Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Melatonin or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules

Supports healthy sleep and may help with symptoms related to jet lag. Also a powerful antioxidant.*. What is melatonin? Melatonin is a hormone naturally produced by the body. It’s secreted by the pineal gland in response to darkness. Normal production peaks around midnight and gradually tapers off by morning. Natural production of melatonin decreases with age. Melatonin is well documented to be involved in the body’s circadian rhythm and sleep cycle as well as regulating a variety of body functions. How does melatonin support health? Provides natural support for healthy sleep.*. Helps circadian rhythyms normalize after jet lag.*. Supports healthy sleep in the elderly.*. Promotes a more refreshed sleep.*. Has a variety of antioxidant activities shown to be more powerful than vitamin E and vitamin C.*. Why choose Vitacost Melatonin ? Natural and non-addictive. Supplies 3 mg of melatonin per single-capsule serving. Contains 300 servings per bottle. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.635 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
48 out of 52(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
camus
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
can't break the pill in half
 June 25, 2015
"I am only giving 4 stars not because of the product's quality but because I had no idea of the type of pill upon ordering them. It is not a pill you can break in half if you decide to have only 1.5 mg. I Wish the site would show an actual photo of the pill."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gevalia1
fromCentral, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is really fantastic!
 May 28, 2015
"This taken about 30 minutes before bedtime, really helps to relax me and I sleep soundly. I do not have the groggy feeling when I wake up. The capsule is a small enough size that it is easy to swallow. This is a great product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
meridianm
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Purest Melatonin I could find
 February 18, 2015
"I love this product because it's the purest melatonin I could find, comes in a large quantity and the price is right."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SoCalGuy777
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Great
 November 23, 2014
"As a college student, my sleep cycles often get ruined. This helps me get back on track."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
earthgoddess
fromPhoenix AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Value
 August 26, 2014
"I take melatonin during the day to help calm me. This low dose is perfect for day or night"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBaltimore, MD
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent Product
 May 21, 2014
"This is an excellent product at a great price point. I have used Vitamin Shoppe for many years and have considered their products very highly. Vitacost offers this product at a better price, as good or even better quality and gets the product to me in two days without sales tax. I can't ask for more than that."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
forpittysakes
fromMichigan
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I use many vitamins and supplements from Vitacost.
 December 10, 2013
"I use Vitcost brand: Calcium with Vit. D; Probiotic 10-20; MSM; Glucosamine Sulfate; Melitonin; and Dhea. All in capsule form.
All are effective. My only problem is that they all are white capules and keeping from getting them confused is often times challenging!
Prices are good as is the service.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joyful236
fromStrongsville, OH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Melatonin capsultes 3 mg
 October 12, 2013
"I have used this for a while and find I sleep better and longer with this at night with my prune juice and chloraphyll"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bocaj
fromCharlotte,NC
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
All Vitacost products
 June 20, 2013
"Over many years I have found the Viacost brand to be the 'best!
I use melatonin, cinnamon,garlic,potasium chloride, and most recently saffron extract.
These supplements each have a useful purpose, and I rely on Vitacost for their quality!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FirstChair
fromHaverhill, Ma.
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Take one every night.
 May 21, 2013
"It seems as we get older, we need this stuff to enable sleep. I am sleeping fine, so it must work."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mjob13
Good value, very effective
 November 17, 2012
"I have tried a few different brands of melatonin, and the Vitacost brand seems very potent. I think the capsule maybe has something to do with that. Be ready to be sleepy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
beverlyann
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
 August 31, 2012
"I would like it better if it didn't have magnesium stearate in it."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetdreamer
Gender:Male
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
sweet dreams
 August 26, 2010
"im am a workoutaholic. i dont have problems sleeping but because i get only 5 - 6 hours i need to go into a deep sleep fast. in order for my growth hormone to kick to help me recover. it doesnt make you sleepy but once asleep your asleep. i can tell it helps because before it i havent had any dreams which is a sign for me to know that i went in deep. i wake up refreshed without yawning, im ready to go"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cucas
 August 23, 2010
"It really works!!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rollis2
EXCELLENT FOR DEEP SLEEP
 February 15, 2010
"Capsules are small making them easy to swallow and works effectively"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bonnie1944
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
feed these to our dog
 February 13, 2010
"on a vet's recommendation, we give our elderly doxie one - and he seems more alert and not quite so forgetful"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
GinnyL
Not effective
 November 22, 2009
"It did not do a thing for me. I get better results with regular melatonin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
runnermom
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Gave me a horrible headache
 October 29, 2009
"The two times I took Melatonin when traveling, I woke up in the middle of the night with the worst headache of my life. Apparently this is a side-effect for some people."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
didpurchase
Effective
 September 14, 2009
"My experience with melatonin is that it is an effective sleep inducer within thirty minutes of ingestion."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Melatonin -- 3 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aster
fromLittle Rock
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
BEST MELATONIN OUT THERE
 June 15, 2009
"Tiny capsule taken an hour before bedtime and I , at sixty-five under tremendous stress, sleep 6-7 hours , only waking up when I have to use the bathroom. If not for That, I'd sleep 8-9. For the best results, buy BLACK DRAPES or line your windows with black trash bags. Sunlight turns off melatonin production and wakes us up! No wonder in the fifties my mom would pull down our old fashioned ROOM DARKENING SHADES. Ugly, yes; but man did they work.
Having "room with a view" is nice but a light filled room WILL wake you up!!!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next