Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz

Water Resistant (80 Minutes). Biodegradable. Gluten Free. No Parabens Phthalates or Animal Testing. 100% Vegetarian Ingredients. Broad Spectrum. This very emollient and botanically moisturizing sunscreen provides broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection as defined by the FDA. Made with preferred sunscreen ingredients this lotion is very water resistant (80 minutes) paraben free and fragrance free. Powerful antioxidant rich Green Tea and Vitamin E nourish skin while Aloe Vera and Chamomile moisturize and smooth. Biodegradable and gluten free formula.
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 12(75%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bisbeev
fromBisbee, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
happy with this sunscreen
 December 22, 2014
"This sunscreen feels like a moisturizer going on and does not need to be reapplied frequently. It is the best that I have found."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ruthfw
fromWestern Chicago suburbs
Age:35-44
EWG likes it, but hard to apply
 June 8, 2014
"This gets phenomenal ratings from the EWG, so it's very safe. It is, however, difficult to apply. I don't mind looking a little white after it's applied, but I had to fight to get it to rub into my skin. I'm going back to JASON."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
HawaiiMom
fromHawaii
Love!
 August 29, 2012
"This sunscreen is so nice, scores relatively low on the EWG sunscreen list, and protects without all the nasty chemicals without leaving you white. Rubs In easily and doesn't seem to stain."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liza47
Recommended by EWG!
 August 27, 2011
"One of the few sunscreens I could find recommended by the Ennvironmental working Group, and at a great price. Can't beat it!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
SaraV
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Thick white sunscreen
 August 3, 2011
"If you want good protection and don't mind having that "she just put on thick white sunscreen look", this is the product for you. I wish Vitacost sold Alba's old pineapple coconut SPF 15, it was their best sunscreen. This stuff is much to thick and white for my taste!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Fantastic Sunscreen
 June 26, 2010
"I love that this is unscented. I can apply plenty without getting a greasy feeling. In my opinion, applies easier than mineral sunscreen. This sunscreen beats the expensive department store brands. My whole family uses this all year long. We don't get sunburn while using this."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Unscented - really?
 June 23, 2010
"The product itself is fine...but the unscented label is misleading. It should say vomit - scented. I'm sorry to be so direct, but the smell of this lotion is terrible. And I am one who is pretty tolerant to gross things in general. Other than the horrid odor of vomit on my skin, the quality is fine, but I will not buy it again because of this terrible feature."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hawaiian
fromHawaii and California
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
The Best
 May 22, 2008
"Aloha,
I have been using Alba Sunscreen 15 or 30 for a number of years. I highly recommend their sunscreens.
Mahalo nui loa-"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kchealth
fromKansas city, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great taste
 August 13, 2007
"We put the sunscreen on before we went into the water park, Ocean's of fun. Too my surprise, we did not get sun burnt. Of course we did reply twice during the 4 hours there. I love this sunscreen because it works and it is fragrance free.
I recommend it.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peaches
Great sunscreen for dogs
 June 14, 2007
"My shar-pei has a pink nose and the vet recommended using some sort of sunscreen on it. This was the only sunscreen recommended by many different dog agencies. It seems to work very well for her."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Alba Botanica® Very Emollient Sunscreen SPF 30 Fragrance Free -- 4 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product