Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs

25g of High Quality Bioavailable Protein Per Scoop! Stimulates Muscle Growth. Improves Post-Workout Recovery. 100% Instantized and Quick Dissolving. Vegetarian Formula. Gluten Free. The Science Behind the Size:. Product: A superior blend of high quality bioavailable whey proteins: WPC and WPI. A premier concentrate that is 100% instantized quick dissolving and easy-to-mix with a rich refreshing taste. Result: Stimulates muscle protein which maximizes muscle growth that occurs after exercise by enhancing muscle building and lean tissue mass. Also increases muscle performance and improves post-workout recovery. Science: Clinical studies show that whey protein is one of the muscle building proteins available providing a rapid drive of amino acids to skeletal muscle tissue thereby increasing the effects of weight training. Enhanced muscle protein anabolism increases muscle growth to maximize gains. Research also shows that whey protein has one of the highest protein qualities of all proteins and has one of the highest Protein Efficiency Ratios providing more amino acids than most other proteins.¹
Overall rating:
4.485 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
59 out of 68(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Review 1 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mamajen
fromCharleston, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Artificial sweeteners
 April 11, 2013
"I think this is a great protein powder, it tastes good (even mixed with water) and I have gotten results since using it, BUT it has aspartame and sucralose so I won't buy it again. But if you don't mind the artificial sweeteners I say go for it, it's great otherwise."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chas1234
 April 5, 2013
"Easy to dissolve in milk. Taste is very appealing compared to most other protein powders."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBrasília, BR
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Excellent Whey
 March 15, 2013
"This is one of the best protein in the world.
In a month I gained 3kg.
Conteins a lot of BCAA and Glutamine, beside other aminoacids.
The flavor is nice too
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eslaugh
GREAT!
 March 13, 2013
"tastes great, nice and low carb for my diet goals, definitely want to buy again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
123meow
fromNew England
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yummy!
 October 3, 2012
"I haven't actually opened the chocolate yet, but I'm finishing the vanilla I'd bought, by accident. It was delicious... and I'm not even fond of vanilla. If the vanilla tastes THAT good, I'm certain that the chocolate will be fabulous!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
P90SuccessStory
fromGoshen, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Excellent, inexpensive product
 September 17, 2012
"I have been using this product for about a week now so I am unsure if the results will be better than the results I obtained using Muscle Milk for about 100 days. I decided to switch to a different protein since the MM had excess fat and saturated fat as well as a lot of artificial ingredients and the amount of protein per serving was low. I also read and heard that it is not the best protein but is fine for someone just starting out, which I was. The taste and mix-ability of Twinlab Chocolate are better than the MM. It is still difficult to drink this one without adding peanut butter; without the peanut butter it tastes artificial and a little chalky. Add that peanut butter and it is like drinking a liquefied Reese's Peanut Butter cup. (Tip: add peanut butter after thoroughly mixing the powder and water then thoroughly mix again) I use, and chose, this product as a recovery shake and it is something I look forward to after every workout. Bottom-line: I highly recommend this product and for the price, you can't go wrong. Also, with 50g of protein in 2 servings, I highly doubt that this product will not provide me with the results I desire."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AvivG
Best for the price
 September 13, 2012
"I am looking to get my protein, the price is unmatchable and the taste is ok, even good with milk. If you are on a budget this one is for you"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battman4312
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Real Chocolate Flavor
 August 12, 2012
"This stuff is really amazing. Excellent chocolate flavoring. I have been using this for about two weeks now. Its a real deal chocolate shake.
Just a forewarning the scoop size is a little bigger for these than most protein powders Ive used. I think it was in the neighborhood of 35 grams as apposed to 26 grams which is about what Im used to.
So because of that this 5 pound tub isnt going to last me quite as long as a comparable 5 pound tub of the Body Fortress stuff I had been using.
BUT A+ for flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GEPie
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Twinlab Whey Protein Fuel
 June 2, 2012
"This is a high quality and well priced product. It is an essential supplement for anyone who enjoys weight-lifting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrE87
Best protein mix
 May 3, 2012
"I really like this product. It mixed really well and tastes way better than expected. And for the price, its a great buy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bklyn74
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good value
 April 19, 2012
"Good dollar to gram of protein ratio. Taste is fine. It doesn't dissolve quite as well as some others I've used (Optimum Nutrition and the Vitacost house brand). The most annoying thing about this product is that the mouth of the scoop is huge which makes it hard to get the powder into my bottle without spilling some of it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sportsfan23
Used to be a great value, now an okay value
 March 30, 2012
"I have used this product for several months and am very satisfied with it. It's not too sweet and has a good consistency. The cost has gone up over the past several months, though, and now it's an okay value whereas before it was an exceptional value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruskit
fromUSA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent Taste
 February 19, 2012
"I tried to choke down several other variety's of protein shakes and ended up throwing them out. I checked this out when placing a vitamin order, and finding it to gluten free, with good reviews, I bought it. This one is a keeper! Mixes so smooth with just a whisk, foams for a thicker smoothie like texture when whipped. I am thankful it is not sweeter, its like semi sweet chocolate. Perfect!
Just an idea for others, if you like peanut butter with chocolate, try mixing in some of the powdered peanut butter with your shake. It adds sugar unfortunately, but also gives an extra shot of protein! Most excellent!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
hh345
eh
 January 29, 2012
"the taste was not all that good it was decent at best. but a good protein nonetheless. I would recommend the vanilla slam"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
justine0019
fromseattle
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
great great product
 December 10, 2011
"i must say this is a really really awesome product.. taste really good and easy to mix.. also cheapest among all ive seen so far.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamesz4u
fromTampa, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great value n great taste!
 December 8, 2011
"Excellent taste n product, will continue using it in the future!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Broome
fromKingsport, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Twinlab Protein
 November 22, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Great tasting protein, at a great price. It does what it says, I use it everyday."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
nonicknamedude
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Twinlab Whey Protein
 August 10, 2011
"Mixes well with milk-no blender needed, tastes good, inexpensive-low cost/serving-a good value for protein powder"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jasi3
fromAlabama
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Chocolate Protien
 August 5, 2011
"This stuff taste good, could use a little more sugar because its not really sweet. I dont know about how it would result in muscel growth, I use drink it for more protien... but overall its a good brand for a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Twinlab Sports Whey Protein Fuel® Chocolate Surge -- 5 lbs
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
doran
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Too Sweet
 July 22, 2011
"I usually don't write reviews but I wanted to write a review on this product. I think that this is a very good value for the price, which is why I purchased this, but it is way too sweet for me. Unless you are used to eating sweets, I would try another protein powder."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next