Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(465)
Aloe Vera(555)
Astragalus(101)
Chia Seeds(450)
Cinnamon(265)
Curcumin(70)
Fenugreek(97)
Flaxseed(226)
Garlic(294)
Ginger(138)
Ginseng(229)
Green Tea(455)
Mushrooms(230)
Oregano(267)
Other Herbs(7,210)
Alfalfa(66)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(21)
Bacopa(26)
Banaba(12)
Basil(17)
Beet Root(23)
Berries(208)
Bilberry(100)
Bioperine(12)
Borage(25)
Boswellia(73)
Broccoli(16)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(33)
Calendula(18)
Camu Camu(10)
Catnip(2)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(36)
Chrysin(34)
Cloves(9)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(46)
Echinacea(147)
Elderberry(106)
Eleuthero(23)
Eyebright(35)
Fennel(31)
Feverfew(26)
Fo-Ti(40)
Gotu Kola(32)
Guarana(27)
Guggul(22)
Hawthorn(103)
Hemp(3)
Hibiscus(11)
Horsetail(32)
Kava Kava(16)
Kelp(174)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(5)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(11)
Maca(375)
Melissa(9)
Mucuna(11)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(49)
Nettle(39)
Oat(26)
Osha(1)
Papaya(96)
Parsley(13)
Pine Bark(59)
Pygeum(10)
Raspberry(54)
Relora(24)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(15)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(33)
Shatavari(17)
Skullcap(30)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(19)
Triphala(161)
Valerian(243)
Wild Yam(29)
Yarrow(7)
Yohimbe(9)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(579)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Valerian or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules

Herbal supplement used traditionally to promote calmness and sleep.*.  .   What is valerian root?  . Valerian (Valeriana officinalis) is a perennial plant with dark green leaves and small white light pink and purple flowers native to Europe and parts of Asia. Its roots—dried ground and consumed in tea or supplement form—have been used in traditional herbal practices to support calmness and restful sleep.*.  . How does valerian root support health? Promotes deep restful restorative sleep*. May support better sleep in poor sleepers*. Why choose Vitacost Valerian Root? Supplies 1020 mg of valerian root per 2-capsule serving. Standardized to ensure consistent potency in every dose. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value! PLEASE NOTE: This supplement now features smaller-sized capsules. The formula remains the same.  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.4 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
4
53 out of 60(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
worldy
fromAsheville NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Valerian most excellent
 August 21, 2014
"This Valerian Root Extract is even better than the non-standardized one Vitacost sells. I got the other one first as it is cheaper. But this one is stronger and works better with only 2 tablets instead of 3. So it isn't really more expensive at all. It does improve my sleep quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
elizajane
fromSanta Clara Utah
Age:75+
Gender:Female
essential nutrients plants require in the largest
 August 17, 2014
"very good product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GAOrganicGirl
fromGeorgia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent and effective Valerian supplement
 August 11, 2014
"I am very impressed with the effectiveness and value of this Valerian. Not all Valerians are created equal, but this one really gets the job done. I can sleep through the night when I take this!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AEKL
fromLos Angeles, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It really works!!
 July 15, 2014
"I have tried many different sleep products. This is by far the best. I take 2 tablets and even if I am not sleepy, I close my eyes. Within 30 minutes I am asleep."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
PSA1
fromDallas, TX
 February 27, 2014
"Does not work for me, and it is stink."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
BobbyLeeV
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This product is nasty!
 February 2, 2014
"I had to stop taking it. I gave it my best shot for about three weeks and did not feel I gained anything. I would belch this awful taste all day. It smells terrible. You wouldn't want to stick a couple of these in your pocket and head out for the day."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
irishnh
fromNH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 October 23, 2013
"Once you open the bottle you will know you have a pure product. Don't let the strong odor blow you away....this product works. It is better to use a herb than use sleeping meds...that is my opinion. This is a great value and worth a try if you like your zzzzzzzz!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZooMamma
fromRichfield, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works every time - Powerful!
 July 13, 2013
"This Valerian Root Extract is amazing. I sleep deep with this right into the morning. I might not want to get up in the morning, but when I do, there is no after effect. It is wonderful! Sometimes I'll take it even when I do not need it just because it's nice. :o)"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amiable
fromVentura, California
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 19, 2013
"This product is great....."works" so well & priced well!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
clr61482
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!
 May 9, 2013
"I have been buying these for my mother for over a year now. She says they are the best! She has tried other brands in a pinch (I forgot to order....oops) but she always begs me to get these. She swears they work the best. We buy several Vitacost brand supplements between us, and we love the price and quality!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BumMan
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Works great...
 April 18, 2013
"Good stuff, it works the way it should. I take 2 every night before going to sleep. It helps me relaz and is non addicting."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WA9465
fromHilton Head Island, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good product for help sleeping
 March 13, 2013
"good product for help sleeping, great low Vitacost price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
satisfied52
fromHewitt, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
only one drawback but I use it anyway
 February 12, 2013
"Although this product does work, for some reason it certainly does have a very strong and fowl oder. Other than the oder, it is fine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SaraZilla
fromVentura, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Helps me sleep
 October 21, 2012
"I take Valerian Root before bedtime to help me get a good night's rest. When I can't stop "thinking", it helps relax my mind and helps me fall asleep easier. Works for my husband as well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NWFbeachgirl
fromnorthwest florida beaches
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
help for restlessness in menapause but...
 October 11, 2012
"This product really helps to relax me into a deep sleep, something that had been escaping me at this phase of life, helps my husband too, although he has had some vivid dreams. But, beware, this product STINKS like really strong blue cheese, or dirty socks, or something. I keep the closed bottle in a ziploc bag and open it in a well ventilated room near a window. Have your water ready to wash it down quickly. Take it about a half an hour to 45 min before bed,no groggy feeling in the morning."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SLCB
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great sleep!
 July 19, 2012
"Valerian Root works great for me to sleep! I add Lemon Balm for rest/relax and "Melatonin-TIME RELEASED 3 mg". These three together are superb! This is a great product!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LadyJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Pleased with this...saw results first night.
 June 17, 2012
"The product works well. I noticed the first night that I slept very soundly!! I woke up refreshed and clear minded....no grogginess. This product has that strong odor which you notice as soon as you open the bottle. Even though it's not pleasant, a good valerian product SHOULD smell like that. I recommend it."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
TryToBeAHealthyOne
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Ugh! These stink to high heaven.
 June 16, 2012
"OK, we all expect Valerian root to be stinky, but this stuff is just flat out awful. Open the bottle to take them out and the room stinks for 10-15 minutes. I tried leaving the cap off the bottle when I was out of town for 5 days to see if it would "air out". Came home and could smell them downstairs! Right now, I dumped the bottle on a cookie sheet and set it outside for a few hours to see if that will work.
Sorry, but these smell so bad that I can not tell if they are effective or not. I would not buy again or recommend the Vitacost brand to anyone."
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smoothrunner
fromJunction City Ore
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works
 June 11, 2012
"Good final punch to help bring on sleep"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Valerian Root Extract - Standardized -- 1020 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eddonna28
 October 3, 2011
"This is an excellent product and highly recommend for anyone!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next