Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(481)
Aloe Vera(620)
Artichoke(24)
Astragalus(115)
Beet Root(29)
Berries(248)
Bilberry(109)
Boswellia(94)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(34)
Chia Seeds(490)
Chrysin(40)
Cinnamon(305)
Curcumin(133)
Dandelion(86)
Echinacea(172)
Elderberry(155)
Eleuthero(28)
Eyebright(43)
Fenugreek(123)
Feverfew(31)
Flaxseed(296)
Fo-Ti(55)
Garlic(378)
Ginger(175)
Ginseng(277)
Gotu Kola(37)
Green Tea(517)
Guggul(25)
Hawthorn(120)
Hibiscus(19)
Holy Basil(106)
Horsetail(40)
Kelp(204)
Kudzu(9)
Maca(348)
Mullein(25)
Mushrooms(324)
Neem(57)
Oregano(344)
Other Herbs(2,061)
Pine Bark(63)
Pygeum(13)
Raspberry(68)
Relora(32)
Rose Hips(28)
Rosemary(22)
Senna(40)
Skullcap(35)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(15)
Triphala(194)
Turmeric(862)
Uva Ursi(11)
Valerian(296)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Elderberry or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)

A flavorful rich black elderberry extract syrup. What is Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract? Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract is a concentrated extract of black elderberries a product of the European elder tree (Sambucus nigra). Black elderberries are a purplish-black fruit with flavonoid compounds known as anthocyanins. Anthocyanins are natural pigments responsible for the red and blue color of many berries fruits and flowers.  . How does Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract support health? According to the United States Department of Agriculture the antioxidant capacity of black elderberries is superior to strawberries cranberries and blueberries. Black elderberry possesses antioxidant properties that can help protect cells from free radical damage and may support healthy immune function.*. Beneficial anthocyanins are well absorbed. Why choose Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract? Delivers all the benefits of fresh black elderberries in concentrated form so you don’t have to consume large amounts of the fruit. Convenient great-tasting liquid supplement that can be taken by the spoonful by both adults and children. BPA-free bottle. PLEASE NOTE: The packaging of this product has changed. Glass bottles will be replaced by lighter more durable plastic bottles. Supplement contents remain the same.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.057 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
27 out of 35(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Review 1 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNo Man's Land, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 May 7, 2016
" Got this product for my son who was struggling with reoccurring health issues that made him miss work. Since he started using Elderberry syrup he hasn't missed work and presents as much healthier overall. It doesn't taste bad either, another bonus! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromphoenix Az
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
nice like it a lot
 April 10, 2016
" very nice prod.will buy again in future "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product
 March 28, 2016
" This tastes so good! Thanks Vitacost. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frommt view ar
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it!
 December 3, 2015
" Great product! love it! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Goos stuff!
 November 10, 2015
" I rely on this product to keep my immune system strong, and having it delivered regularly makes it easy to keep it a regular part of my routine. Excellent product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 September 29, 2015
" Been using for a few years now and we just don't get sick! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIdaho, USA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better Quality!
 March 12, 2015
" This is more like how Sambucus by Nature's Way USED TO BE. That was before they started making it in Europe & changed the formula a lot. I will be buying the Vitacost brand from now on, or until they cheapen theirs up, too. It's nice to have a good quality product @ a good price. Thanks Vitacost! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromOntario
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
very diluted with sugars and flavors
 September 3, 2014
" I would highly recommend paying a tiny bit more and buying the 5000mg per serving bottle instead. I was very disappointed when I got this product. The product label makes it look like the only difference is 1200mg of extract per serving. But when you look closer, you realize that the serving size on the 3800mg per serving bottle is 1 TABLESPOON and the serving size on the other is 1 tsp without any fillers. Thus, you need to take about 4X as much to get the same amount of extract.
This product is mostly fillers like sugars and flavours. Not worth the money.
"
+39points
39of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
even my picky eater loves the taste
 June 4, 2014
" great immune booster. We use it all the time in the winter.. love the taste "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromEL PASO,TX.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
great
 April 7, 2013
" just what I need! "
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good for ailments and tasty too!
 March 9, 2013
" One of my herb books lauds elderberry as a way to ease arthritis, aid kidney health, and get through bouts of hay fever, so I add a capful to make my own glass of flavored water. The taste reminds me of blackberry, which I like too. "
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Caution: So tasty you may O.D
 January 27, 2013
" This is a high concentration syrup for the price and tastes berry good! Kids love it straight.
I only wish VitaCost supplied it in larger bottles.
"
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great stuff!
 November 25, 2012
" After reading about elderberry's benefits online, I decided to add it to our vitamin arsenal. It tastes super yummy and I have no problem getting the family to take their morning dose. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great tasting
 November 19, 2012
" taste so good and very large size of the bottle versus other brands - love it will buy again "
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSalt Lake City
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Awesome product which I highly recommend
 June 29, 2012
" Delicious taste, wonderful in a smoothie!! And the price is very reasonable!! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
bitter tasting
 June 28, 2012
" My dad has been using elderberry extract for a couple of years. He wanted to start buying it in larger bottles, so I found this brand that was reasonably priced. He received 4 bottles and said he thought the first one was spoiled it tasted so bad, he threw it away and opened the second bottle. It too was so bitter he couldn't stand it so he threw it away. He came home for a visit and gave me the other two bottles. It is very bitter. I have had other brands that were good flavor. I'm not sure why this is so bad, but it is. "
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 May 20, 2012
" This product is much less of a "syrup" than name brand sambucus syrups. It's quite thin, you have to refrigerate it, and it's quite a bit tarter. The stronger flavor might not be as good for children. However, it's quite economical, and seemed to be as effective. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPhoenix, Arizona
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Really Sweet
 March 3, 2010
" Wow, this stuff is sweet! They could have done away with the added sugar and honey in here. Plus if you take as indicted on the label, the bottle will only last you 24 days. Kind of expensive if you ask me.
Well I didn't get sick while taking it, but I rarely get sick anyway. Just wanted to try the product. I will finish the bottle and maybe get some other anti-oxident juice next time. "
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromNJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Not as good as other versions
 February 20, 2010
" I bought this thinking it was a cheaper version of Sambucol, but it's much thinner, more caloric, and (in my opinion) doesn't work as well. When my two bottles are gone I will be going back to Sambucol or Nature's Way. Tastes fine, though. "
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Sambucus Nigra Black Elderberry Extract Syrup -- 3800 mg - 8 fl oz (237 mL)
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not as good as Sambucol
 February 17, 2010
" We love the taste of other brands of Sambucol, but not the price. This one is not as sweet as other brands, hence my children do not beg for it like candy the way they used to. I do like that NSI's is cheaper, but I am not sure how effective it is compared to original Sambucol. "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next