Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz

Alive!® supplements are the ultimate Whole Food Energizers™ - with more invigorating nutrients from more natural sources than any other product. 25 Vitamins & Minerals. 24 Fruits & Veggies. 14 Green Foods. 18 Amino Acids. 12 Digestive Enzymes. 12 Organic Mushrooms. Alive! Ultra-Shake™ Pea Protein is the most complete daily energy supplement shake. It's also a comprehensive whole food multi-vitamin with the added benefit of pea protein. Each serving contains more invigorating nutrients from more natural sources than any other supplement. Delicious powdered shake mix version of the Alive! *mega nutrient* formula found in tablets and capsules. Complete protein with 18 amino acids. Vegetarian non-dairy alternative to whey and soy protein. Better digested with less allergen potential than whey or soy protein. Naturally filling to lessen appetite. More fiber and less carbs than other whole food energy shakes. Easy to mix no blender required; just add water juice or milk. Quickly absorbed. Once daily potency
Overall rating:
4.22 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
39 out of 50(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Review 1 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DWolfett
fromBeaverton, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Product Ever
 April 25, 2014
"This IS a 5 star product. The reviewers that said it tastes bad do not know how to blender it to make it great. Here is how to make it the best in taste and as the ultimate daily health drink you cant go wrong:
(for 2 shakes)
1 heaping scoop Vanilla Alive
1 banana (frozen if you like) I use either or
1 tall can of Coconut water ( with or without pulp)
2 handfuls of fresh or frozen blueberries
4 or so fresh or frozen strawberries
Udo'S 3-6-9 Oil Blend (I use a tablespoon) it makes the shake super healthy and very smooth
1 container of yogurt I use blueberry or mango or strawberry rhubarb, but you can use plain to. I use Noosa my new fav~
Maple syrup I use real (B grade is the healthiest, more enzymes) maple I just pour some in maybe a tablespoon or so to taste.
That is it and its FANTASTIC tasting. Of course you can modify this all you want. But all the people that gave it low ratings was because they did not know how to mix it. I make this for dinner sometimes to its filling and fabulous~
Yours In Health~
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tawande
fromLambertville New Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love, Love this product
 September 20, 2013
"I have been searching for a delicious and beneficial products like this for years..
And I have tried many, many products, all more expensive than Alive only to be disappointed.
I watched Oz and learned about Pea Protein. Heard the guests on the show review and decided to research and try.
Much to my amazement and approval the Alive product tastes good and is absolutely great for you- hunger is away for hours, energy is there for hours.
I even brought this Alive product to my doctor for my annual physical and she really praised Alive as well.
My experience has been excellent.
Thank you and the cost is perfect too!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
moeliz
fromKansas City, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Pic doesn't match
 June 24, 2013
"My only issue with buying this product online is that the picture shows in the corner that it's a pea/rice protein, which is what I wanted, but you only get the pea protein. Otherwise this is a good product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jsnaz
fromny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great tasting vitaprotein shake
 June 9, 2013
"I have been using the liquid version of this product for a few years which by itself has an unpalatable taste and smell but the Alive protein mix has all of the same ingredients with a very pleasant taste. It also thickens a shake. A great improvement for this product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
AudnBrisMom
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tastes Awful
 May 12, 2013
"This tastes so bad I have to mix it with another flavor of protein powder and add lots of fruit and it's still not that great. I don't care how healthy it is if I can't get it down."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sierragirl
fromTruckee,ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Has a lot of great ingredients.
 April 5, 2013
"I mix this product into a fruit smoothie about 4 times a week. Taste fine to me. I feel it has the best assortment of ingredients of any other product for the best price. I also like the vegitarian protien."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
seventytwo
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Mixes easy in my blender
 March 29, 2013
"I add fresh or frozen fruit, about one cup + a banana, one cup of water & two cups of ice with two scoops of Alive, blend it for my husband & I to have every morning. Very filling, like having fresh ice cream everyday instead of taking vitamins :))"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JenBee
fromSweet Home, Or
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great stuff
 February 26, 2013
"I use this as I don't get enough nutrition, I have Fibromyalgia/M.E. and need lots in my diet and taking supplements via mouth doesn't always work as well with this disease as a lot of the nutrients just get wasted. With a drink mix I'm more ensured my body will make good use of the Alive nutrients. Also some of the medication I take makes me not very hungry this is truly something I need to stay healthy and helps to keep my muscles replenished some with my M.E. so I have a little more energy. I love the price of it here hope they never raise it please!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Grandma4
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Sounded great tasted bad
 February 12, 2013
"Bought this for my husband and he could not stand the texture or the taste. Returning it for a refund."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ANatEsse
fromWinter in Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Has great vitamins and minerals and is healthy
 December 19, 2012
"I just can't seem to like the green powder texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mcasman
fromWelches, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This tastes great!
