Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(472)
Aloe Vera(541)
Chia Seeds(427)
Cinnamon(258)
Curcumin(65)
Fenugreek(94)
Flaxseed(220)
Garlic(282)
Ginger(135)
Ginseng(228)
Green Tea(445)
Mushrooms(225)
Oregano(256)
Other Herbs(7,052)
Alfalfa(66)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(21)
Bacopa(24)
Banaba(12)
Basil(16)
Beet Root(23)
Berries(207)
Bilberry(99)
Borage(25)
Boswellia(71)
Broccoli(15)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(33)
Calendula(17)
Catnip(2)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(35)
Chrysin(34)
Cloves(8)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(45)
Echinacea(145)
Elderberry(100)
Eleuthero(24)
Eyebright(34)
Fennel(30)
Feverfew(26)
Fo-Ti(40)
Gotu Kola(32)
Guarana(26)
Guggul(23)
Hawthorn(102)
Hemp(2)
Hibiscus(11)
Horsetail(30)
Kava Kava(15)
Kelp(170)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(5)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(11)
Maca(358)
Melissa(9)
Mucuna(10)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(48)
Nettle(39)
Oat(26)
Osha(1)
Papaya(93)
Parsley(13)
Pine Bark(59)
Pygeum(10)
Raspberry(51)
Relora(24)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(14)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(33)
Shatavari(17)
Skullcap(30)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(19)
Triphala(158)
Valerian(240)
Wild Yam(29)
Yarrow(6)
Yohimbe(7)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(564)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Horse Chestnut or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules

High-quality horse chestnut extract standardized to 20% aescin per two-capsule serving. What is horse chestnut? Horse chestnut is a tree native to Greece and other mountainous regions of the Balkan Peninsula. Widely cultivated throughout the world today horse chestnut trees produce nut-like seeds called conkers or horse chestnuts. Historically whole horse chestnuts were used as game pieces and beads for jewelry while an extract from their seeds and the tree’s flowers have been used for health purposes.  . How does horse chestnut support health? Horse chestnut seed extract contains aescin a natural saponin and bioflavonoid identified as its main active constituent. Horse chestnut seed extract is commonly used in European alternative health practices for leg and vein support. Why choose Vitacost Horse Chestnut? Contains horse chestnut standardized to 20% aescin. Standardization ensures consistent levels of active ingredients in every dose. Contains 90 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).   . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Victor1
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Leg health
 July 2, 2014
"As a chef who stands for over 40 hours per week, my legs love standardized horse chestnut. I have varicose veins and find the daily use of this product keeps my legs feeling healthy and less tired at the end of the day."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
rsg410
fromAnn Arbor, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Seems to do the job
 May 29, 2014
"Taking to tighten up veins. Seems to work fine. Could be other things though. Will keep taking regardless as it's a good price and can't really hurt."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
52yearsandcounting
fromTucker, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fast Relief from Horse Chestnut
 May 14, 2013
"Fast Relief! I have occasional painful swelling in my left ankle, due to varicose veins and I have taken Horse Chestnut supplements in the past for relief. I like this brand of Horse Chestnut because I don't get an upset stomach with it, and since comes in capsules, there's no nasty aftertase!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MangoJuice
fromHawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Has helped with circulation in my legs
 April 19, 2013
"I used to get into bed every night and immediately have frozen toes.
After taking this supplement, the circulation to my feet have returned. It was not immediate, but over a couple of months I have seen a very definite improvement. I am happy. I hate cold feet!
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alpb
fromChapel Hill, NC
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product
 December 24, 2012
"Capsules so much easier to take than tablets."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stevearino
fromAZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great
 September 13, 2012
"It works well."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
riobird
fromWichita, KS
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Easy 2 take
 August 23, 2012
"Hate 2 say it - but didn't appear 2 work as well as the other brand I used"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mastifflaw
fromDetroit, MI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
need more time
 April 3, 2011
"IMO 3 wks is too short a time to evaluate the efficacy of a supplement . I will know more in 2-4 months"
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fuzzylizard
fromGeorgia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Helps with leg pain
 February 4, 2010
"I have spider veins that get worse every year. I started to have pain in the spider vein area. Not bad, but enough to be distracting. Since taking the Horse Chestnut as directed, I haven't had leg pain."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Curious
fromWest Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good circulatory enhancement
 September 22, 2009
"I have inherited my moms weak connective tissue. Spider veins are no fun. This improves circulation over time. And it's an time-tested remedy."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kuuipo
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
take with FOOD !
 March 4, 2009
"I initially took this herb on an EMPTY stomach....boy, was I nauseous! So, I began taking it with food however, it still made my tummy a little queezy. I now open the capsules, make a tea with it and pour the tea into my bath. And yes, I have noticed some improvement in venous return."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sekh
fromWilson, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Product
 August 31, 2008
"Good product to me. Im glad I purchased Horse Chestnut Complex Capsules. I have a minor case of varicose veins on my leg, and I noticed the difference in 6 to 5 days. The puffiness has reduced and the pain I had in my leg is gone."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gennefan
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product
 February 25, 2008
"This product helped my circulation within 2 days.
I am sold on its effectivess.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bucky69
fromfairfield, pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
leg veins
 September 6, 2007
"i started using this product about 6 months ago for my vericose veins. If I do not take these pills I have massive pain in my legs from my vericose veins. This product really does help with blood flow. I highly recommend it."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Product
 May 14, 2007
"I certainly would recommend it to those with vein pain."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Horse Chestnut - Standardized -- 500 mg per serving - 180 Capsules
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product