Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(574)
Algae(900)
Amino Acids(2,159)
Bee Pollen(331)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(103)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(190)
Choline(145)
CoQ10(2,673)
Collagen(336)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(443)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,766)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,673)
GABA(199)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(20)
Glycine(14)
HGH(48)
Iodine(58)
Krill Oil(770)
Lecithin(285)
Letter Vitamins(12,493)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(405)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(447)
Melatonin(1,242)
Minerals(8,974)
Multivitamins(13,076)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,324)
Pectin(22)
Propolis(85)
Pycnogenol(153)
Quercetin(137)
RNA/DNA(1)
Relora(2)
SAMe(626)
Silica(21)
Soy(81)
Spirulina(116)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Probiotic Combinations or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets

Vegetarian. Gluten Free. Primal Defense is a natural blend of 12 species of probiotics and Homeostatic Soil Organisms (HSOs) utilizing the Poten-Zyme process and delivered within a whole food matrix. The HSO probiotic blend in Primal Defense helps support normal gastrointestinal balance of good and potentially harmful bacteria to help maintain a balanced healthy internal environment and maximizes the benefits of a healthy diet by supporting normal absorption and assimilation of nutrients in the gut. Primal Defense is created using the following probiotic species or their enzymes:. Lactobacillus acidophilus. Lactobacillus rhamnosus. Lactobacillus salivarius. Lactobacillus plantarum. Lactobacillus paracasei. Lactobacillus casei. Lactobacillus brevis. Bifidobacterium bifidum. Bifidobacterium breve. Bifidobacterium lactis. Bifidobacterium longum. Bacillus subtilis. Saccharomyces boulardii
Overall rating:
4.825 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 97 reviews
5 Stars
86
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
94 out of 97(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Review 1 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCarlsbad, New Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Satisfied!
 January 23, 2016
" I am really satisfied in the short time I have been taking this product. My stomach issues seem so much better after starting to take Primal Defense. I always thought my other probiotic product worked well but now I know this is a better product. I would definitely recommend this as a product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWindham, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Have been using for years.
 January 21, 2016
" Great probiotic. Only take 1 pill a day and I feel much better than if I don't take it. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLouisville, Ky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Garden of Life-Primal Defence
 December 10, 2015
" We have been taking this for almost 10 years. Was recommended by a Naturalist Doctor. It really works well. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromEugene, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works for Me!
 November 17, 2015
" I ran out of this product and decided to try another probiotic for a change. I bought one at a local store. After a few days my old digestive problems (bloating, indigestion, nausea) returned despite taking the probiotics as directed with every meal. So, I hurried re-ordering this product from Vitacost. I'm so glad I found Garden of Life Primal Defense. Taking one a day in the morning on an empty stomach makes all the difference for me! Will stick with it for sure! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcrossville
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
long time user
 November 5, 2015
" I have taken this product for a long time and Vitacost has the best price I have found "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This works
 October 6, 2015
" Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula works for me. If I don't take this the stomach pain and discomfort overwhelms me. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFranklin, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Primal Defense
 June 24, 2015
" I have used this probiotic for many years. It is a high quality product than isn't terribly expensive. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Grass?
 February 18, 2015
" This product has barley grass and oat grass in it. If you are on a diet, as I am, that does not allow these things, you should know that. "
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLaguna Beach Calif.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 December 12, 2014
" I find that it has helped with my digestion problems. I take in conjunction with Garden of Life Raw probiotics. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDuluth Mn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 22, 2014
" The bottle is sealed well, the directions are clear, and the tablets easy to swallow. "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMenomonie, WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
super
 October 1, 2014
" Read the story where this came from: The Maker's Diet, by Jordan Rubin. I have only been taking this for 3-4 weeks. I can tell it works and see improvements, but you do have to change your diet off of modern foods. "
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFT. Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 September 28, 2014
" this product works well with the Raw Enzymes and has kept my digestive issues under control. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 August 29, 2014
" I have been using this Probiotic for years and love it. Sister and mom use it as well. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product
 July 27, 2014
" My husband and I use this product for maintaining intestinal health. We ran out once so bought another probiotic at a local store and could really notice the difference in quality. Primal Defense is truly beneficial to take. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Been using for years
 May 14, 2014
" Would highly recommend this product to everyone. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSanta Fe, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good
 March 26, 2014
" I think this is a good product. It helps me a lot with the correct funcioning of my stomach. I would recomend it without a doubt. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOrange County, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
We Never Miss A Day of Probiotics
 October 30, 2013
" Garden of Life Primal Defense HSO Probiotic Formula is a staple in our supplement cabinet. My husband and I have been taking these particular caplets for a few years now and achieved the desired results from them. I know that Garden of Life has added an "Ultra" and a "Raw" version, which I am sure would probably turn my intestines into a probiotic party town, but these work and are much more cost effective, especially to the Raw version.
I would also call them "tablets," not "caplets," as thats's what they are! Easy to swallow, as well.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromColumbia, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good probiotic
 October 25, 2013
" This probiotic has been very helpful in restoring the good bacteria to my gut. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWisconsin
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great everyday probiotic!
 August 25, 2013
" This was recommended to me by my naturopath. Great brand and great product. I take 3 everyday and feel great! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garden of Life Primal Defense® HSO™ Probiotic Formula -- 216 Caplets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Garden of Life tops them all.
 June 2, 2013
" After researching many brands I am fully confident this is a superior product. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next