Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Facial Moisturizer or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz

Normal Skin. with Jojoba and Aloe Vera. Desert Essence believes in renewal. Renewal for body mind and spirit. Inspired by the healing spirit of the desert our sustainable natural products draw from nutrient rich desert botanicals like jojoba Aloe and Tea Tree all revered in native cultures for their deep healing properties. Naturally effective without harsh chemicals our products work in harmony with your body to nurture soothe and restore. Desert Inspired. Beauty Renewal.  . Nourish your skin with Desert Essence light and soothing moisturizer naturally scented with sweet smelling essential oil of geranium. Jojoba oil and aloe vera rehydrate and restore skin’s softness. Use daily to uplift your spirits and enliven your skin leaving your complexion with a radiant glow. The non-oily texture of this cream makes it ideal for application alone or underneath makeup. Use day and night to keep your skin looking radiant and hydrated. • No Animal Derived Ingredients or Animal Testing. • No Parabens. • No Artificial Fragrances/Dyes. • No Petroleum Compounds: Mineral Oil Petrolatum or Paraffin. • No SLS. • No PEGS PPG MEA DEA or TEA. • No Glycols. • No Phthalates. • Yes Vegetarian/Vegan. • Yes Recyclable. • Yes Gluten Free. • Yes Biodegradable. • Yes Renewable Sources. • Yes Cruelty Free. • Yes Fragrance Free
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(108 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
6
1 Star
10
86 out of 108(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
77N77
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Moisturizer
 November 27, 2013
"I've tried many moisturizers and I break out from most but this one is great. I just need the size of a quarter for my face and neck and it's more than enough."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kladee
fromLA, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Moisturizer
 November 25, 2013
"I'm a fan of Desert Essence in general and so I was happy to find their facial moisturizer that is free of animal products. This adequately moisturizes my dry skin and doesn't make me break out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Veruska8
fromTaos, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not for the face
 November 3, 2013
"The cream is nice smooth and thin, easy to apply, but after a minute or two it feels like heaving a tightening mask my your face. I use it as a hand cream."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KokoKisses
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This is a high quality fantastic product!
 October 7, 2013
"This is a thick, super moisturizing butter. I was drawn to purchase because of the fantastic ingredients (there's literally only 2) and it is cruelty free. I was amazed how much it has helped my dry skin rejuvenate (especially because I work a lot with my hands). All I have to do is take a small amount and warm it up between my fingers. It really keeps my skin healthy and soft. I can't express how wonderful this product is :)"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
siouxsierules
You get what you pay for...
 September 10, 2013
"Made my face flushed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
livingsimple123
fromAptos, Calif.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
my 'go to' moisturizer day and night
 July 25, 2013
"Thick, rich, non oily, non toxic and absorbs quickly. Also cost effective so you can use it all over."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ravenalexis
fromStandish, Mi.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love the way it moisturizes.
 June 25, 2013
"I have had so much trouble finding products that would not cause me to break out or feel oily. I read reviews and decided to try the product and I love it. It blends into my skin so smoothly and feels soft. I do not have problems as before. I have issues with my skin but this moisturizer does not add to the problems but enhances softness. I would recommend. I am buying the Desert Essence line of products. So far find them working really well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terry47
fromNorthern VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great non-shiny moisture for guys (or girls)!
 June 22, 2013
"This is great stuff, finally found something that takes away the dry without leaving an oily shine like some products state they do. I use it with the cleansing pads, amazing the dirt still on your face after showering. Product is great, leaves your skin healthy and when I have a tan going I don't end up looking like an oiled up baked ham, just soft & dry but you can feel it working. Works good with a little after shave since there is not much scent after a few minutes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lisehl
fromColumbus, OH
Really impressed
 June 21, 2013
"This moisturizer is really nice. It does go on a little heavy at first but after a few minutes you can't feel it. I can not get over how soft my skin is now that I have been using it for a month."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
nanunanu
Great product
 June 12, 2013
"Good moisturizer for a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Rossiecatt
fromIrasburg,Vt
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not crazy about it!!!
