Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(481)
Aloe Vera(620)
Artichoke(24)
Astragalus(115)
Beet Root(29)
Berries(248)
Bilberry(109)
Boswellia(94)
Broccoli(17)
Chamomile(34)
Chia Seeds(490)
Chrysin(40)
Cinnamon(305)
Curcumin(133)
Dandelion(86)
Echinacea(172)
Elderberry(155)
Eleuthero(28)
Eyebright(43)
Fenugreek(123)
Feverfew(31)
Flaxseed(296)
Fo-Ti(55)
Garlic(378)
Ginger(175)
Ginseng(277)
Gotu Kola(37)
Green Tea(517)
Guggul(25)
Hawthorn(120)
Hibiscus(19)
Holy Basil(106)
Horsetail(40)
Kelp(204)
Kudzu(9)
Maca(348)
Mullein(25)
Mushrooms(324)
Neem(57)
Oregano(344)
Other Herbs(2,061)
Pine Bark(63)
Pygeum(13)
Raspberry(68)
Relora(32)
Rose Hips(28)
Rosemary(22)
Senna(40)
Skullcap(35)
Suma Root(10)
Tribulus(15)
Triphala(194)
Turmeric(862)
Uva Ursi(11)
Valerian(296)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Black Currant or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels

Natural source of both omega-3 essential fatty acid alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and omega-6 gamma linoleic acid (GLA). Promotes cardiovascular health.*. What is black currant oil? Black currant oil is extracted from seeds of the black currant plant a shrub with large maple-like leaves and purplish-black berries that grows throughout the midwestern U.S. Black currant oil is a natural source of omega-3 essential fatty acid (EFA) alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and it's also one of nature's best sources of omega-6 gamma linoleic acid (GLA). GLA is primarily present in plant fats including borage oil evening primrose oil and black currant oil. GLA cannot be synthesized by the human body and must be obtained through diet. How does black currant oil support health? Supplies EFAs which are beneficial for many aspects of health. GLA (found in black currant oil) is converted in the body to DGLA a precursor in the production of prostaglandins. Prostaglandins are hormone-like compounds involved in a variety of normal body functions. May support a healthy immune system.*. Supports joint comfort and mobility.*. Promotes cardiovascular health.*. Why choose Vitacost Black Currant Oil? Supplies 1000 mg of black currant oil per 1-softgel serving. Each bottle contains 120 servings. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
38 out of 41(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSanta Clara Utah
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 March 1, 2016
" si like the black current over the fish oils they dont make me sick like the fish oils "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAtlanta GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
faithful user
 January 27, 2016
" I have used this product for over 2 years. I also use the black seed oil and other product from Vitacost. The Products i order from vitacost always arrive on time and in perfect shape. I have tried many other products so i can get Free shipping and enjoyed and uses All of them. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
black current oil
 December 25, 2015
" excellent product !!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 June 11, 2015
" Great product, just as good as name brands at a much more economic price. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromColumbia, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Effective Formula
 April 12, 2015
" This is my first Vitacost brand purchase and I'm pleasantly surprised! I switched over from another brand because of cost. After six weeks of use, I noticed that my hairline was fuller and now blended with the rest of my hair. I hadn't originally purchased for that purpose, but was so pleased since my hairline has grown erratically since my mid 20's. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWaterford,Michigan
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Very good
 October 3, 2014
" My husband and I have added this to our daily vitamins. We have been reading about this product and want to improve our health. "
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best purchase ever
 April 22, 2014
" It helps my skin stay so soft and smooth. "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouthington, CT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent!
 March 29, 2014
" Very good quality and price "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKC, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product
 February 14, 2014
" This product works better for me than what my dr. recommended from another more expensive company. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 15, 2014
" I love this product...helps my skin. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product
 December 24, 2013
" Black Current Oil has no after taste and provides my body with the oils it needs. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromBurlington, Wi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Try it.
 April 25, 2013
" We have been taking this product and find that it does not interfere with anything else we take or eat. That is very important. We need to take this product longer to see more positive results. "
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChicago
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Product WORKS!
 March 11, 2013
" I feel so much better and feel fluidity in my joints -- that I didn't feel until taking Black Currant Oil by Vita Cost! "
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFort Worth, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good results!
 March 7, 2013
" I have been taking Evening of Primrose Oil capsules, then recently heard that Black Currant Oil is better. I believe that it might be better for my thin hair, and my nails are also growing stronger. "
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromS. Korea
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Vitacost Black Currant Oil is fresh
 December 9, 2012
" The product is as good or better than many I purchased at natural health stores for more money. "
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromLone Tree, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
You get what you pay for.
 July 23, 2012
" I ordered this and another Black seed oil (Black currant oil) from another website and to my surprise, Vitacosts version was obviously a more diluted form of Black currant oil. Black seed or Black Currant oil has a strong and pungent taste and may have been the reason why these capsules are both lighter in color which indicates some sort of processing or refining has taken place.
Another con for this product is the Gelatin Capsule its in.
This may be an elementary way to introduce Black Currant into your diet but I recommend getting it from another source for better results. "
+8points
17of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGrain Valley, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Black Currant Oil
 March 23, 2012
" I like the gel caps are so much easier to swallow. I'm still not sure if it is helping my hair. Haven't been taking it that long. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
great stuff
 January 17, 2012
" this product is helping my hair and skin alot. the texture of my hair feels better. i also take 5mg biotin along with it. i would recommend. the price is great, too. "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Will Purchase Again
 September 5, 2011
" Great dietary supplement. Due to FDA regulations I cannot make any specific claims. However, research "Black Currant Oil" to learn of it's healthy advantages. You may be pleasantly surprised! "
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChicago, IL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Effective Product Reasonably Priced
 May 22, 2011
" As with all NSI supplements, the Black Currant Oil is reasonably priced. According to Dr. Andrew Weil, black currant oil is an excellent adjunct to the diet to promote healthy hair, skin and nails. Since taking this product, along with biotin, I can definitely see improvement in all three. I will buy again. "
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 next