Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Oregano or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz

Potent natural oil of wild oregano standardized for premium quality. What is oregano? Oregano (Origanum vulgare) is a perennial plant belonging to the mint family native to northern Europe. Its name is derived from the Greek “oros” which means mountain and “ganos” which means joy.  . A popular culinary herb oregano is often used in Italian Spanish and Mexican cuisine. Its warm aromatic scent and slightly bitter flavor make it a great complement to tomato sauces salad dressings and grilled fish meat or vegetables. Oregano is popular in Italian-American dishes especially pizza and pasta sauces.  . Oregano’s history in traditional medicine dates back to Hippocrates who recommended the herb for its antiseptic properties and for stomach and respiratory support. It was also used by ancient cultures to relieve sore muscles skin irritations and toothaches.  . How does oregano support health? Good source of vitamin K iron and manganese. Contains vitamins A and C calcium magnesium and fatty acids. Contains antioxidant flavonoids and phenolic acids. Carvacrol a phenol is one of oregano’s most active constituents. Why choose Vitacost Oregano Oil? Standardized for consistent potency. Supplies 43 mg of wild oregano oil per four-drop serving. Can be taken directly diluted in a beverage or applied topically. Contains 540 servings per bottle! Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.49 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
45 out of 49(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
rr2d2
fromHawaii
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product, great price
 January 6, 2014
"This item is equivalent to other brands and the price is great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CandiN
Age:25-34
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
highly concentrated
 January 1, 2014
"highly concentrated, will buy again"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HeavyMetal
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
One of the best supplements ever!
 December 15, 2013
"This oil has so many applications, both internally and externally, that our family uses it on an almost daily basis. It is very powerful and if you take it internally, I STRONGLY encourage you to put it in a capsule. It seems most of the poor reviews are due to the taste and odor of the oil and they are correct because it is pretty gross. Putting it into a capsule helps avoid that issue, though you will want to take it with some food to keep the "oregano burps" to a minimum. Regardless, if you do some research you will quickly see how versatile and effective this oil can be. I am a bit of a supplement junkie and oregano oil is one of the few I've tried that show tangible results."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momnpagummebear
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent
 December 8, 2013
"When combined with chaga this makes for an excellent detox."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
westk
fromBrooklyn
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love it for my teeth
 September 27, 2013
"I love this for my teeth. I feel healthier as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OldeGearhead
good value
 September 11, 2013
"It's not quite as concentrated as the better-known wildcrafted brand, but it is strong enough and is priced reasonably."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fayefit
fromTownsend, DE
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Consumer Beware of the Potency of This Product!
 June 3, 2013
"I strongly recommend that anyone using this for the first time start with a mere speck of oil extremely well mixed into a cup of liquid and then use more as tolerated. This oregano oil is incredibly strong! The last time I tried it, just a tiny drop, I didn't mix it enough and and the oil felt like fire going down my throat. I had a sore throat for 3 days! I have read all the reviews and wish I could tolerate it better. I am so glad I didn't by this in pill form, because the burp would have choked me to death, for sure! Seriously. Sorry to give such a negative review. However, I recommend the product because of others' success."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xelamom
fromGuatemala
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Powerful stuff!
 June 3, 2013
"I was surprised how strong this oregano oil is, even though it's in an olive oil base. It does burn a little upon application to sensitive skin, but that subsides. We are using it to treat a cold, and it seems to be quite effective."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rae45
too strong
 May 4, 2013
"I was buying Oreganol, but decided to be cheap and give this a try. It's much stronger with a serious burning sensation in comparison to it's more expensive competitor."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshineagape
fromGreat Falls, MT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fantastic Product!
 April 20, 2013
"What a Great medicinal product. We have used it when we felt a tickle in our throats and we gargled and it was gone within 20min…wonderful product…"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niji
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good quality oil
 March 24, 2013
"This is good quality oregano oil at a decent price. I just wish they would list the ratio of oregano oil to olive oil so I could dose it more precisely in essential oil blends calling for X drops of oregano oil."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kalechips
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great to clear a stuffy nose
 March 24, 2013
"My husband uses Oregano Oil to clear a stuffy nose during a cold or allergies. The Vitacost brand worked great."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jstott
Good priced Oregano oil
 February 10, 2013
"I havent opened this oregano oil yet. My other bottle is just getting low. This oregano oil was a very good price for the size of bottle it comes in. Thank you"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
calibeachgirl
fromkansas city, california
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
very potent!
 February 2, 2013
"this is great. strong. I can only take a drop or two at a time... will last forever!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Memivy
potent oregano oil
 October 21, 2012
"This oregano oil is very potent. It works very well. When I feel something coming or feel ill, I would have a few drops under the tongue and repeat as often as needed. It gets to work immediately. It is strong. I don't have to be concerned doing too much and having side effect. It is all natural. It is just food. I trust this product."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dbrhlsjns
fromMO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 21, 2012
"one product I will always keep in my medicine cabinet"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
singerdeb52
fromWestern PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!!!
 September 15, 2012
"This brand of oregano oil is outstanding!!! I really enjoy it's clean fresh fragrance and taste! Would order this again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CountryGirl310
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
My New Favorite Oregano Oil
 August 4, 2012
"We have used oregano oil for many years. I just found Vitacost Oregano Oil. We have used it several times and I am very happy with its potency! This is a Great product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MaggieJean
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent
 August 1, 2012
"I use this on a regular basis and it works very well!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ajmom1
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
great value
 April 23, 2012
"I use oregano oil on a regular basis and this was the first time I had tried this brand. It's excellent and a very good price."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next