Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules

Natural amino acid supplement containing 5-hydroxytryptophan. What is 5-HTP? 5-Hydroxytryptophan or 5-HTP is an amino acid that converts to serotonin in the body. Serotonin is a substance that acts as a neurotransmitter or chemical that helps relay signals from one area of the brain to another.  . How does 5-HTP support health? 5-HTP can elevate levels of serotonin which is associated with good mood in humans.*. 5-HTP can increase a sense of well-being.*. Why choose Vitacost 5-HTP? Free of the compound “peak X” for health safety reasons.*. Great quality great value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
45 out of 50(90%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mainecyn
fromWyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Did What Promised
 June 17, 2013
"I started taking this months ago to help up my mood. It is the first time I have taken any supplement and my husband noted a difference within days telling me how calm and happy I was, back to my old self. I noticed it as well a couple weeks into taking it how I was more relaxed. I am unsure if it is working anymore, I seem pretty "stable" no more crying in the car for no reasons or wanting to hide. It isn't an "upper" by no means, but I no longer feel anxious and sad all the time-normal."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovjules
fromPonte Vedra Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
GREAT PRODUCT!!!
 March 5, 2013
"This is a great product. Previously I only used a time released version and decided to try this one. It works great and I highly recommend it!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Piddler
fromBroken Arrow, Ok
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 December 18, 2012
"This product really works! It gives you a feeling of well being without any unpleasant side effects and you get benefit from it quickly. The Vitacost brand of 5-HTP is not only reliable but at a fair price. Many of my family members have tried this product and attest to its remarkable effects."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
smoothrunner
fromJunction City Ore
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Calm and sleep
 October 10, 2012
"I take this when i want to go to sleep. It also give me a calm. Im alittle high strung."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
tommo
fromnorth carolina
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 August 13, 2012
"your e-mails are obnoxious and totally unnecessary!!!"
-18points
1of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bluefeather
5-HTP
 March 2, 2012
"I feel that this product is very good, and when I don't use it, I can tell the difference in how I feel."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
GraceSC
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Makes me drowsy
 March 26, 2011
"Product makes me drowsy; very little calming effect."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gamaguy
fromaltadena, ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
improves mood
 February 24, 2010
"I take one pill immediately before retiring at night and awake the next morning in a positive mood which generally lasts throughout the day"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NickiH
fromsalt lake city, utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Deal out there!
 February 14, 2010
"This is the best price for the quanity and the mg you can find any where!! It works just as well as all the other brands I have tried but I save so much more money! well worth it!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GoodProduct
Best value on the market
 December 17, 2009
"NSI 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules is a great product. I have re-ordered it many times. It always comes very quickly and can not be found anywhere at a better price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CharlieAngel
fromCentral Coast of California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great deal on 5-HTP
 October 19, 2009
"I use this product both to help my mood and to sleep better and find it helpful for both. The price is good and the potency is higher than most other brands."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
TimL2
Just doesn't work
 October 12, 2009
"Just doesn't work, at least for me. In fact, I seem to have slept better on nights I didn't take it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Haydensmommy
fromCathedral City
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good for a week
 September 26, 2009
"At first I thought this was a great pill to help with sleeping. I found that after a week of taking the pill it didn't work as well. So I stopped using it for a week and then tried again. So it shouldn't be used every night I guess. As far as cutting back on sweets, I did notice that I didn't crave it as much, that helps."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kingtwosheds
fromMisawa, Japan
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works as promised
 September 22, 2009
"I noticed the effects of the 5-HTP after a few days in a row of taking it before bed. They work great for mellowing out your mind and triggering your body's "sleep switch". The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because of one side effect I noticed. The 5-HTP mellow feeling seemed to last into the first several hours of my morning leaving my mind not feeling fully activated. Tip: Do not take 5-HTP longer than the product recommends."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeniece
fromSouthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 5, 2009
"This helps so much for mood. I can definitely tell that it improves my attitude, which is really helpful since I'm in school with a full load and a hard major.
I don't take this regularly, usually just when I'm having a bad day. But I sometimes take it before I do cardio, which gives me a nice serotonin boost while i work out.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ansaam
fromMinnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful Product
 July 19, 2009
"I am amazed at how this product works. I have slept more soundly since taking this product. I also seem more relaxed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Coconut123
fromSunnyvale, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 July 1, 2009
"It doesn't seem to work for me. I will keep trying though. Won't give up so soon."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ML47
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This works!
 April 14, 2009
"You will sleep much better and your outlook will be improved. A win-win situation.. I had to have minor surgery and was having a rough time coping with this. I felt that it was vital that I improve my outlook. 5HTP put me on a even keel. I sleep better and my posititve outlook has resurfaced. Incredible. Thanks NSI."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
PrimeChuck
fromHouston, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Just Didn't Work for Me
 March 11, 2009
"I have used the 5-HTP for several weeks on and off. It does promote sleep somewhat, but I still do not sleep through the night. I get about the same effect with 2 tylenol capsules."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost 5-HTP -- 200 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surfdog
fromSanta Cruz
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Pleasantly surprised
 March 9, 2009
"I have tried a number of sleep assisting natural remedies in the past. Most of them are either very expensive, don't really work or leave you feeling sluggish the next day. With 5-HPT I was still able to get back to sleep during the night whenever I awoke but had no "hangover" the following morning. So all in all I rate this product very high."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next