Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz

Clarifying for Oily Hair. NSF-Contains Organic Ingredients. Remove excess oil and product build up with Desert Essence Organics Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo. Contains lemon tea tree oil and lemon peel extract to loosen and dissolve excess oil. Contains organic maca root extract known to strengthen and protect hair. With regular use hair is soft smooth and more manageable.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 89 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
83 out of 89(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBranford, CT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The best shampoo for fine, oily hair. Period.
 June 27, 2016
" I've been buying this shampoo for about 5 years now, ever since I went vegan and needed a cruelty free shampoo that would work to clean my fine, oily hair without stripping it. This is my holy grail shampoo, I've gone through about 20 bottles so far and will continue to buy it. It leaves my hair super clean but still feels shiny and hydrated without being weighed down. I find it's so hard to find all natural shampoos that really clean your hair but this one works wonders. I even got my boyfriend hooked on it. My hair is color treated and it doesn't seem to strip the color either. I love, love this shampoo and you can't beat Vitacost's pricing. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Works ok, seemed to make my hair oilier, though...
 April 22, 2016
" To start off, I'd say that the Italian Lemon shampoo by this same brand works much better for me, but everyone's gonna have their own unique experience, so for my scalp/hair, I prefer the Italian Lemon shampoo.
At first I really liked this shampoo, it made my hair feel squeaky clean but DIDN'T dry it, and made it feel very soft upon drying. However, because I don't wash my hair daily, I noticed that when I used this shampoo, my scalp would start to get oily/have a build up as early as a few hours after washing! This has not happened with the Italian Lemon one. I'm not sure if perhaps this shampoo was a little too stripping, and as a result my scalp would try to compensate by creating MORE oil?? I'm not sure, either way, unfortunately this one hasn't worked for me, but glad I found the Italian Lemon one! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent clarifier!
 March 31, 2016
" I have thick, curly hair. My scalp used to be dry and itchy until I started using this and the conditioner. These are great products that I recommend to anyone with the same problems! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best clarifying shampoo!
 March 14, 2016
" What I love most about this shampoo, aside from its clean ingredients, is the fact it does a stellar job of keeping the silver gray in my salt and pepper hair gleaming, and I don't have to worry about any yellowing from oxidation. I don't even bother to waste time checking for it anymore.
The smell is great, and I have no complaints. I will definitely be purchasing it again and again. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frompa
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Favorite
 February 19, 2016
" This is my favorite shampoo! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smells great, lathers well. Love it!
 January 17, 2016
" I have used many of Desert Essence products over the years and have rarely been disappointed. The Lemon Tea Tree Shampoo is one of their best products. It lathers well, rinses clean, and smells divine. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it!
 December 31, 2015
" It's made of natural ingredients and leaves my hair clean and shiny! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromBarcelona
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious smell
 November 29, 2015
" I love the way this shampoo smells and how it leaves my hair,without oil "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great Stuff
 November 25, 2015
" I've searched through many brands, many kinds, and many price ranges for shampoo and conditioner. Desert Essence delivers on both quality and price. Note that their shampoos seem a little watery kind of like simple syrup (bar ingredient) but all you really need for good lather is a about a little more than a dime's portion on your palm. The smell is great. Being that it is vegan and without a lot of the chemicals in your normal shampoos in the market it makes it a win-win.
This shampoo does dry your hair a lot because it does CLARIFY. So, you definitely NEED to get a STRONG conditioner for after using this. I use this shampoo every 2 or 3 days especially if I have a lot of oil or grit in my hair.
Recently, there is less of a discount on Vitacost for Desert Essence. It use to be at around $4.49 and now it's $5.00+. I'd still buy it over those other brands. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHumboldt, Tn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Fabulous shampoo!
 November 5, 2015
" I have been using this shampoo for a few years now. My daughter and grandson love it too. It cleans your hair without stripping its natural oils so your hair is left shiny and manageable! GREAT PRODUCT! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPompano Beach, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo!
 November 5, 2015
" This shampoo is great for Oily hair. It does what it says, it clarifies without leaving a dry scalp, and it smells great! The best part? It's Organic! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happy with the product.
 October 10, 2015
" This product is great for oily hair. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Okay...so so
 August 19, 2015
" The bottle leaked when I received it. The product works so so. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromJackson, MO.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love The Fragrance....
 August 2, 2015
" This shampoo has a light lemony fragrance. I enjoyed using it although it dried my hair out a little. I just won't use it that often. Only when I need a deep clean. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Hope, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Lovely shampoo
 July 27, 2015
" Left my hair very soft and clean. Its gentle and did not irritate my scalp which some shampoos do because of harsh ingredients. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMuskogee, Oklahoma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great shampoo!
 April 30, 2015
" This shampoo smells wonderful! Works great on my baby fine oily hair. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromIsrael
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great smell but not effective against itchy scalp
 April 13, 2015
" Purchased this product to deal with itchy and flaky scalp.
The smell of the shampoo is great but it made my scalp oilier and itchier than originally.
Sorry - didn't do it for me.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTacoma, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
DESERT ESSENCE...ALWAYS GOOD!
 February 1, 2015
" I love this product. Cleans you hair squeaky, makes it shiney without drying out your hair. I love Desert Essence products because of the HEALTHY, NON TOXIC ingredients. Highly recommend on my 60+ yr old hair! :-)
I use all these shampoos and love them!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOntario canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for oily hair
 November 10, 2014
" My teenage son had very oily hair. We tried many shampoos for oily hair which arent easy to come across. None of them worked. Dry shampoos etc. nothing worked. This shampoo is amazing. His hair ir soft,shiny and never greasy or oily. I highly recommend anyone that suffers with oily hair to use this product. You wont be dissapointed. Dont recommend if you dont have oily hair. My daughter has normal hair and it dried her hair out after a few uses.
It smells great too. Very lemony :)
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Organics Shampoo Lemon Tea Tree -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 November 6, 2014
" LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this shampoo! My hair has become very oily again and after trying several brands of shampoos with nothing working I stumbled upon this.
I am amazed not only at just how well it work but at such a small amount I need. I will continue to buy this. If you have exstreamly oily hair like I do I highly recommend you try this shampoo. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next