Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz

Pure and Natural. With Rosemary. Rich in Essential Omega-3 Fatty Acids Commonly Deficient in Animal Foods. Flax Oil is a rich source of Omega-3 (alpha-linolenic acid) and has been discovered to be essential to the health of animals and humans. Omega-3 fatty acids are purposely avoided in the production of commercial pet and animal foods as they may go rancid limiting the shelf life of these products. The result is a deficiency of these vital nutrients in these foods and ultimately in your pet. Barlean's has taken the extra steps necessary to preserve the integrity of flaxseed oil providing your pets with the valuable Omega-3 fatty acids they require for optimal health. Benefits found with flax and the essential fatty acids in the health of animals:. Important for growth and development. Improved immunity against infection. Increased quantity and quality of milk in lactating animals. Development of beautiful and lustrous sheen in animal coats. Improvement of dandruff and dry patchy skin. Improvement in inflammatory conditions. Increased bone strengthA lack of essential fatty acids in the diet may cause:. Impaired visual development. Impaired learning ability. Increased susceptibility to environmental toxins
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
32 out of 36(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dingding01
fromVancouver
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 20, 2014
"My cat loves it, no strong smell. I bought some other brands years ago, and my cat totally ignore his food, so I have to stop giving him. but now he loves his food. and good for his skin, obviously his scalp problem is getting better,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
epmarco
fromGeorgia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product
 April 13, 2014
"I put this on my dogs food and they both love it! After using this product for a few months along with another multivitamin I get from Vitacost, their coats are very soft and shiny."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2mutts4me
fromFalls Church, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
Dogs love it!
 November 25, 2013
"The top has a built-in nozzle that makes it easier to apply than an open bottle. My dogs, who are somewhat particular about what they eat, enjoy this on top of their food. I really like the idea of using a plant-based oil rather than fish."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthymama58
fromCape Cod Ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Sunny says, Good stuff! #Woof
 August 20, 2013
"I bought this for our dog Sunny and she loves it on her food. I notice that her fur is nice and shiny. She has allergies and sometimes scratches and I have noticed that she doesn't scratch as much since using this product. Sunny says, good stuff! #woof woof"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jjaed
Excellent anti-shed product
 July 27, 2013
"My dog is a heavy shedding animal and after one week on this product the difference was remarkable. I highly recommend giving it a try."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lulurock
Itchy dog?
 November 16, 2012
"I bought this product because my dog Maggie is plagued with the itchies. She is a rescued dog from Hurricane Ivan and her mottled skin tells a story of parasites and suffering. So, when she started to itch and nothing seemed to work, including supplements advertised on Internet for that very problem, I began making her dogfood supplement based on raw hamburg, cooked eggs and omega threes. I use this product and merely mix 1 teaspoon into her dry food. She was reluctant at first but eventually began eating it. It is pure and can do nothing but improve her coat and skin.Every oil and aromatic I have purchased through this site has been pure."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sinceyouasked
fromLa Jolla, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This stuff is great
 November 14, 2012
"I've tried several oils and foods with oils in it for our schnoodle, and nothing has worked until I tried Barlean's Flax oil. Our dog has the driest skin, with several food allergies and this stuff works, and works very quickly, within the 1st week his itching was almost gone."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RussAndTheDogs
My dog's coat is beautiful
 August 21, 2012
"I feed this to both of my dogs. The first (who eats everything) never even blinked when I added this do his breakfast. The second, (he's very picky) sniffed at it on the first two days, but he now eats it without any complaint.
I am absolutely amazed at how beautiful their coats became in just two weeks. They absolutely shine."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
zorro7945
fromEugene, OR
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Flaz oil for animals
 May 25, 2012
"My dog hated the taste. She refused everything I put it on. I have no way to judge its effectiveness since she refused to take any."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BananaLover
I am a satisfied customer
 January 21, 2012
"This product is very hard to find, virtually impossible. Vitacost carries it, the price is competive, and thankfully they usually offer free shipping with a minum order. I have no complaints."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jazmin
fromSanta Rosa, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
It may be good, but...
 December 31, 2011
"Sorry I hate to give bad reviews, but my cat won't touch his food even with half tsp mixed into it. Maybe if it tasted better I would give it 5 stars."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
frenchcreekbeekeepers
our cats weren't interested
 November 21, 2011
"I love shopping from Vitacost, and the consolation is that I will pass this on to friends to try on their pets, but my typically ravenous cat decided he would rather "starve" than eat his food drizzled with flax-oil. Our little female Russian blue also turned her nose. ... wish it was ok for human consumption, I would use it."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BiCostal
fromNew York, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Home Feeding
 May 24, 2011
"I home cook for my dogs. This is the perfect addition to their food plus vitamin supplements, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
focusgirl
fromFort Myers, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Really helps with shedding!
 May 14, 2010
"Helps with shedding on our 8 year old boxer. Can definitely tell when we run out."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3CKIDSMOM
fromMt. Pleasant, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
The dog LOVES it!!!
 February 19, 2010
"Purchased this product in an effort to improve our rescue puppy's skin and health. He loves it so much, I fear we may be creating a picky eater! LOL! The squirt top bottle makes it so easy and mess free to use! Definitely plan to purchase again and keep it in his daily regimen. Guess we both love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovemysadieandshilo
They love it
 June 14, 2009
"My dogs enjoy having this on their meal every day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bocki
fromtexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great stuff
 April 26, 2009
"my dog is a rescue and was in bad shape when he came to us. his coat was awful and his skin was try. i but him on the flaxseed oil and you want believe how shinny his coat is. he looks amazing now. I feed it to both of my dogs with their meal. its worth every penny. i love it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GoldyGold
High quality oils.
 March 25, 2009
"I have been purchasing Barleans products for quite a while. I never knew they had a version of omega 3 oil in a bottle for animals only because many dogs and cats including my own, don't really like the taste of the flax oil for humans. This is a good product from a high end manufacturer and I can only note that it should be refrigerated right away after receiving it to make it last longer."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cenypa
fromMacungie, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Product!
 January 28, 2009
"I bought it for my Yellow Lab. She's 8 years old and was shedding a lot. In two weeks, I've noticed the difference in her coat and the shedding is back to the normal level. I recommend this product…"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Barlean's Flax Oil for Animals -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doglover888888
fromRhode Island
Duration of use:30-60 days
great
 January 28, 2009
"This is a wonderful product that helps my dogs get the flax they need. It helps with there immunity, digestion and reduces shedding. They look and feel great. I have labrador's. best of luck!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next