Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Calcium for Children or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets

  Calcium is necessary for strong bones and teeth. Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium is a tasty vanilla tablet providing 250 mg of calcium. It is casein and milk free.
Overall rating:
3.412 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
9 out of 17(53%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Review 1 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CSJMom
fromRockton, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
These work for us
 March 20, 2013
"All 3 of my children love these. They were recommended by our naturalpathic doc because we went dairy free in our house due to intolerances. She prescribed specific dosages for my 5, 3, and 2 yr olds. The kiddos love them. All have been on chewables since they were about 18 mos old, that might be why they don't have issues with the size of these vitamins (about the size of a quarter). Would recommend Carlson put a kid protective cap on the bottle however."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jennevieve
fromsan diego, ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
worst tasting ever
 December 15, 2011
"My children were complaining about these vitamins and i had to bribe them to eat them. i tried one today - and see why. they taste HORRIBLE. We are throwing the bottle away."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
T709
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very disappointing product
 July 16, 2010
"Kids will not eat this! I tried one myself and could not even get it down. Extremely gritty texture and the taste is not great either."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Kid hated them
 May 31, 2010
"Bought these for my 9 yr old daughter. First off, they are HUGE tablets. Usually she likes vanilla flavored calcium (by another manufacturer), but she spit these out and said they were horrible. I tried one and found them to be pleasant tasting, but chalky and gritty when chewed. Swallowing whole is not an option due to their size. Definitely need a large glass of water or juice to wash these down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
lawyermommy
fromnj
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
horrible tasting
 March 11, 2010
"These supplements tasted so bad my kids actually spit them out immediately after I gave it to them. I tried them to be sure and I couldn't even chew them myself. Doesn't matter how good a product is if you can't stand the taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MsNose
fromCape Ann
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Multipurpose
 January 31, 2010
"Pleasant vanilla flavor
A little chalky
Good for upset tummies too!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
aldi
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Do not waste your money
 December 15, 2009
"I purchased these for myself and my granddaughters. The gritty, chalky taste is over powering. I can handle most anything, but these tablets were more than I could handle. Save yourself the aggrevation, and buy something different."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HHB4
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Only works if your kids can get them down
 December 13, 2009
"When it comes to supplements, I can't say my kids are very picky. Afterall, they slurp down the fish oil I give them in the morning. When I decided to add a calcium supplement, I picked Carlson's since we have been happy with the quality and price of their fish oil. While I still think the brand is solid, both of my kids really objected to the flavor, and they usually don't agree on anything. I won't be buying these again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ASDMom
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 March 5, 2009
"The pill size was very large and it was very chalky. My son didn't like it at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Excellent Product!
 February 10, 2009
"I purchased these when my daughter was 16 mos old and she didn't like milk. I wanted calcium citrate since it is the easiest to absorb and this was one of the few children's products I found. My pediatrician thinks they are excellent and my daughter loves them - Perfect! Great price too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JZGRL
Good, but not great
 September 3, 2008
"I bought these for my toddler who's allergic to dairy and needs calcium supplements. He's starting to like them more, but was unsure at first. I don't blame him, their kind of big and the texture is gritty and chalky. The mild vanilla flavor is OK though. I really like the nutritional content too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tonik
fromHolbrook NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Kids did not like it
 August 8, 2008
"My children won't take the stuff. I am taking it myself, though for me it is too sweet. I bought 2 bottles and have a lot to go through. Wrong move to purchase it. Carlson's is a great company, the taste of these calcium tabs is yuk!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LynneK
fromFlorida
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product
 March 5, 2008
"I bought this for my kids because they do not get enough calcium during the day. They love the taste and it's a great value. I have bought about 10 bottles so far and will keep buying."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kimmy
great
 May 10, 2007
"My preschooler takes these and seems to enjoy them."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1234
Our kid's love it!
 April 6, 2007
"We had been looking for a product with a good amount of absorbable calcium in it since our kids were allergic to dairy. It took a while, but we finally found Carlson's Chewable Calcium for Kids. It has the type and quantity of calcium we were looking for in a yummy chewable tablet! Our kids love it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Carlson for Kids Chewable Calcium Vanilla -- 250 mg - 60 Tablets
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product