Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs

Natural Delicious Creamy Granola Flavor. Gluten Free. Vegetarian. Non-GMO. Source of Life Energy Shake is a nutritionally complete highly concentrated blend of complete protein vitamins minerals enzymes lipids bioflavonoids plant pigments nucleic acids herbs and energy-producing nutrients. This broad spectrum is then synergistically fortified with highly nutritious whole food concentrates such as brown rice spirulina bee pollen sunflower oil black currant seeds young barley leaves citrus and other tropical fruits to form the most powerful and delicious multi-vitamin and mineral protein shake ever developed - for a guaranteed "Burst of Energy!" Source of Life Energy Shake now features the pioneering patent-pending Tri-Part Protein Blend of non-GMO rice protein pea protein and both non-fermented and fermented soy.
Overall rating:
4.868 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
53 out of 53(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Review 1 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
WallowaMichael
Great Morning Boost
 April 30, 2007
"I use a shake as a breakfast replacement, and it really helps get my day going. I've been using this brand of shake off and on for about six years, now, and it's always the one I come back to.
It has all the green and whole food goodies in it, plus lots of good protein. I'm not using it to bulk up, or diet, or for any specific reason other than to feel good throughout the day, and it does that very well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShellyShelly
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Amazing B vitamins
 July 30, 2015
"I tend to fall short on a lot of vitamins, especially on the B vitamins, and this shake fills the gap. It has a very neutral flavor, so there is a lot you can put in with it. I just simply use a blender to mix it with water and ice so that it has an ice cream consistency. Other times I add apple juice to it or skim milk. It has a lot of vitamins- particularly B12 (1000 mcg per serving.) I don't feel the burst of energy right away, but by taking it every morning I begin to feel it in about one week's time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wpd1
fromSC
Great All in One Product
 June 7, 2015
"Fast way to get greens and needed amino acids. Have been taking it for years."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jason1
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
We have used the product for years
 May 1, 2015
"Used the product for years, it's great.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromMN
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Tasty, healthy product for starting each day
 April 14, 2015
"The balanced nutritional properties of this product have proven to be a positive addition to our daily food source. And Source of Life is a tasty base for our morning smoothies!! VitaCost is a great price competitive source for this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Very good
 April 4, 2015
"my husband and I have been using this for about 2 years. I know I get all the nutrients I need to help to stay healthy. I use almond milk and my husband uses either rice or soy.
Love it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jcpcarsoncity
fromCarson City, NV
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Trust but Verify
 March 24, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I give all the Nature's Plus products 5 stars; this is the only product, in my experience (45+ years) that comes with an independent lab assay listing, comparing what they have tested, versus what's on the label of the Nature's Plus product. This is a top-quality supplement manufacturer.
Besides this product, I also use (alternate) 2 other Nature's Plus shakes. I use all of them as meal replacements, but also add raw nuts, raw cacao, blueberries, and a bit of banana in the mix ... SUPER. I am full for hours afterwards. And this: you are getting all of these vitamins/minerals/amino acids, etc. dropped into your stomach and into your body instantly; better than a pill any day!!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
theShark
fromCT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 March 17, 2015
"I have been using this product since 2006. Tastes amazing blended with ice and soy or almond milk! It tastes like a dessert but makes a great meal replacement. I have also mixed it into my homemade face scrubs and masks as a nutritive addition and it makes a difference. People always think I'm about 23 when I'm 31!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wabber
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
A Great Energy Boost Every Day
 January 28, 2015
"I have consumed this product every morning for most of the last 19 years and am amazed that it still provides me the necessary health requirements I need to keep my body in physical condition every day. It is simple to prepare and easy to digest whether I am on the run out the door or just sitting around the breakfast table enjoying the morning with my wife. A must for those of us that are growing older and do not want to miss out on the fun in life."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cheddar
fromRocky Top, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Yes!
 August 16, 2014
"Tastes great. Makes me feel good. Period."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katrinkka
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Excellent Flavor
 April 13, 2014
"This is a great tasting protein powder. I was hooked after the first drink I prepared. I need a low fat mix -- and this one is zero fat. I like it best mixed with some unfiltered organic apple juice and a little inner leaf aloe juice."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sageandsara
fromGeorgia
Healthy and tastes great!
