Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Krill Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels

Good source of omega-3 essential fatty acids EPA and DHA. Also loaded with antioxidant power!*. What is Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil? Vitacost KriaXanthin Antarctic Krill Oil contains a 100%-natural extract of krill harvested from cold Atlantic waters. Krill oil derived from krill (shrimp-like crustaceans) is a good source of two of the most studied omega-3 essential fatty acids eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). .  . Omega-3 essential fatty acids are essential to the body and must be obtained through diet. Since the typical American diet is generally low in omega-3 essential fatty acids taking a supplement such as Vitacost KriaXanthin Antarctic Krill Oil is a convenient way to obtain these important nutrients without increasing fish consumption.  . Krill oil is also rich in vitamins A and E and functions as a powerful antioxidant.*.  . How does Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil support health? Provides the easily absorbed omega-3 essential fatty acids DHA and EPA as well as antioxidants for total-body health support.*. Supportive but not conclusive research shows that consumption of EPA and DHA omega-3 fatty acids may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease. Helps reduce certain symptoms associated with premenstrual syndrome.*. Promotes a healthy inflammatory response and contributes to a healthy blood lipid profile already within normal range.*. Provides protection from free radicals.*. Why choose Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil? 100% natural. Cold-vacuum pressed for ultimate freshness and stability. Provides 1000 mg of krill oil per 2-softgel serving. Contains 150 servings per bottle. Great value compared to other brands. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.253 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(241 reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 241 reviews
5 Stars
157
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
13
1 Star
18
201 out of 241(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joyfulljudy
fromVancouver, Wa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 8, 2014
"Wonderful product! Can't find this anywhere for the price Vitacost has. I got it on sale but will continue to buy it when I run out!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carly9
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
No fishy taste! Best value.
 February 15, 2014
"I can take this on an empty stomach with no regrets, and I am REALLY sensitive to fishiness."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
madeleinesmom
fromSeattle, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Who knows?
 January 22, 2014
"Some supplements I notice make a difference, others I don't. With this one I have no idea whether it's doing anything for me or not. Maybe something great is happening internally, maybe nothing is happening at all. No idea."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fishpole
fromPA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
The product is a plus for omega + requirements
 January 9, 2014
"The product has a strong repeat (taste) about hour after taking normal recommended dose. I take the pills just before bedtime now to minimize the after taste effects."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikelleeSC
fromLongs, SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
I am so happy with Vitacost
 December 5, 2013
"I was using another product. It was costing me $35.00 a month. Then I found the same product at Vitacost. It save me a lot of money. I will use other products!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bocaj
fromCharlotte,NC
Age:75+
Gender:Male
All my vitamins and supplement
 December 3, 2013
"Vitacost is the suppler of my vitams and supplements.
My research has convinced me that all Vitacost items are of the highest quality, competitvely priced and easily re-ordered online, and arrive in 2-3 dayys.
I definitely recommend them to others!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Golubushka
fromGA, Flowery Branch
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
krill oil is unique
 November 28, 2013
"Krill oil contains EPA and DHA ( like fish) and phospholipids (brain-protecting Omega-3 compounds).
Astaxanthin - potent antioxidant ( is 500 times more potent than vitamin E as antioxidant) It is one of the most remarkable natural supplement ever discovered.It's contributing to the amazing swimming endurance of salmon. Always take it with healthy oil, it is fat soluble.
So, combination of Krill oil and Astaxanthin is perfect!
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
krblr2007
Much cheaper compared to other brands
 November 27, 2013
"I have been taking 2 gelcaps a day for more than a year now. I have no way to tell it works as it is supposed or not because what am I supposed to measure anyway? I don't necessarily have any health issues, but I don't know that it is because of it."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
retnavygirl
fromPennsylvania
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent
 November 19, 2013
"Great price works great. Highly recommend better then regular fish oil."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
learningtoeathealthy
 November 19, 2013
"We like this easy way to get our nutrients without having to eat a lot of fish. One thing to note - take this right before you start eating or during your meal as it leaves an aftertaste if taken after you have eaten."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
twinsdad
fromIowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil
 November 15, 2013
"I am not sure about the Krill oil benefits of this product but I can tell you that it does leave me with belching fish oil and I definitely do not like that taste in my mouth after the fact. I would have given it only 1 star but I am giving it the benefit of the doubt as to the Krill oils good benefits."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ireg
fromnortheast us
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great price, but now noticing fish burps ack!
 November 5, 2013
"We switched to this after using another brand for many years. At first it was great, especially the price. But now my husband wants to switch back - says it gives him terrible fish burps. And I'm noticing the same, only maybe not as severe. Has something changed?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Joanne917
Horrible fish after taste!!!!!
 November 1, 2013
"I ordered this instead of the Mega Red that I had been taking because it is a VitaCost brand and cheaper. I have had horrible fish aftertaste every day! The pills are bigger than Mega Red and I can't do anything to get rid of the fish taste. Going back to what works...MEGA RED!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulinPH
fromPinehurst NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great value
 October 24, 2013
"Dr. suggested taking a Krill Oil supplement. This is the best buy I found in local drug stores and on the net. Easy to use and place order, filled fast and no shipping. Will use again and again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rosie271
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Fishy Taste
 October 16, 2013
"I didn't expect to have a fishy taste in my mouth and fishy burps with this product. Krill oil is supposed to be way more digestible than regular fish oil. I have used Mercola fish oil and I did not have this problem at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mom22boys
fromKansas City
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
They smell
 October 11, 2013
"I'm sure these pills work great, but I cant deal with the smell and I burp up fish taste. Too bad I got such a big bottle, what a waste. I'm going back to Omega Red."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sensei07
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Excellent value
 October 2, 2013
"Have read so much positive information on krill oil and Astaxanthin, that it is a must-have supplement. Vitacost compares well on both price and quality when compared to competitors, so has been the choice for me so far. The 300 capsule bottles are great value, especially good when you consider that krill oil is highly resistant to rancidity unlike fish oil."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
birchcabin
Great price great product
 September 24, 2013
"works great for me, always like it when it is BOGO"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
healthyandwise
fromAnn Arbor, Michigan
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Maybe look elsewhere for omega 3s
 September 20, 2013
"At my last physical, my doctor observed that I was taking an omega 3 supplement (Vitacost Kriaxanthin) that had relatively little omega 3 component. I looked for higher omega 3 content and found it at Pipingrock.
Vitacost
150 servings, omega 3 130mg, EPA 50mg, DHA 20mg (~$40)
vs
Pipingrock
240 servings Omega 3 720 mg EPA 432 mg DHA 288 mg (~$11)
This makes the Pipingrock omega 3 supplement about 31 times more efficient a purchase (the cost per unit of omega 3 is about 1/30th that of the Vitacost omega 3). This takes into account the price per serving and the amount of omega 3 per serving.
It helps some that Vitacost has a buy one get the second one half off on this product but the Pipingrock omega 3 is still by far the better purchase if you're looking mainly for omega 3. The astaxanthin in the Vitacost omega 3 product does add a small amount of antioxidant but I get that in other products (including real vegetables and fruits (vs just from supplements))."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost KriaXanthin® Antarctic Krill Oil with Natural Astaxanthin -- 1000 mg per serving - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
GarpMcC
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Slightly deceptive labeling
 September 17, 2013
"These krill oil tablets are not 1000mg. They simply instruct you to take two capsules per serving, and I burp these things up worse than any fish oil. I'm starting to wonder if it's actually krill oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next