Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(481)
Aloe Vera(555)
Artichoke(21)
Astragalus(109)
Beet Root(24)
Berries(228)
Bilberry(104)
Boswellia(84)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(30)
Chia Seeds(479)
Chrysin(37)
Cinnamon(292)
Curcumin(101)
Dandelion(73)
Echinacea(159)
Elderberry(125)
Eleuthero(26)
Eyebright(39)
Fenugreek(116)
Feverfew(27)
Flaxseed(272)
Fo-Ti(45)
Garlic(324)
Ginger(166)
Ginseng(263)
Gotu Kola(34)
Green Tea(486)
Guggul(24)
Hawthorn(111)
Hibiscus(15)
Horsetail(37)
Kelp(189)
Kudzu(8)
Maca(317)
Mullein(24)
Mushrooms(288)
Neem(52)
Oregano(304)
Osha(1)
Other Herbs(1,871)
Pine Bark(62)
Pygeum(11)
Raspberry(62)
Relora(28)
Rose Hips(25)
Rosemary(18)
Senna(39)
Skullcap(33)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(14)
Triphala(176)
Turmeric(761)
Valerian(266)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Licorice Root or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules

Less than 2% Glycyrrhizin. Standardized Botanical Supplement. Prescription Quality. Gluten Free. Nutritional Support for General Well-Being. Each Herbal Actives Deglycyrrhizinated Licorice (DGL) capsule providing the greatest concentration of active botanical principles maximizes the synergistic benefits of the whole root which naturally contains flavonoids isoflavonoids and coumarins.  . Guaranteed Maximum Potency: Each Herbal Actives formula is scientifically standardized to the highest level of active principles. HerbaShield: An exclusive purity and safety system including light-resistant bottle tight inner seal moisture-absorbing packet tamper evident safety cap and tamper-proof full bottle seal.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
15 out of 17(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
RadarReview
Disappointed by the relatively low quality
 May 26, 2015
"I have been using this product for several years now. This most recent batch is very weak though, and the capsules contain what seems to be only two thirds of the normal amount of product. I still had some that I had purchased about a year ago and the difference was very obvious. I used up what remaimed of the previous bottle and did not realize the problem with the new batch until after 60 days had passed, so it is too late to return the unused product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
srambo
Natures Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL
 September 17, 2014
"It is without additives which I need and seems to work well. Be careful on not going over board. Too much of any kind of licorice is not good. Look it up for your reference. Thanks!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Donr132
fromPickerington, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Seems good
 July 4, 2013
"Bought this for my wife, and she says: it seems to work best when taken one hour before eating."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
signcim
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Quick delivery
 August 12, 2010
"My healthcare provider suggested this product to me. I buy it from this site because of the quick delivery!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review104
fromUSA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good for what ails you
 February 13, 2010
"This is the type of licorice that should not hurt your blood pressure. I take it for my stomach, as I take a lot of Aleve."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
matildasmom
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Research says capsules don't work
 November 27, 2009
"I was pleased this product is standardized, but should have done more research. All the info I found after buying this says that capsules are useless because licorice must be combined with saliva to work. That is why chewable lozenges are recommended. I now have to take these capsules apart, mix the powder in water, and suck in my cheeks to make saliva, then swish it around in my mouth over and over until I've swallowed it all. It tastes really good, but it's inconvenient. I will buy lozenges next time."
+6points
13of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katc12
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best for gas
 October 16, 2009
"Great for acid reflex or stomach gas problems."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gailwen
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Take it everyday and it works!
 March 2, 2009
"This stuff has helped me so much. I never thought my stomach would heal again. With this, the essential enzymes and mastic gum...my stomach pain and bloating have gone nearly 100% away"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnnyandDeb
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best Purchase Ever
 August 1, 2008
"Ever since menopause, I've had terrible heartburn. 2 or 3 alka seltzers a day. The licorice is amazing. Since taking them (1 a day) I haven't taken an alka seltzer once. It's been about 3 weeks now and I am thrilled. It's the only thing that works!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Addy
So much better than chewable!
 February 27, 2008
"I have a sesitive stomach and use DGL to aid in relaxing and re-lining it. However, I cannot take the chewable tablets that are available at most places because I can't stand the taste of licorice. These capsules help tremendously and have no taste at all. I highly recommend them to anyone."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
springchix
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good for Stomach Acid
 February 7, 2008
"DGL Licorice is a good herb for those who have a tendency to have acidic stomach.
I take the capsule at lunch and I never have to worry about stomach pain all day."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jambet
handy stuff
 August 27, 2007
"This is a very good value and vegetarian. It seems good for people with coughs. (Licorice is an expectorant) and definitely good for smokers. It also has anti- grouch properties. I feed them to my husband when he's under stress and it works amazingly well, but that's just him? I don't know . . . ."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beverlyann
 June 12, 2007
"Needs to come in a much larger size."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cent
fromOhio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good quality
 May 3, 2007
"I was asked to take licorice root by my doctor and this is the gentlest and most effective product that I have found."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Nature's Plus Herbal Actives Licorice DGL -- 500 mg - 60 Vegetarian Capsules
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product