 February 23, 2014
"Excellent product. Convenient and tastes great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amkelley
fromBoise, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great taste and great product
 January 27, 2014
"I started using this product because vitamin pills upset my stomach. I mix this product into soy milk, coconut milk, anything I have on hand and it tastes great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Healthy64
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Product, but....
 March 22, 2013
"I've used this product for several years. It mixes well with water or juice and it has a taste that can't be beat. It is delicious! My caveat to this endorsement is this: I was once told that if a product has sugar at the top of a list of ingredients then it is certain that the sugar content is not healthy. The primary ingredient of this powder is "high crystalline fructose". I have emailed Source of Life many times about this and they always write back: "Call this number and speak to a customer care associate about your concerns". I have called the number and get put on hold. I've never spoken to anyone. If you're not bothered by a high fructose content as sweetener then this product will serve you well as a supplement or a meal replacement."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mbgsilverback
fromchicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
SOL energy shake is great stuff!!
 February 2, 2013
"been taking SOL energy shake for 10 plus years and love it, use it in my smoothies, plant protein pudding, my home made plant protein bars....awesome ingredients, great taste!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JasonB
Good Stuff
 January 22, 2013
"Source of Life really does give me a boost in the morning and keeps me going through lunch. It's a great supplement."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
StarBird
fromNorthern California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best tasting protein shake
 July 28, 2012
"I prefer to just have a protein shake for breakfast (I drink it from a blender bottle on my way to work), so I have been on a dedicated search for one that is meets my criteria and also tastes great. I have been searching for one that is free of sweeteners that I consider unhealthy, such as Nutrasweet (aspartame, acesulfame, or whatever they are calling it nowadays), any other artificial sweeteners, high fructose corn syrup, or stevia (which for some reason tastes nastily bitter to me). I also want it to taste good, and I don't want it to have vitamins in it because (A) you pay more for those vitamins being in your protein powder and (B) I have my own that I take. And finally, in general, I want only what I consider healthy ingredients.
This protein powder meets all my requirements except for the one about vitamins. The ingredients are good, and, unlike every other protein powder I have tried (and I've tried at a least a dozen), it is delicious without having to be doctored in any way. I don't have to mix it with specific juices or fruits to make it taste good; it just plain tastes delicious as it is.
So why do I dock a star? Because of the vitamins and minerals, you MUST shake the can EVERY DAY before use. I learned this the hard way with my first can. When I got a bit more than halfway through the contents of the can, I noticed a sharp, unpleasantly metallic taste (probably the zinc). That taste continued for the rest of the way through the contents.
After that, I learned that from the first time I open a can, I have to take the scoop out, put the lid back on, shake the can thoroughly to mix the contents, then open it again (to a puff of powder). Only then will I scoop out what I want. That way, the ingredients stay well mixed from start to finish, and the taste stays consistently delicious. Now if only they made this exact same product without the vitamins and minerals, my search would be done."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
BlenderBottle Classic™ Clear-Blue -- 28 oz
4.8 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
best supplement on market
 July 28, 2012
"I have been taking this for probably 10 years, in my opinion it is the best nutritional product on the market. price has gone up over the years but not disproportionately. not only is this a superior product in terms of its content, but it actually tastes very appealing and not something merely to be tolerated."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pc777
Great product
 July 16, 2012
"I love to make smoothies for breakfast. I add Source of Life Energy Shake Creamy Granola to any kind of fruit and it makes a great morning meal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Plus Source of Life® Energy Shake Creamy Granola -- 2.2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mezzogirl
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Been Using for Years
 June 15, 2012
"I have been using Nature's Plus Energy Shake on and off for years. I have only used it mixed in with fruit smoothies. I like the flavor so much that I almost don't enjoy my smoothies the same without the powder. Nutrition wise, the powder provides at least 22 different vitamins and minerals in high percentages. Some of the vitamins included are : A, C, D3, E, K2, B6, B12. It also includes iron, Thiamin, Niacin, Folic Acid, Zinc among many other minerals. I am gluten intolerant and this product is gluten free. I highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next