Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(465)
Aloe Vera(557)
Astragalus(100)
Chia Seeds(452)
Cinnamon(267)
Curcumin(71)
Fenugreek(98)
Flaxseed(226)
Garlic(295)
Ginger(139)
Ginseng(230)
Green Tea(456)
Mushrooms(232)
Oregano(269)
Other Herbs(7,246)
Alfalfa(67)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(21)
Bacopa(26)
Banaba(12)
Basil(17)
Beet Root(23)
Berries(210)
Bilberry(100)
Bioperine(13)
Borage(26)
Boswellia(74)
Broccoli(16)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(34)
Calendula(18)
Camu Camu(11)
Catnip(2)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(36)
Chrysin(34)
Cloves(9)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(46)
Echinacea(147)
Elderberry(107)
Eleuthero(23)
Eyebright(35)
Fennel(31)
Feverfew(26)
Fo-Ti(40)
Gotu Kola(33)
Guarana(27)
Guggul(22)
Hawthorn(103)
Hemp(3)
Hibiscus(11)
Horsetail(32)
Kava Kava(16)
Kelp(174)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(5)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(11)
Maca(375)
Melissa(9)
Mucuna(11)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(49)
Nettle(39)
Oat(26)
Osha(1)
Papaya(97)
Parsley(13)
Pine Bark(60)
Pygeum(10)
Raspberry(55)
Relora(24)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(15)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(33)
Shatavari(17)
Skullcap(31)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(19)
Triphala(161)
Valerian(244)
Wild Yam(29)
Yarrow(7)
Yohimbe(9)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(584)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Elderberry or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz

A flavorful rich black elderberry extract syrup. What is Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract? Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract is a concentrated extract of black elderberries a product of the European elder tree (Sambucus nigra). Black elderberries are a purplish-black fruit with flavonoid compounds known as anthocyanins. Anthocyanins are natural pigments responsible for the red and blue color of many berries fruits and flowers.  . How does Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract support health? According to the United States Department of Agriculture the antioxidant capacity of black elderberries is superior to strawberries cranberries and blueberries. Black elderberry possesses antioxidant properties that can help protect cells from free radical damage and may support healthy immune function.*. Beneficial anthocyanins are well absorbed. Why choose Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract? Delivers all the benefits of fresh black elderberries in concentrated form so you don’t have to consume large amounts of the fruit. Convenient great-tasting liquid supplement that can be taken by the spoonful by both adults and children. BPA-free bottle. PLEASE NOTE: The packaging of this product has changed. Glass bottles will be replaced by lighter more durable plastic bottles. Supplement contents remain the same.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
3.815 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
19 out of 27(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SunshineCookie
fromOntario
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
very diluted with sugars and flavors
 September 3, 2014
"I would highly recommend paying a tiny bit more and buying the 5000mg per serving bottle instead. I was very disappointed when I got this product. The product label makes it look like the only difference is 1200mg of extract per serving. But when you look closer, you realize that the serving size on the 3800mg per serving bottle is 1 TABLESPOON and the serving size on the other is 1 tsp without any fillers. Thus, you need to take about 4X as much to get the same amount of extract.
This product is mostly fillers like sugars and flavours. Not worth the money.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mom2008
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
even my picky eater loves the taste
 June 4, 2014
"great immune booster. We use it all the time in the winter.. love the taste"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BJWEST
fromEL PASO,TX.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
great
 April 7, 2013
"just what I need!"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made4Health
Good for ailments and tasty too!
 March 9, 2013
"One of my herb books lauds elderberry as a way to ease arthritis, aid kidney health, and get through bouts of hay fever, so I add a capful to make my own glass of flavored water. The taste reminds me of blackberry, which I like too."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bioNear
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Caution: So tasty you may O.D
 January 27, 2013
"This is a high concentration syrup for the price and tastes berry good! Kids love it straight.
I only wish VitaCost supplied it in larger bottles.
"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lifelover
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great stuff!
