Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz

Non-Alkaline. No Harsh Chemicals. Gently Removes Curl and Frizz. SAFE TO APPLY TO DYED OR PREVIOUSLY RELAXED HAIR.
Overall rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
6 out of 9(67%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Review 1 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
yahu4me
Slow to work, but does work!
 May 18, 2009
"The scent is tolerable. It does condition your hair quite well. My hair is naturally curly (actually frizzy) and this helps keep it under control."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NJCurlyHead
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Curly Away
 September 14, 2008
"The product left my hair soft and less frizzy but the smell is a bit to take. I wore it one day during the day and thought everyone could smell me! At night it may annoy your spouse if you sleep with it on. Other than that it may be worth a try. If the company would put some fragrance they would have a winner."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
margitta
fromMiami, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
good product
 July 31, 2008
"The only thing I don't like about Curl Away cream is that smells so strong. I am wondering if this odor is bath for the person trying the product. Sometimes itch my scalp. I can take the smell so strong."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
virginia1964
fromqueens
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
it's ok
 July 25, 2008
"i did not like it,it did the samething a blow dryer does, my hair still have lots of curls.and it still get's frizzy.it's not what i excepted,i got the same result has blowing my hair, no big deal.i rated a 4 percent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrazyAboutNature
fromSalt Lake City UT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good product but it stinks
 February 19, 2008
"This item works ok. it could relax my curls a little more, because after using it I still have some curls. It is time consuming to use this product. You have to wet your hair, put it on, brush it straight, and let it sit there for like 10 hours, then, you have to rinse it out, wash your hair, conditioning and then, apply a dollop of this product again and brush it straight again and make it sure that it is straight all the way to drying and then, when finally dried, you have to finish with a iron. You supposed to do this 3 times a week for 2-4 weeks in order to see results and use the product on dry hair every day you don't do this process as a leave-in conditioner type. Too complicated. It works but not straighting enough for my taste. Good price. But the smell is awful, literally. You have to cover your nose when using it!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cmb65
fromFort Hood, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great product!
 January 3, 2008
"I've tried a lot of different things to help make my natural hair (african-american) hair more managable and this is the best of them all. I've been chemical free now for over 3 years and this stuff really does help make the hair softer and more managable. It does have a very strong smell but to me its a small price to pay if it helps me stay away from chemicals. Its a bit pricey for such a small jar. My hair uses an entire jar, but if you have shorter hair, one jar may last you for 2 or three uses. But the price here is better than any other place I have been able to find (else where it costs at least $19.99). Just keep in mind that the effectiveness increases with each use, but I did see a noticeable difference after the first use."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ethnicgurl
Curlaway Experience
 September 3, 2007
"I do not recommend this for anyone who has tight ethnic coily /kinky hair, and wants the freedom of a shampoo and set that a relaxer allows.
You have to use heat appliances with this product to obtain the straightened smooth hairstyle that is advertised on the packaging.
Curlaway claims to have a green apple fragrance when in reality it has a smelly, pungent vinegar- like odor that I would not apply as a hairdressing for wear in public as it recommends.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
aidane
aidane
 August 13, 2007
"Anyone looking for a non chemical hair relaxer should really give this product consideration. I have been using it for over 8 months now and my hair is fabulous. For many years I had short spots in the back where my hair had broken off from using chemical relaxers but since using Curlaway my hair has grown out to one length...and that is amazing.
It's very important to follow ALL the directions as printed and allow the time to reach desired results."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Xenna Curlaway Chemical Free Relaxer -- 6 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product