Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(468)
Aloe Vera(551)
Chia Seeds(464)
Cinnamon(244)
Curcumin(59)
Fenugreek(105)
Flaxseed(202)
Garlic(291)
Ginger(132)
Ginseng(221)
Green Tea(430)
Mushrooms(217)
Oregano(238)
Other Herbs(7,185)
Alfalfa(66)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(22)
Bacopa(23)
Banaba(12)
Basil(15)
Beet Root(21)
Berries(200)
Bilberry(95)
Borage(25)
Boswellia(68)
Broccoli(15)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(28)
Cacao(17)
Calendula(16)
Catnip(2)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(31)
Chickweed(12)
Chrysin(36)
Cloves(7)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(45)
Echinacea(141)
Eleuthero(21)
Eyebright(30)
Fennel(29)
Feverfew(25)
Fo-Ti(38)
Gotu Kola(32)
Guarana(25)
Guggul(23)
Hawthorn(101)
Hemp(1)
Horsetail(30)
Kava Kava(14)
Kelp(177)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(6)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(10)
Maca(325)
Melissa(8)
Mucuna(10)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(46)
Nettle(39)
Oat(23)
Osha(1)
Papaya(9)
Paprika(5)
Parsley(13)
Pepper(14)
Pine Bark(54)
Pygeum(9)
Raspberry(48)
Relora(23)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(14)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(30)
Shatavari(17)
Skin(16)
Skullcap(28)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(20)
Triphala(142)
Valerian(231)
Wild Yam(20)
Yarrow(6)
Yohimbe(5)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(532)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Black Currant or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels

Natural source of both omega-3 essential fatty acid alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and omega-6 gamma linoleic acid (GLA). Promotes cardiovascular health.*. What is black currant oil? Black currant oil is extracted from seeds of the black currant plant a shrub with large maple-like leaves and purplish-black berries that grows throughout the midwestern U.S. Black currant oil is a natural source of omega-3 essential fatty acid (EFA) alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and it's also one of nature's best sources of omega-6 gamma linoleic acid (GLA). GLA is primarily present in plant fats including borage oil evening primrose oil and black currant oil. GLA cannot be synthesized by the human body and must be obtained through diet. How does black currant oil support health? Supplies EFAs which are beneficial for many aspects of health. GLA (found in black currant oil) is converted in the body to DGLA a precursor in the production of prostaglandins. Prostaglandins are hormone-like compounds involved in a variety of normal body functions. May support a healthy immune system.*. Supports joint comfort and mobility.*. Promotes cardiovascular health.*. Why choose Vitacost Black Currant Oil? Supplies 1000 mg of black currant oil per 1-softgel serving. Each bottle contains 120 servings. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.618 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 34(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sallymydream
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best purchase ever
 April 22, 2014
"It helps my skin stay so soft and smooth."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eribolla1
fromSouthington, CT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent!
 March 29, 2014
"Very good quality and price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
homeskoolmom
fromKC, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product
 February 14, 2014
"This product works better for me than what my dr. recommended from another more expensive company."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
drbutterfly
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 January 15, 2014
"I love this product...helps my skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lori902
fromChicago, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Product
 December 24, 2013
"Black Current Oil has no after taste and provides my body with the oils it needs."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
FreeBird1
fromBurlington, Wi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Try it.
 April 25, 2013
"We have been taking this product and find that it does not interfere with anything else we take or eat. That is very important. We need to take this product longer to see more positive results."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shado2
fromChicago
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Product WORKS!
 March 11, 2013
"I feel so much better and feel fluidity in my joints -- that I didn't feel until taking Black Currant Oil by Vita Cost!"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
VI6369
fromFort Worth, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good results!
 March 7, 2013
"I have been taking Evening of Primrose Oil capsules, then recently heard that Black Currant Oil is better. I believe that it might be better for my thin hair, and my nails are also growing stronger."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bodyman47
fromS. Korea
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Vitacost Black Currant Oil is fresh
 December 9, 2012
"The product is as good or better than many I purchased at natural health stores for more money."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
HerbalFit
fromLone Tree, CO
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
You get what you pay for.
 July 23, 2012
"I ordered this and another Black seed oil (Black currant oil) from another website and to my surprise, Vitacosts version was obviously a more diluted form of Black currant oil. Black seed or Black Currant oil has a strong and pungent taste and may have been the reason why these capsules are both lighter in color which indicates some sort of processing or refining has taken place.
Another con for this product is the Gelatin Capsule its in.
This may be an elementary way to introduce Black Currant into your diet but I recommend getting it from another source for better results."
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YancyWalker
fromGrain Valley, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Black Currant Oil
 March 23, 2012
"I like the gel caps are so much easier to swallow. I'm still not sure if it is helping my hair. Haven't been taking it that long."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
albl
great stuff
 January 17, 2012
"this product is helping my hair and skin alot. the texture of my hair feels better. i also take 5mg biotin along with it. i would recommend. the price is great, too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JCFHW
fromAlexandria, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Will Purchase Again
 September 5, 2011
"Great dietary supplement. Due to FDA regulations I cannot make any specific claims. However, research "Black Currant Oil" to learn of it's healthy advantages. You may be pleasantly surprised!"
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jreb
fromChicago, IL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Effective Product Reasonably Priced
 May 22, 2011
"As with all NSI supplements, the Black Currant Oil is reasonably priced. According to Dr. Andrew Weil, black currant oil is an excellent adjunct to the diet to promote healthy hair, skin and nails. Since taking this product, along with biotin, I can definitely see improvement in all three. I will buy again."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromTustin, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Price
 May 9, 2010
"I can't say that I can feel the effects of black currant oil in general but I take it for the Omega 6s it provides. The price considering how many mg you get is great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kittank
fromTemple City, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 15, 2010
"Didn't notice any differences with this supplement."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sallylou
fromky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 December 16, 2009
"this is a great product for a great price. I love NSI products. You cannot beat the price"
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tourneaux
fromHouston, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Strong Nails!!
 July 19, 2009
"After taking the black currant oil daily for 2 months, my finger nails are growing long & not breaking or brittle the way they've been all my life!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mmztcass6
fromArizona
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This worked well for my needs...!
 July 5, 2009
"For some people looking to supplement with GLA oils for healthy benefits, I found this to work very well."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Black Currant Oil -- 1000 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BookMom
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Quality
 June 19, 2009
"I use it combination with fish oil, and my test results from the lab are great!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next