Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flaxseed or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)

A natural source of omega-3 fatty acids and fiber. Easy to use and great tasting!   What is Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed? Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed is a high-quality source of flaxseeds that can be used raw or cooked into bakery items such as muffins and breads. It’s cold milled meaning seeds are not crushed or ground but rather milled leaving as much natural oil as possible within cell walls. How does Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed support health? A good source of fiber and fat making it an ideal dietary addition for those wanting to maintain their current weight or for those engaged in healthy weight loss programs that include diet and regular exercise.* . Low in carbohydrates making it ideal for those limiting sugar and starch consumption. Supports the cardiovascular system.*. Maintains healthy blood pressure levels already within normal range.*. Supports healthy cholesterol and lipid levels already within normal range.*. Supports healthy blood sugar already within normal range.*. Supports the health of prostate tissue in men and breast tissue in women.*. Supports healthy regular bowel function.*. Why choose Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed? Easy to use! Sprinkle on foods or into beverages or use in recipes. 100% certified organic—better for you and the environment. Cold-milled to retain maximum nutritional value. Incredible value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease. 
Overall rating:
4.782 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(197 reviews) 138
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 197 reviews
5 Stars
165
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
191 out of 197(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Review 1 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
David1
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
great product
 May 14, 2013
"I am trying to naturally reduce my cholesterol, and so, have been eating Groats (from Vitacost) and sprinkling this flaxseed on the top. The seed adds a great, distinctive flavor that is different, but complements the taste of the Groats. Eating Groats every day can be a challenge in and of itself, so it is nice to introduce the seeds for flavor variations."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spirit507
fromIslamorada, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 April 16, 2013
"Excellent product. Mixes well with my protein shake. The resealable pouch is great for storage in the refrigerator for freshness."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Americo
fromRochester NY
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
great in smoothies
 April 15, 2013
"easy to add to my morning green smoothie"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
keifferr
 April 14, 2013
"will buy again, and what a deal. the savings and quality really impressed me. when i see the price in the grocery store compared to vitacost. and the taste, love it is a shake or mixed with oatmeal. good stuff"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lichi1244eva
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great value for a great product
 April 13, 2013
"This Vitacost-brand flaxseed was inexpensive, shipped quickly and was just as good as any of the more popular store-bought brands. I strongly recommend you save your money and order from Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cev12
Decent Flaxseed
 March 26, 2013
"Seems to compare, at a good price, to other flaxseed. And, it's organic!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lotsofenergy
Used For Years
 February 28, 2013
"The milled flax seeds are vacume packed and fresh. I keep the package in the freezer after opening to maintain freshness as flax seeds can turn rancid quickly. I mix a spoonful into my cooked oatmeal and sprinkle on salads."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mytoisurf
fromWIldomar, California
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
SImply the Best
 February 25, 2013
"Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed is incredibly fresh. As soon as you brake the vacuum seal on the package you'll note how fresh and well miled the flaxseed is. And as you know, flaxseed retains its maximum nutrients if it has been cold-milled and kept fresh."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shutter
fromTX
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Shutter
 January 18, 2013
"Its a fine product, but I got it to add to my morning veggie/fruit smoothie in the morning. It doesn't blend well and leaves residue along the blender container, even to the extent that it sticks and won't simply just rinse out. I'm was fine when added to things like cereal, salads, and other solid meal mixes, but not what for blended mixes. If you are wanting flaxseed added to a liquid mix find it a good flaxseed oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromFort Myers, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Using this is quick and easy.
 January 17, 2013
"I used to grind flax seeds to add to my shake weekly but the cold-milled flaxseed eliminates that grinding step and no messy cleanup required. My order came quickly and everything I ordered was there!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Lewis Labs Brewer's Yeast Buds -- 14 oz
4.7 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Techgal
fromNew York, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Arrived rancid
 January 11, 2013
"This product arrived rancid. Ordinarily I buy Bob's Red Mill, but I received this for free with another product. I now hesitate to order any Vitacost brand product and will be sticking with brand names that I know."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ROZJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent quality.
 December 29, 2012
"Tasty. Very good. Will buy again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FloridaGator
fromAlachua, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Grind it up and it goes on many foods!
 November 27, 2012
"Flaxseed has to be ground for all the health benefits, and this brand is the best. Can go in anything, soups, cookies, on cereal, pizza, etc. No one notices it's there, which makes it even better."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEBONAIR
fromSacramento CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Really good
 October 29, 2012
"This is my first Flaxseed purchase. I put it in my yoghurt and it has a great taste and texture."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeggieKaren
fromOrlando, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent product at a great price
 October 18, 2012
"This is an excellent flaxseed meal. It blends well with smoothies, has a mild flavor and provides great value for the dollar. I use it daily and heartily recommend it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jezbell
fromTerry, MS
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 October 6, 2012
"I feel that the product has added to the omega-3 good fats that I put into my smoothies each day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BabyTokki
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Flaxseed
 September 26, 2012
"I put 2 bananas, 1 spoonful of organic cacao powder (from Vitacost), 2 spoonfuls of this flaxseed, 2 cups of almond milk and mix them all together in the blender for my morning smoothie. I don't get hungry for 3 hours, and that's good. I think it's a healthy breakfast, and I'm happy!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
whirlledpeas
fromSo. Oregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Keeps things moving!
 September 21, 2012
"I put it in oatmeal, on salads, or anything else I can mix it into. Keeps me consistently regular, if you know what I mean!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raetta
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product! Great price!
 September 7, 2012
"I use this in all my smoothies for extra nutrition."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Organic Cold-Milled Flaxseed -- 15 oz ( 425 g)
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KarenSW
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Yummy & Healthy
 September 5, 2012
"I add this flax seed to my yogurt and not only does it taste good, but it helps regulate my digestive track big time at an awesome price. This product is a great buy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next