Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(574)
Algae(900)
Amino Acids(2,162)
Bee Pollen(331)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(104)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(190)
Choline(145)
CoQ10(2,675)
Collagen(339)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(443)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,767)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,677)
GABA(200)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(20)
Glycine(14)
HGH(48)
Iodine(58)
Krill Oil(771)
Lecithin(286)
Letter Vitamins(12,515)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(405)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(447)
Melatonin(1,244)
Minerals(8,984)
Multivitamins(13,083)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,326)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,420)
Propolis(85)
Pycnogenol(154)
Quercetin(139)
RNA/DNA(1)
Relora(2)
SAMe(626)
Silica(21)
Soy(81)
Spirulina(116)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Tryptophan or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules

Mood Relaxation Sleep. The essential amino acid L-Tryptophan helps support relaxation restful sleep and feeling better. It plays a part in the synthesis of both melatonin and serotonin hormones involved with mood and stress response. L-Tryptophan also supports immune functions because it is the body's precursor to the kynurenines that regulate immunity. If needed L-Tryptophan converts to niacin in the body which supports circulation a healthy nervous system the metabolism of food and the production of hydrochloric acid for the digestive system. Source Naturals L-TRYPOTOPHAN is extremely pure and is regularly tested to ensure the highest standards of quality.
Overall rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
frompeachtree corners, ga
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
works wonders
 May 6, 2016
" Since my son has been taking tryptophan he has slept better and has more focus in life "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
These are calming.
 March 1, 2016
" These help me sleep better. I do not like to take them during the day as they relax me so much I just want to sleep. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
great at night
 February 6, 2016
" I take 1000mgs every night before bed and made a real difference, I used to have problems going to sleep. Since I started taking these I can go to sleep in 20mins and sleep very comfy.
Supplemented with 500mgs L-tyrosine in the mornings, they help me sustain my balance "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromsan jose ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Uninterrupted sleep is priceless!
 January 25, 2016
" I'd never had a problem with falling asleep, but would often wake up between 3 a.m. and 5 a.m. I take three capsules at bedtime and most of the time, get a solid 7-8 hours uninterrupted sleep. During times of anxiety and stress, I'll still wake up but I seem to be able to fall asleep much more easily. I plan to keep a bottle of this on my nightstand ALWAYS! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMissoula, MT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great results
 January 7, 2016
" I use these at night as a sleep aid. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Source Naturals Tryptophan works well
 January 4, 2016
" Melatonin doesn't work well for my wife, this Tryptophan works well. it does have a small amount of iron though. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSparks, NV
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Provides a restful night's sleep
 July 16, 2015
" I take 3 capsules before retiring for the night. That helps me have a restful night's sleep. I especially like it because I have multiple allergies and it is free of the foods that I cannot consume. It is also free of starch, sugar, salt, preservatives, and artificial colors, flavors, and fragrances. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Helps me sleep through the night
 April 2, 2015
" I am 46 years old and very active (kickboxing, trailrunning and more) and had trouble (despite my physical tiredness) staying asleep. Melatonin didn't help...no matter how high of a dose I took.
Now that I found out about L-Tryptophan...I take 3 capsules with some water right before bedtime and don't wake up anymore until my alarm goes off. I wake up refreshed and ready for the day.
"
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
recommended
 September 10, 2014
" I started taking L-Tryptophan and glutamine before bedtime. I seem to sleep more 'efficiently' ( sleep approximately the same amount of time as before) but wake up with more energy that before I took them. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPalm Harbor, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Dosage Accuracy
 October 19, 2013
" Have tried many different brands of tryptophan, others are weak. Source Naturals (500 mg. caps) and Now (1000 mg. tablets) are reliable in regard to dose. "
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works great
 June 15, 2013
" I used tryptophan years ago. Then they took it off the market. I am so glad it is back. I have tried lots of other products for sleep and this one works for me. I am an insomniac and this is a safe way to quickly fall asleep. No hangover feeling the next day. I trust this brand. It is gluten free and that is essential for me. "
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSeattle Wa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good sleep aid
 April 18, 2013
" I use 2 capsules at night before bed. great to help relaxing. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSalem, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Benefits
 March 26, 2013
" Both my husband and my daughter use this product as a sleep aide and are very happy with the results. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
natural relaxant
 September 27, 2012
" This is a great natural relaxant..it takes the edge off! I have to be careful because sometimes it can make me sleepy. I take one in the morning, then take 1 or 2 at night. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFairfield. CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This is a "life saver"
 August 22, 2012
" I have no problem going to sleep at night, but I usually wake up between 1 and 2am. Thats when I stuggle to get back to sleep. This helps me drift to sleep with NO drowiness when I have to get up! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromLincoln NE
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
for better sleep
 May 2, 2009
" I take this for increased Seritonin production which improves sleep. I've had modest improvement in sleep. Although I prefer Meletonin before bedtime, it's good to take both together. My sleep is inconsistent so I don't always sleep the same so, therefore, I cannot accurately say if Tryptophan has all the benefits I'd hoped, but I take it knowing it also cannot hurt. Doctors' I spoke with said the same; it cannot hurt. L-Tryptophan is a good product and can be utilized for whatever health benefit the user desires. "
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouth Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Product!
 March 4, 2009
" I have nothing to compare this to since it's my first experience with amino acid supplements. However, after 7 pregnancies and 6 children, I have suffered a great deal with poor sleep habits. It's an hour or THREE to fall asleep, then up a few times through the night and once I'm disturbed from sleep, I am unable to return no matter how much I relax or try again. My first night with this product, I don't even remember falling asleep. I just know that I was sleep and sleeping good and I was absolutely amazed when I awoke in the morning at 7am! One caution: if you don't go straight to bed and try to fall asleep after you take these, they will only make you relax and you will not be able to go to sleep for several hours later. USE AS DIRECTED: "within 30 minutes of going to bed." I will continue to use until I am well again. "
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
9 out of 9 recommend this product