Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Tryptophan or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules

Helps support natural restful sleep.*. What is L-tryptophan? L-tryptophan is an essential amino acid. The body does not produce L-tryptophan; it must be obtained through diet. L-tryptophan is a precursor to neurotransmitters serotonin and 5-hydroxytryptophan (5-HTP) the hormone melatonin and the B vitamin niacin.  . How does L-tryptophan support health? Helps maintain serotonin levels for healthy mood.*. Supports a normal healthy attitude during PMS.*. Plays an important role in supporting natural restful sleep.*. May support a normal appetite.*. Why choose Vitacost L-Tryptophan? Supplies 500 mg of L-tryptophan per 1-capsule serving. Contains 120 servings per bottle. Suitable for vegetarians. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.365 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
57 out of 63(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marezeoats
fromBoynton Bch, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 February 4, 2014
"I have a mind that is constantly working. This helps me to sleep longer. I take at least 30 minutes before I go to bed. I wake up in the night but lay there and go back to sleep without my mind running non stop. Do recommend this highly. Melatonin does not work for me at all and this product helps."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dragonflytatt2
fromPortland Or.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very helpful product
 November 2, 2013
"I have had trouble sleeping for about as long as I can remember. I take L-Tryptophan and your Melatonin plus Theanine every night about an hour before bedtime and it helps me to relax so I sleep better. There is no groggy or slow feeling when I need to get up, so for me, these are a great product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bodil
fromRiceville, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 29, 2013
"I tried several other brand names, but they didn't help me relax before bedtime. Only the Vitacost brand worked for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hosannah
fromGA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product & price
 July 18, 2013
"Helps you to fall asleep and sleep through the night safely."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TaniaBVP
fromDenver, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
I love tryptophan at night with other supplements
 June 28, 2013
"Vitacost's tryptophan is exactly the amount of mg I wanted. It works in concert with 4 other of their supplements."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jen48
fromWheatfield, Indiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product is great for sleep problems
 June 26, 2013
"I take this every night an hour before bed. It helps me relax and calm down so that I can fall asleep. I also take a Vitamin B with the L- Tryptophan. It works great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jeremylg
fromSalt Lake City, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I have been using for years
 June 5, 2013
"I have been using Tryptophan for years as a sleep aid and highly recommend it. The Vitacost brand is a great value and high quality"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Victoria53
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
I like this supplement.
 December 25, 2012
"This supplement was recommended to me by a friend to help me sleep and it works ell for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
numinous
fromsoutheast Indiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
worked too good!
 December 14, 2012
"I only took one capsule and couldn't wake up to full alertness for 18 hours. Man, I was dead. But I think I am very, very, very sensitive to supplements."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
energyhealer
fromUpper Marlboro, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Helps me get to sleep
 December 2, 2012
"I like this product but It's best to get to bed within an hour after taking this because you can start to feel wired. I woke up 4 hours later a couple of times after taking this product and had trouble getting back to sleep, but because I was getting off of pain medications that helped me sleep."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
eyesopen
fromParadise, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Didn't work for me..
 July 2, 2012
"This doesn't work to put me to sleep. I have found that melatonin and a GABA supplement work best, but this seems to have no effect and it might even keep me awake. I think we are all different and since this can be processed differently in the brain, it might not work for one person but could work for another person. Just not for me though."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
emmiek
fromohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
didn't work for me
 November 15, 2011
"this product has great reviews, but unfortunately it left me so groggy the next day. i didn't know what was happening to me. once i decided to stop taking this product it took about 3 days for me to get back on track and feel normal again. i know it works for other people, just not for me."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
puppyclaw
fromsouth central Pa.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 June 20, 2010
"Good for calming me, but not for getting me to sleep."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaeger
fromManchester, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great value.
 June 17, 2010
"When shopping for L-Tryptophan it pays to shop around. Prices vary wildly for the same dosage and amount."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
GRob
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Just Didn't Work.
 October 7, 2009
"I was surprised. Product has not helped me sleep at all."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
peppervix
fromRidgewood,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Smooth and easy taking everyday
 May 12, 2009
"This works similar to turkey and much easier to swallow in pill form. If you care about your health then NSI L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg is what you want in your body, My health and body feels so great inside and out with this pill. I am so happy to have found this pill."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
origionalbabe
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
carb cravings
 April 25, 2009
"I tried this to reduce carb cravings to lose weight. Along with l-tryosine. It did help with the cravings somewhat."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JJTopp99
fromNeptune Beach, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
WORKS AS ADVERTISED!
 April 21, 2009
"Must be taken on an empty stomach (at least two hours after eating) in order to realise optimal results. Also, best if you can set aside eight hours of sleep, otherwise you may feel a bit groggy with less sleep time. I take it two hours BEFORE retiring. I also take 3 mg of melatonin 20 minutes before I go to bed as well."
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reet
tossing and turning all night.
 April 14, 2009
"I have been a restless sleeper for over a year now. I was recently in the hospital and needed my sleep. A friend recommended NSI L-Tryptophan, I didn't think it would work. But I was very pleased with the results. I'm sleeping just like I used to, all through the night. I think it's wonderful."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Therby
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Better Sleep
 March 29, 2009
"I am sleeping through the night now with the help of this and magnesium."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next