon every week and my hair won't last more than 2 days. I found this product online a few years back recommended for oily hair. It is PERFECT! Weightless hydration and smells fantastic. I have tried a lot of "high end" products for my hair and this is by far the best! Inexpensive and works better than "high end" brands."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ThatsASilentE
fromNorth Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for oily hair
 July 31, 2014
"I bought this for my boyfriend who has really oily hair.
He normally can't get through a whole day here in Florida with out it getting greasy looking.
This has helped a lot. Now its not oily till the end of the night, instead of mid afternoon. I imagine the longer he uses it, it might even get a smidge better.
Smells great by the way.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next