Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(535)
Amino Acids(1,696)
Calcium(3,678)
CoQ10(2,482)
Coconut Oil(3,724)
EFAs(3,506)
Fish Oil(1,473)
Iron(573)
Krill Oil(725)
Magnesium(1,960)
Melatonin(1,119)
Multivitamins(11,661)
Omega-3(5,081)
Algae(808)
Bee Pollen(309)
Caffeine(36)
Celadrin(79)
Charcoal(92)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(157)
Choline(134)
Collagen(271)
Colostrum(174)
D-Mannose(56)
DHEA(403)
DMAE(79)
EFAs(112)
EpiCor(34)
FOS(2)
GABA(182)
GLA(7)
GPLC(23)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(8)
HGH(46)
Iodine(51)
L-Lysine(145)
L-Theanine(105)
LPP(40)
Lecithin(246)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(354)
Lycopene(101)
MSM(414)
NADH(50)
Pectin(21)
Propolis(80)
Pycnogenol(144)
Quercetin(128)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(11)
Relora(2)
Silica(19)
Soy(82)
Taurine(39)
Yeast(77)
Probiotics(5,495)
SAMe(582)
Spirulina(102)
Vitamin A(148)
Vitamin B(4,914)
Vitamin C(2,859)
Vitamin D(2,615)
Vitamin E(526)
Vitamin K(301)
Zinc(390)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules

A powerful antioxidant and glutathione precursor.*. What is N-acetyl cysteine? N-acetyl cysteine is a specially modified form of the essential amino acid cysteine.  . How does N-acetyl cysteine support health?  .  Helps the body make glutathione one of the most important antioxidant enzymes.*.  May help the body maintain healthy homocysteine levels which is important for heart health.*.  Has been shown to support lung and bronchial health.*.  May support healthy immune system function.*. Why choose Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine?  .   Supplies 600 mg of N-acetyl cysteine per 1-capsule serving.  Contains 240 servings per bottle.  Costs less than many major brands offering great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.347 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
43 out of 49(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maeae05
fromAz
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well
 June 28, 2015
"This product has helped my respiratory issues greatly. The odor is bad and if you have to take a lot you will sweat oit the odor. After going back down to 3, 2x/day I didn't smell like this product anymore"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
seragne
Unsure of the quality/efficacy
 May 31, 2015
"I wanted to add this supplement to my diet because I have read about numerous studies supporting its helpfulness with varying psychological conditions.
I took it for about two weeks. I didn't notice anything happening in the psychological sense - nor did I expect to in that amount of time. I did however get truly awful gas from it. I also started getting these tiny zit-like things on my body (not on my face), and wondered if it was something from the NAC being expelled through my skin. It could be a coincidence of course. The zit-like things have gone away since I stopped taking it. If I knew for sure the NAC was helping me, I'd suffer those side effects though. Maybe at some point in the future I will try taking it again (I bought 2 bottles) though I doubt it.
The research on NAC is promising, but I think its still in its infancy and we really don't know enough about it yet."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NDdroid
fromSF Bay Area
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
good price, quick delivery at no cost
 April 30, 2015
"NAC is a good supplement for fighting over indulgence in fatty foods or wine. This was the lowest price I could find online."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great value, awful smell
 April 19, 2015
"The formula has changed over the years that I have been taking this. I used to love the product, now I'm looking for another brand. Just can't stand the new odor any longer...
I believe another brand can still give me the great benefits of this product without having to cope with the smell.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
EternalYouth
fromDallas, TX
Contains magnesium stearate & smells terrible!
 February 18, 2015
"This product has great potential but the smell really is unbearable. Also, please remove the magnesium stearate. I prefer Doctor's Best brand as it doesn't have that in there. It's a bit more expensive but I'm willing to pay for a better quality."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tahiti
 October 1, 2014
"if you like the overpowering smell of rotten eggs and the strong taste of sulfur all the way down this is for you, last time to order vitacost brand on this one, other brands do not have this smell and taste"
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
sante
fromBurbank
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good Product but.....
 September 28, 2014
"I noticed that my sweat smells off after having introduced this into my diet."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrLobue
fromMcKinleyville, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Male
 September 14, 2014
"A good value."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LymeLife
Good antioxyidant.
 April 11, 2014
"One of many good antioxidants, also recommended by my doctor, that we all should be taking."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trytobefeelgood
fromHuntsville Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
To better health
 October 19, 2013
"Based on my research, I want to be prepared for better health."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
slag
fromelk grove,ca
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product and packaging
 June 29, 2013
"you have a great selection of products which are reasonably priced.i will order in the future"
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
britt46
fromjackson tn
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
happy with price
 June 9, 2013
"price seems good
have only been taking for a few weeks ok so far"
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thebest1
fromCape Coral, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent product
 May 20, 2013
"My doctor recommended this product to me. I have Celiac and need to be careful with everything I take."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
cynbar
fromMiddle Tennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Funky Odor
 December 21, 2012
"I've never had a problem with any Vitacost product until I purchased N-Acetyl Cysteine. Upon opening the bottle, an extremely unpleasant odor came wafting out. I called Vitacost to inquire if this odor was to be expected with this supplement and they said they weren't aware of any specific issue with it.
They gave me a refund and suggested I try a different brand if I still was interested in the product. I've read so many good articles about the benefits of N-Acetyl Cysteine I'm still anxious to give it a try. I just can't get past the unpleasant odor."
+5points
17of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
berry56
fromtennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
awesome
 September 22, 2012
"I found this out by accident . . . when I used to take a pseudophedrine to keep from coughing all spring ... NAC
keeps me from producing the phlegm in the first place!
"
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Emile
fromAms
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
N-Acetyl Cysteine
 December 16, 2011
"works as advised"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AKneeter
fromLos Angeles
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent value
 November 22, 2011
"Vitacost's private label products are excellent values. They've lowered my cost of purchasing nutritional supplements considerably."
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amphibious
Good value; strong sulfide odor
 October 27, 2011
"I take it because research indicates it's an expectorant, antioxidant, and inhibits bacterial biofilm formation. And it seems helpful to me.
Open the bottle and catch a whiff, though! Without naming, let's just say I've had other products that were odorless.
"
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasmina
fromPutnam County, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great for liver function
 September 22, 2011
"Keeps the liver cleansed & functioning properly. A small price for a highly effective product."
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost N-Acetyl Cysteine (NAC) -- 600 mg - 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lc4cats
service
 June 16, 2011
"So happy with the fast delivery."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next