 December 7, 2012
"This flavor of Alive tastes and smells great! We have it for breakfast blending it with 1 cup of 1% milk and a fruit. I like fresh pineapple, my husband likes a banana. We have also used blueberries, and raspberries. My husband sometimes puts fresh spinach in too. We tried the chocolate and I can't get past the smell. We prefer to blend the vanilla with chocolate coconut milk to get the chocolate flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
BUCKEYE5
fromohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 October 24, 2012
"i did not like this product. it doesn't blend well because after you blend it, you can see it at the bottom of the blender. it has a had taste. i like the Alive! soy protein a LOT better!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
foff
fromPrairie Grove, AR.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
YUCK!
 September 11, 2012
"The Nature's Way Alive Ultra Shake Pea Protein Vanilla tastes awful. I put it in my fruit smoothie that I made with frozen fruit and vanilla yogurt but that did not help. I cannot imagine how anyone could just mix this in water or milk and drink it. Unless they love raw peas. Because that is what this tastes like. Even the strawberries, peaches and blueberries could not mask the taste. In future I will stick with the whey or soy protein. After only one serving I am done. Now I will have to check their return policy to see if it will cost more than it is worth to exchange it. Or if I can exchange it at all. I ordered the chocolate for my sister who has not tried it yet. Am waiting to hear if she likes it or not."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
49erTriathlete
fromAlaska
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
The vanilla is the stuff!!
 August 24, 2012
"I was looking for an easy protein shake NOT made from dairy, and with a good balance of carbs.
What I like about Alive is that it doesn't have a lot of carbohydrates so I can add a couple frozen strawberries or have some fruit on the side or whatever - point is it gives me options. It also has the unexpected value of being chock full of vitamins, and I think it tastes pretty good. I did have to experiment with how much water/ OJ I add to make it truly enjoyable to drink. I was using coconut milk at first, but that gave it a texture that kind of grosses me out.
Their claim that you don't need a blender is false, as far as I'm concerned, but that's not a big deal to me. I use the blender every morning regardless.
Great product - do not make the mistake of getting chocolate though!! I did not notice any taste difference between Soy and Pea protein.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthylife2012
fromVancouver, Washington
Great taste for a protein shake!
 August 17, 2012
"I have tried for years to find a shake that had vitamins and minerals from acutual plants and not something made up in a lab, and I found it with this protein powder. It does have a very sweet after tastes do to the berry mix but it mixes well with almond and oat milk. It does not leave you with a powdery or chalky taste as so many protein powders do. The other plus I love about it, is that it does not have any soy in it."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mommalana
fromSC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
tastes disgusting
 July 6, 2012
"I am sure that this product is beneficial but the taste is so horrible that you can hardly choke it down."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
rclay316
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Stick with the Vanilla Soy
 January 2, 2012
"I drink the Alive Vanilla Soy everyday, I wanted to try something different. Its very thick even with water added. I can not get this to taste good. I add apples, bananas, grapes etc and still not good tasting. Im sticking with the vanilla."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JenZen
fromCentral Coastal California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Pea Protien
 November 4, 2011
"I was very happy to have found this product on Vitacost. It is much more reasonably priced for me than local stores. I have been slowly developing issues with digestion of protiens, and this does the trick for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazyforpugs
fromMinnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Value for a Vegan Protein!
 November 2, 2011
"I'm really happy about this protein. I'm always looking for a good vegan protein and found it! It has greens which is important to me. I also purchase the rice protein and alternate with this great choice! I like it alone or in a smoothie."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nature's Way Alive® Pea Protein Ultra-Shake™ Vanilla -- 34 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Adventurousz
fromBoulder, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Nasty Vitamin Flavor!
 August 29, 2011
"I bought this as a cheap way to get my vitamins and protein in one, but the flavor is gross. I usually mix my protein powder in with food and smoothies, but I can't do it with this one. I had to return it. I'll just stick to taking their wonderful multi-vitamin and buying a separate protein powder."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next