Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets

Vegetarian. Gluten Free. Primal Defense is a natural blend of 12 species of probiotics and Homeostatic Soil Organisms (HSOs) utilizing the Poten-Zyme process and delivered within a whole food matrix. The HSO probiotic blend in Primal Defense helps support normal gastrointestinal balance of good and potentially harmful bacteria to help maintain a balanced healthy internal environment and maximizes the benefits of a healthy diet by supporting normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients in the gut. Primal Defense is created using the following probiotic species or their enzymes:. Lactobacillus acidophilus. Lactobacillus rhamnosus. Lactobacillus salivarius. Lactobacillus plantarum. Lactobacillus paracasei. Lactobacillus casei. Lactobacillus brevis. Bifidobacterium bifidum. Bifidobacterium breve. Bifidobacterium lactis. Bifidobacterium longum. Bacillus subtilis. Saccharomyces boulardii
Overall rating:
4.835 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
76
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
83 out of 85(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eskomo
fromDuluth Mn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 22, 2014
"The bottle is sealed well, the directions are clear, and the tablets easy to swallow."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makla
fromMenomonie, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
super
 October 1, 2014
"Read the story where this came from: The Maker's Diet, by Jordan Rubin. I have only been taking this for 3-4 weeks. I can tell it works and see improvements, but you do have to change your diet off of modern foods."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ViviC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 August 29, 2014
"I have been using this Probiotic for years and love it. Sister and mom use it as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ashala
Excellent product
 July 27, 2014
"My husband and I use this product for maintaining intestinal health. We ran out once so bought another probiotic at a local store and could really notice the difference in quality. Primal Defense is truly beneficial to take."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
durga62
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Been using for years
 May 14, 2014
"Would highly recommend this product to everyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
acamam
fromSanta Fe, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good
 March 26, 2014
"I think this is a good product. It helps me a lot with the correct funcioning of my stomach. I would recomend it without a doubt."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KooKoo4Kokonut
fromOrange County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
We Never Miss A Day of Probiotics
 October 30, 2013
"Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula is a staple in our supplement cabinet. My husband and I have been taking these particular caplets for a few years now and achieved the desired results from them. I know that Garden of Life has added an "Ultra" and a "Raw" version, which I am sure would probably turn my intestines into a probiotic party town, but these work and are much more cost effective, especially to the Raw version.
I would also call them "tablets," not "caplets," as thats's what they are! Easy to swallow, as well.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
livewell05
fromColumbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good probiotic
 October 25, 2013
"This probiotic has been very helpful in restoring the good bacteria to my gut."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KDC2013
fromWisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great everyday probiotic!
 August 25, 2013
"This was recommended to me by my naturopath. Great brand and great product. I take 3 everyday and feel great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenGirl2
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Garden of Life tops them all.
 June 2, 2013
"After researching many brands I am fully confident this is a superior product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBuena vista , Va
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
This product is the real thing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 April 3, 2013
"I love Primal Defense !!!!!!!!!!!!! I recomend it every time
I get the opportunity witch is very often.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
klewisusa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome Probiotic
 December 29, 2012
"Love the blend of probiotics in this product.... definitely helps with digestion and regularity. I wouldn't be without these. Best price here at Vitacost too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phineas
great product
 December 5, 2012
"This is the best probiotic that I have tried, and I have tried a lot of them. It helps to keep things regulated in the stomach and truly helps with that ugly bloated feeling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazyleggs
fromMontello, WI
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 October 27, 2012
"Doctor recommended and it works."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hummmmmmmmmm
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product!
 September 12, 2012
"Really good product. Been using it for years. After about a month of use seems to do a good job keep me regular. Have tried other probiotics that my doctor and family recommended but never have the results I do with this one!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Norie
fromIndependence, KY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best Probiotic Ever
 July 2, 2012
"I know everyone should take probiotics and I have from time to time but could not tell if helping me or not. But this product has definitely been working for me. I usually take two a day. One in the morning before breakfast and one in afternoon on an empty stomach. It has really helped me be regular and that is a wonderful thing. Would recommend it to everyone. I think it is best ever!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wipes
fromJersey Channel Islands
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Primal Defense
 May 6, 2012
"The product is brilliant. I didnt like it when the coating of the tablets changed making them more diffcult to swallow. I've kind of got used to it now but would love the shiney coating back."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ladyg
 August 6, 2011
"Pleeeze don't stop carrying this. Best value on the market."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovingjesus
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Can always trust Garden of Life Products
 July 19, 2011
"Just very good product. Does what it says it will."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bwebb
fromTodd, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Deal for your Dollar
 June 23, 2011
"This was a great deal when extra probiotics were included in the bottle. I was told this brand was high. But, not from vitacost. We got a great deal!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next