Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(565)
Algae(892)
Amino Acids(2,130)
Bee Pollen(328)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(102)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(190)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,644)
Coconut Oil(4,150)
Collagen(347)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(52)
DHEA(442)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,719)
EpiCor(37)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,650)
GABA(195)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(18)
Glycine(13)
HGH(44)
Iodine(59)
Krill Oil(764)
Lecithin(279)
Letter Vitamins(12,605)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(401)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(443)
Melatonin(1,260)
Minerals(9,021)
Multivitamins(12,961)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,273)
Pectin(22)
Propolis(82)
Pycnogenol(150)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(620)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(64)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets

Vegetarian. Gluten Free. Primal Defense is a natural blend of 12 species of probiotics and Homeostatic Soil Organisms (HSOs) utilizing the Poten-Zyme process and delivered within a whole food matrix. The HSO probiotic blend in Primal Defense helps support normal gastrointestinal balance of good and potentially harmful bacteria to help maintain a balanced healthy internal environment and maximizes the benefits of a healthy diet by supporting normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients in the gut. Primal Defense is created using the following probiotic species or their enzymes:. Lactobacillus acidophilus. Lactobacillus rhamnosus. Lactobacillus salivarius. Lactobacillus plantarum. Lactobacillus paracasei. Lactobacillus casei. Lactobacillus brevis. Bifidobacterium bifidum. Bifidobacterium breve. Bifidobacterium lactis. Bifidobacterium longum. Bacillus subtilis. Saccharomyces boulardii
Overall rating:
4.825 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
94 out of 97(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cavegirlmom
fromCarlsbad, New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Satisfied!
 January 23, 2016
"I am really satisfied in the short time I have been taking this product. My stomach issues seem so much better after starting to take Primal Defense. I always thought my other probiotic product worked well but now I know this is a better product. I would definitely recommend this as a product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
starx
fromWindham, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Have been using for years.
 January 21, 2016
"Great probiotic. Only take 1 pill a day and I feel much better than if I don't take it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cajungirl3
fromLouisville, Ky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Garden of Life-Primal Defence
 December 10, 2015
"We have been taking this for almost 10 years. Was recommended by a Naturalist Doctor. It really works well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anjouli
fromEugene, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works for Me!
 November 17, 2015
"I ran out of this product and decided to try another probiotic for a change. I bought one at a local store. After a few days my old digestive problems (bloating, indigestion, nausea) returned despite taking the probiotics as directed with every meal. So, I hurried re-ordering this product from Vitacost. I'm so glad I found Garden of Life Primal Defense. Taking one a day in the morning on an empty stomach makes all the difference for me! Will stick with it for sure!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
adiele
fromcrossville
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
long time user
 November 5, 2015
"I have taken this product for a long time and Vitacost has the best price I have found"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
momh
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This works
 October 6, 2015
"Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula works for me. If I don't take this the stomach pain and discomfort overwhelms me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SusanBB
fromFranklin, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Primal Defense
 June 24, 2015
"I have used this probiotic for many years. It is a high quality product than isn't terribly expensive."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ibedi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Grass?
 February 18, 2015
"This product has barley grass and oat grass in it. If you are on a diet, as I am, that does not allow these things, you should know that."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nanagirl1
fromLaguna Beach Calif.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 December 12, 2014
"I find that it has helped with my digestion problems. I take in conjunction with Garden of Life Raw probiotics."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eskomo
fromDuluth Mn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 22, 2014
"The bottle is sealed well, the directions are clear, and the tablets easy to swallow."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makla
fromMenomonie, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
super
 October 1, 2014
"Read the story where this came from: The Maker's Diet, by Jordan Rubin. I have only been taking this for 3-4 weeks. I can tell it works and see improvements, but you do have to change your diet off of modern foods."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lilyput
fromFT. Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 September 28, 2014
"this product works well with the Raw Enzymes and has kept my digestive issues under control."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ViviC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 August 29, 2014
"I have been using this Probiotic for years and love it. Sister and mom use it as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashala
Excellent product
 July 27, 2014
"My husband and I use this product for maintaining intestinal health. We ran out once so bought another probiotic at a local store and could really notice the difference in quality. Primal Defense is truly beneficial to take."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
durga62
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Been using for years
 May 14, 2014
"Would highly recommend this product to everyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
acamam
fromSanta Fe, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good
 March 26, 2014
"I think this is a good product. It helps me a lot with the correct funcioning of my stomach. I would recomend it without a doubt."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KooKoo4Kokonut
fromOrange County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
We Never Miss A Day of Probiotics
 October 30, 2013
"Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula is a staple in our supplement cabinet. My husband and I have been taking these particular caplets for a few years now and achieved the desired results from them. I know that Garden of Life has added an "Ultra" and a "Raw" version, which I am sure would probably turn my intestines into a probiotic party town, but these work and are much more cost effective, especially to the Raw version.
I would also call them "tablets," not "caplets," as thats's what they are! Easy to swallow, as well.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
livewell05
fromColumbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good probiotic
 October 25, 2013
"This probiotic has been very helpful in restoring the good bacteria to my gut."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KDC2013
fromWisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great everyday probiotic!
 August 25, 2013
"This was recommended to me by my naturopath. Great brand and great product. I take 3 everyday and feel great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenGirl2
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Garden of Life tops them all.
 June 2, 2013
"After researching many brands I am fully confident this is a superior product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next