 June 7, 2013
"I bought this Moisturizer and I was dissapointed about the smell...it's kind of weird so I do not use it on my face. I don't want to throw it away either so I use it for my legs. I would spend more money on a better Moisturizer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vikinga
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delivers!
 May 11, 2013
"This is at least my 3rd jar of this, my daily moisturizer. I use it whenever I feel a bit dry . My mature skin tends to be dry to start with. I am a fan of various of the Desert Essence Products. They are good organic products with clear ingredients and great prices. I like to mix a few drops of argan oil into this one from time to time to give it an extra boost."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
rapunzel123
fromsacramento, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
bug problem!
 April 30, 2013
"When I opened this jar of moisturizer, there were bugs crawling around everywhere inside of it. They were like tiny brown ants. I haven't seen any bugs like that before. I've also never seen bugs inside a jar of moisturizer. I heard that vitacost was a good place to get health products, but this was just a bad experience. Gross."
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cripes
fromRocky Mountains
Age:75+
Gender:Female
I actually can read all the ingredients
 April 21, 2013
"After years of being sold a bill of goods for my face, I began using olive oil, coconut oil, but wanted a good face cream with a label I could read instead of all the chemicals additives they all seems to be so proud of.
Ordered the Desert Essence moisturizer with tongue in cheek, but from 1st day, I was delighted. It goes into the skin quickly and feels so smooth.and non greasy.
I quit using anything full of chemicals. They can claim whatever, but it's all hooey. Years ago I decided, if I can't read and understand what's in it , I don't buy it. Companies believe, like some we know, you have to pass it before you can understand it.
"Trust us" Nope, I don't trust anything full of chemicals, especially all those smelly sprays and the things you plug in that probably hurt your lungs and damage your kids health, including some of the stuff in your food.......Read people, read!
"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yole
fromGalveston,Tx.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Who needs expensive cosmetics?
 April 17, 2013
"I had never used this moisturizer but thought I'd give it a try because others I tried just fell short of doing what they claimed. This one was inexpensive and does what it claims it will do. It is smooth,easy to apply and goes right in your skin quickly so you know it's working. I'll order this again when I run out. A very good buy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegatron
fromBethesda, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Strong enough for a man and his wife loves it, too
 April 8, 2013
"This stuff is awesome. I bought this product for use at work after my workout showers. After first trying it at home, I loved it so much that I decided to keep it home as my daily morning moisturizer. You don't need much to cover your entire face and neck. But I will have to get more soon because my wife loves it too (and she uses it for morning and night moisture). As pointed out by other reviewers, this stuff goes on nice and easy (and doesn't leave a greasy film on your face or hands). It has a nice, subtle, and clean smell to it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lannw
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A little goes a long way
 March 3, 2013
"I have very sensitive skin, so I was afraid to try something new. I use a few of Desert Essence's other products (their blemish stick and jojoba oil), so I decided to give this product a try. At first I thought it went on a little thick, but my skin absorbed it well withing a minute and my skin felt so soft the next morning. Just a small pea size amount covers my whole face!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
krisbeany
fromSan Gabriel, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great buy, excellent quality
 March 1, 2013
"This is an all around great, everyday face moisturizer. No smell, sinks in your skin and moisturizes effectively."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Racoon400
fromSanta Catarina, Brazil
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily use
 February 21, 2013
"Good texture, no smell, not greasy"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Daily Essential Moisturizer -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
riversong13
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love it!
 February 18, 2013
"I love this moisturizer. I wasn't sure if I should purchase it because I have very oily skin, but a couple of other reviews said it was okay for oily skin types. It doesn't make me super oily like most other moisturizers. My skin just drinks it in :). I love the dessert essence products because they are natural and don't break me out :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next