Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop DHA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels

  Each Super DHA softgel contains 1000 mg of fish body oil concentrate from a special blend of Norwegian fish oils which provides 500 mg of DHA (Docosahexaenoic Acid) and 100 mg of EPA (Eicosapentaenoic Acid). This product is regularly tested (using AOAC international protocols) for freshness potency and purity by an independent FDA-registered laboratory and has been determined to be fresh fully potent and free of detrimental levels of mercury cadmium lead PCBs and 28 other contaminants.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
39 out of 39(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Review 1 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
emilee7
fromOntario, Canada
another excellent product.
 August 7, 2014
"I have a son who is mentally ill, another who is entering university this year, and I myself am over 50. This product meets our different needs perfectly. I don't buy any other. This is the one that I've found is the best for all of us."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedheadOR
fromNewport, Oregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Appreciate Softgels in large tablet.
 August 4, 2013
"Definitely feel sharper after taking for a few days after having run out! Carlson is an excellent product, and I appreciate Vitacost pricing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
amitrine
fromAtlanta
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
High quality product
 April 22, 2013
"very satisfied with this product. Great quality and very good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ami1212
fromIsrael
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
The best
 November 16, 2012
"The most effective , High DHA , High quality.
My Omega 3.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
tennhill
fromTennessee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Trusted Product, but makes my hair oily!
 September 18, 2012
"I have used Carlson omega 3's for many years. After reading about the benefits taking of 500 mg of DHA per day, I ordered this product. I'm sure it works well for heart health and joint health, but my hair became extremely oily after 2 weeks of use. I washed it in Dawn, but nothing worked, until I figured out that it was the Fish oil. I have discontined it for now. I hope to start back and built up to 3 caps per week. This is potant STUFF!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zeeb
just what I wanted
 August 5, 2012
"good prices - - arrived quickly."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sammye
 March 16, 2012
"Vitacost has good quality products and prompt delivery."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bob62
Have used Super DHA for 10+ yrs.
 April 1, 2011
"Carlson Super DHA is a great supplement. One gel is equal to a fresh caught salmon dinner. Fish is expensive and this is a great way to get the nutrients that fresh caught fish offer. Excellent for heart health and joint health."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
coldpig
Excellent product... but...
 March 9, 2011
"This is by far the best product in its class and the bonus is that Vitacost has it at the best price I could find anywhere... but... if you're shipping it to Canada, be prepared to wait up to 30 days before the product is delivered, and that was without a customs delay."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FarsWife
fromMount Vernon, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product
 March 19, 2010
"I will definitely buy these again. Since I started taking them my skin and my hair both feel softer. I am actually looking forward to my next physical so I can find out if the healthiness of my insides has improved as much as the healthiness of the outside."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bogart
heinous taste
 October 18, 2009
"This is an excellent product. It contains large amounts of omega-3 and it has an excellent price for the value. However the taste is really aweful."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlubin
Carlson Super DHA
 September 16, 2009
"Great product at an excellent price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dancinkitty
DHA good for all of us
 July 17, 2009
"I attended a workshop taught by a registered dietitian. She explained the benefits of high doses of DHA. I ordered because I wanted to curb carb cravings and discovered that I was sleeping better than I had in years without taking any sleep aids."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lray1957
fromCastle Rock, Colorado
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 January 9, 2009
"My Doctor recommended it because of the 500Mg of DHA"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
keepers
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Awesome fish oil supplement
 October 28, 2008
"Great value and and a high quality product. The quantity of DHA is hard to find."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LWBM
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Duration of use:30-60 days
One pill is all you need
 June 22, 2008
"Great to be able to take one pill a day for recommended daily dosage instead of 2."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nanomatrix
fromSilicon valley CA.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
State of the Art
 July 17, 2007
"DHA is the primary structural component of brain tissue and has crucial influence on neurotransmitters in the brain.
Carlson is the only company that I know of that has manged to pack 500mg of DHA into a single soft gel... and Vitacost's price doesn't hurt much either.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marisa
fromArlington, Texas
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Price
 June 26, 2007
"Vitacost offers the lowest price on this product. I have purchased many other products from them and the service is excellent."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Carlson Super DHA Gems® -- 500 mg - 180 Softgels
Based on the average of (21) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
21 out of 21 recommend this product