 November 25, 2012
"After reading about elderberry's benefits online, I decided to add it to our vitamin arsenal. It tastes super yummy and I have no problem getting the family to take their morning dose."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vita4opinion
fromPA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great tasting
 November 19, 2012
"taste so good and very large size of the bottle versus other brands - love it will buy again"
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rhubarbsmom
fromSalt Lake City
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Awesome product which I highly recommend
 June 29, 2012
"Delicious taste, wonderful in a smoothie!! And the price is very reasonable!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
1959
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
bitter tasting
 June 28, 2012
"My dad has been using elderberry extract for a couple of years. He wanted to start buying it in larger bottles, so I found this brand that was reasonably priced. He received 4 bottles and said he thought the first one was spoiled it tasted so bad, he threw it away and opened the second bottle. It too was so bitter he couldn't stand it so he threw it away. He came home for a visit and gave me the other two bottles. It is very bitter. I have had other brands that were good flavor. I'm not sure why this is so bad, but it is."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
slwa
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 May 20, 2012
"This product is much less of a "syrup" than name brand sambucus syrups. It's quite thin, you have to refrigerate it, and it's quite a bit tarter. The stronger flavor might not be as good for children. However, it's quite economical, and seemed to be as effective."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RawVeggieGirl
fromPhoenix, Arizona
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Really Sweet
 March 3, 2010
"Wow, this stuff is sweet! They could have done away with the added sugar and honey in here. Plus if you take as indicted on the label, the bottle will only last you 24 days. Kind of expensive if you ask me.
Well I didn't get sick while taking it, but I rarely get sick anyway. Just wanted to try the product. I will finish the bottle and maybe get some other anti-oxident juice next time."
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
StefanieL
fromNJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Not as good as other versions
 February 20, 2010
"I bought this thinking it was a cheaper version of Sambucol, but it's much thinner, more caloric, and (in my opinion) doesn't work as well. When my two bottles are gone I will be going back to Sambucol or Nature's Way. Tastes fine, though."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BabySmiles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not as good as Sambucol
 February 17, 2010
"We love the taste of other brands of Sambucol, but not the price. This one is not as sweet as other brands, hence my children do not beg for it like candy the way they used to. I do like that NSI's is cheaper, but I am not sure how effective it is compared to original Sambucol."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
happyone1
fromGA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
don't do it
 November 2, 2009
"You are reading this because you are tempted to save a few bucks and try the cheaper one...right? Been there, done that. I will spend the extra money for Nature's Way Sambucol next time. This stuff is a weak watery imposter that LEAKS in shipping."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
dp4
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Change in product? Bad after taste for long time.
 September 27, 2009
"Great value but NSI has apparently changed formulation and/or suppliers. The older version had no bad after taste. The newest version in glass jars has an after taste that lasts over an hour and is not appealing. Also, the glass jars leak at the cap seal in shipping."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SadieSummer
fromSan Francisco Bay Area
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Taste good too!
 September 7, 2009
"This product works great. When I feel an itchy throat coming, I just take a spoon full and am instantly better.
The taste is even good too. Taste like semi sweet but tangy fruit."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamanherbalist
fromChattanooga, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
extra ingredients OK
 August 8, 2009
"As an herbalist, i know that honey (especially raw) is also a healer, red beet juice and red raspberry have wonderful healing qualities. So these added ingredients are good, not bad in my view point. Many of the Elderberry extracts are high in alcohol content- which has its own purpose (absorbtion), but not needed for my use. good value!"
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
reviewer2008
fromEast Tennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tastes awful...NOT pure
 June 25, 2009
"Why would anyone want added SUGAR from HONEY, BEET& RASPBERRY JUICE in a product that was fine as a pure Elderberry Extract? It was 30 calories & now is 50! Adding Honey increased the sugar by 1/2!! Carbs are up by 1/2 as well!!! The taste of beet juice is awful as is the adding of Raspberry. This is NO LONGER anything more than a sweet syrup with little or no value and certainly NOT a herbal supplement.
I wouldn't buy this product again.
Go back to the original formula!!!!!!!!!!!
"
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
healthisgood
Black Elderberry
 December 18, 2008
""The "NSI Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup" that I purchased has added that extra edge to keep my immune system strong. Especially around the holidays, when stress taxes your system. It also tastes good.
One caution, when you first open the bottle to get a teaspoon full it can windup on your counter. So do it over a bowl to save what spills.
Elderberry has been used for many many years people used to make elderberry wine and use it medicinally. Worked then, works now."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg per serving - 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Timberman
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Alternative to 4 oz. Bottles
 October 10, 2008
"Good product, excellent alternative to the 8 oz. bottles and somewhat less expensive."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next