Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop EPA & DHA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels

A premium fish oil supplement to promote a healthy mood.*. What is Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula*?  . Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula* combines the omega-3 essential fatty acids eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) in one convenient formula to help support healthy mood.*.  . EPA and DHA are important omega-3 essential fatty acids found in high concentration in the central nervous system. They’re considered “essential” to the body and must be provided by the diet. Higher blood levels of omega-3 essential fatty acids including EPA and DHA are associated with a healthier mood.*.  . How does Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula* support health? Increased consumption of EPA and DHA may help to maintain mental well-being.*. Since the typical American diet is generally low in omega-3 fatty acids Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula*   provides a convenient alternative to eating more fish. Some types of fish may contain high levels of mercury PCBs dioxins and other environmental contaminants. . Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula* is a premium fish oil supplement that safely offers the wealth of health benefits associated with fish consumption.*. Why choose Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula*? Molecularly distilled to ensure that mercury dioxins and PCB levels are well below industry standards. An economical and convenient way to meet the American Heart Association’s recommendation of increasing Omega-3 fatty acid consumption. Provides exceptional quality at extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
39 out of 46(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Deio
fromVoronezh,Russia
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
The best ratio out there.
 February 5, 2014
"I believe this product to be superior to the other Vitacost Fish Oil products due to the high EPA/DHA ratio and high overall content of OMEGA-3 in the formulae. Convenient to use,easy to swallow and so forth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hdk7653
fromRaeford, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 November 13, 2013
"Using it since 2011- love it. Good price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curious
fromWest Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Convenient way to ensure EFA intake
 October 22, 2013
"The fish based Omega 3s are easier to absorb for the body as they're premade and don't require any further metabolizing before the body can use them. Economical way to make sure I'm getting enough EFAs. Make sure to combine with antioxidants!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromModesto, CA
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
In one word: excellent
 June 9, 2013
"I initially bought this for the mood stabilizing qualities of this particular formulation of fish oil and Omega-3 fatty acids. I have been taking my Vitacost Omega 3 Mood Formula for years, but my new doctor is so impressed with it, he suggested that this product may also help with keeping my triglyceride levels down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DixiD
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love it, and it's doctor approved!
 March 30, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This product gets thumbs up from my holistic physician. He's an M.D., trauma surgeon, and a naturopathic doctor. His opinion of product selection is my guide.
GREAT PRODUCT! Does exactly what it says it will do (note that my physician determined my dosing, which is different than the recommended dose).
"
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
band
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 November 1, 2011
"This product made me tired, tried taking it at night but still made me want to sleep all the time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gargar
Best choice for brain
 October 5, 2011
"Very effective for brain..."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pappyjoe
frombradentin,fl.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
GOOD QUALITY
 March 13, 2011
"I AM SATISFIED WITH THE QUALITY AND PRICE. SO FAR IT IS WHAT I EXPECT FROM VITACOST."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
coloradoharts
fromColorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
AWFUL fish odor
 September 1, 2010
"The strong fish odor hit me the minute I opened the bottle. I could not even choke down one pill. The smell even remained on my fingers after opening the bottle seal. AWFUL."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
JoanneS
fromWappingers Falls, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Not What I Expected
 February 18, 2010
"This was a product I was disappointed in. I am still taking them, but honestly feel no difference whatsoever."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lemmert
frombradenton,florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very effective
 December 30, 2009
"Keeps my good my colestrol up and my triclycerides down. I take 3 1200 mg capsules aday per my doctor's instructions. I have no fishy taste in my mouth. I beleive it has helped my mood some."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
shelovesugar
fish burps
 December 29, 2009
"I have always been very satisfied with NSI products but just could not get past the fish burps. I will have to go back to the pricier Barleans orange."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CWTu
 November 21, 2009
"This is a perfect combination of potency (fewer capsules to consume to get benefits) and price. At this price, it is an excellent deal."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mfort
fromPortland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 October 12, 2009
"Have been taking this for about 3 months both for the cardiovascular benefits and for mood. I take effexor and wellbutrin and this and I seem to be on a nice even keel mood-wise. I have never had any fishy aftertaste from this product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
genia
fromPhilly
Gender:Female
Great Product
 September 12, 2009
"I will continue taking this Omega for the rest of my life or as long as it's available. It's good...no fishy smell or after taste and I actually felt a difference after a few days...I have energy and my mood is better. I did NOT expect these results. I simply wanted the heart benefits. Also, I tend to suffer from brain fog and this product has helped the fog lift.
Try it.
"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Omega 3
 June 26, 2009
"High dosage Omega 3 with no post ingestion fish taste"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gismo
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Purchase Ever
 April 24, 2009
"Has helped me with maintaining my weight. Especially being menopausal right now, my moods are much better. They do not fluctuate like they used to."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Husker
fromLincoln, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
WAY TOO BIG!!
 March 2, 2009
"I ordered these a few weeks ago. Since then, I've about choked at least twice trying to get these down. I'm sure they are very effective, but I don't want to take any more chances taking these monstrous pills.
I have ordered the NSI Mega EFA Mini Gels to replace these. While you have to take 4 pills as opposed to the 2 pills for the Mood Formula, they are much smaller. Also, they have high amounts of EPA (800 mg per serving) and DHA (400 mg per serving). I'm even giving these min gels to my kids, and they're able to take them with no problem."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
obecurious
Repeat is Awful
 February 25, 2009
"I bought this based on the reviews and what it had to offer nutrionally. I overlooked one (1) review which said the fish burping was pretty bad. Well she was right...it is really bad. I have taken fish supplements in the past, but never experienced the repeat business like this. I will finish the bottle but unless I start to feel "amazing" I will most likely not order again."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Omega-3 Mood Formula† -- 1200 mg EPA & DHA per serving - 180 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CONSTRUCTION
fromCONTRA COSTA COUNTY, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
I did feel better after taking this product
 January 9, 2009
"I actually felt better taking this EFA than any other EFA product I've taken. The other fish oil pills maybe helped me but I did feel a difference right away. I felt better within an hour. I have to warn you though this product is a more fishy tasting than other products."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next