Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Oregano or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz

Potent natural oil of wild oregano standardized for premium quality. What is oregano? Oregano (Origanum vulgare) is a perennial plant belonging to the mint family native to northern Europe. Its name is derived from the Greek “oros” which means mountain and “ganos” which means joy.  . A popular culinary herb oregano is often used in Italian Spanish and Mexican cuisine. Its warm aromatic scent and slightly bitter flavor make it a great complement to tomato sauces salad dressings and grilled fish meat or vegetables. Oregano is popular in Italian-American dishes especially pizza and pasta sauces.  . Oregano’s history in traditional medicine dates back to Hippocrates who recommended the herb for its antiseptic properties and for stomach and respiratory support. It was also used by ancient cultures to relieve sore muscles skin irritations and toothaches.  . How does oregano support health? Good source of vitamin K iron and manganese. Contains vitamins A and C calcium magnesium and fatty acids. Contains antioxidant flavonoids and phenolic acids. Carvacrol a phenol is one of oregano’s most active constituents. Why choose Vitacost Oregano Oil? Standardized for consistent potency. Supplies 43 mg of wild oregano oil per four-drop serving. Can be taken directly diluted in a beverage or applied topically. Contains 540 servings per bottle! Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
52 out of 57(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
retniw65
fromft.worth,tx.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
OIL PULLING
 September 4, 2014
"I USE IT FOR OIL PULLING, KEEP MY TEETH/GUM VERY CLEAN AND 'WHITE' !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makla
fromMenomonie, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good oregano oil, good price
 August 11, 2014
"Look up the wonderful properties of oregano for your health."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ground
fromIsrael
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great recommendation but it a little hot
 August 2, 2014
"I read a lot of articles about the benefit of this oil befote I order it. it is a great product for health but it is a little hot and somtimes I an not taking it because of that..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NancyRN
fromBerea KY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love it.
 June 26, 2014
"Good quality essential oil."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PieTheBandit
fromBay Area, CA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Potent
 May 25, 2014
"My friends weren't kidding when they said a little goes a long way.
This has a strong perfume and flavor. It is great as seasoning but it is really hard to take as a supplement.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
seeukitty
fromRoseburg ,Or
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for cleaning your teeth
 May 16, 2014
"I put about 3 drops in a tiny bit of water and use my tooth brush to scrub with. strong taste but not any worse than toothpaste and it doesn't make my mouth sore."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Pamelo
fromJuneau, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not a great taste
 May 6, 2014
"This is inferior compared to other Oregano Oils. Would not recommend this one."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KnowJesusKnowGod
fromOntario, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Potent Extract!
 April 21, 2014
"Strong, and the best valve for a standardized oregano oil extract."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
rr2d2
fromHawaii
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product, great price
 January 6, 2014
"This item is equivalent to other brands and the price is great!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CandiN
Age:25-34
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
highly concentrated
 January 1, 2014
"highly concentrated, will buy again"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HeavyMetal
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
One of the best supplements ever!
 December 15, 2013
"This oil has so many applications, both internally and externally, that our family uses it on an almost daily basis. It is very powerful and if you take it internally, I STRONGLY encourage you to put it in a capsule. It seems most of the poor reviews are due to the taste and odor of the oil and they are correct because it is pretty gross. Putting it into a capsule helps avoid that issue, though you will want to take it with some food to keep the "oregano burps" to a minimum. Regardless, if you do some research you will quickly see how versatile and effective this oil can be. I am a bit of a supplement junkie and oregano oil is one of the few I've tried that show tangible results."
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momnpagummebear
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent
 December 8, 2013
"When combined with chaga this makes for an excellent detox."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
westk
fromBrooklyn
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love it for my teeth
 September 27, 2013
"I love this for my teeth. I feel healthier as well."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OldeGearhead
good value
 September 11, 2013
"It's not quite as concentrated as the better-known wildcrafted brand, but it is strong enough and is priced reasonably."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fayefit
fromTownsend, DE
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Consumer Beware of the Potency of This Product!
 June 3, 2013
"I strongly recommend that anyone using this for the first time start with a mere speck of oil extremely well mixed into a cup of liquid and then use more as tolerated. This oregano oil is incredibly strong! The last time I tried it, just a tiny drop, I didn't mix it enough and and the oil felt like fire going down my throat. I had a sore throat for 3 days! I have read all the reviews and wish I could tolerate it better. I am so glad I didn't by this in pill form, because the burp would have choked me to death, for sure! Seriously. Sorry to give such a negative review. However, I recommend the product because of others' success."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xelamom
fromGuatemala
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Powerful stuff!
 June 3, 2013
"I was surprised how strong this oregano oil is, even though it's in an olive oil base. It does burn a little upon application to sensitive skin, but that subsides. We are using it to treat a cold, and it seems to be quite effective."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rae45
too strong
 May 4, 2013
"I was buying Oreganol, but decided to be cheap and give this a try. It's much stronger with a serious burning sensation in comparison to it's more expensive competitor."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunshineagape
fromGreat Falls, MT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fantastic Product!
 April 20, 2013
"What a Great medicinal product. We have used it when we felt a tickle in our throats and we gargled and it was gone within 20min…wonderful product…"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niji
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good quality oil
 March 24, 2013
"This is good quality oregano oil at a decent price. I just wish they would list the ratio of oregano oil to olive oil so I could dose it more precisely in essential oil blends calling for X drops of oregano oil."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Oregano Oil - Standardized - Alcohol Free -- 2 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kalechips
fromNew Jersey
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great to clear a stuffy nose
 March 24, 2013
"My husband uses Oregano Oil to clear a stuffy nose during a cold or allergies. The Vitacost brand worked great."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next