Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(491)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,418)
CoQ10(2,286)
Coconut Oil(3,020)
EFAs(3,305)
Fish Oil(1,430)
Iron(506)
Krill Oil(708)
Magnesium(1,618)
Melatonin(982)
Multivitamins(10,626)
Omega-3(4,619)
Algae(716)
Bee Pollen(259)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(82)
Chitosan(39)
Chlorella(127)
Choline(123)
Collagen(202)
Colostrum(170)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(363)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(154)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(33)
Iodine(40)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(191)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(308)
Lycopene(89)
MSM(369)
NADH(44)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(68)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(73)
Yeast(69)
Probiotics(4,660)
SAMe(534)
Spirulina(78)
Vitamin A(127)
Vitamin B(4,231)
Vitamin C(2,575)
Vitamin D(2,248)
Vitamin E(456)
Vitamin K(241)
Whole Foods(1,139)
Zinc(332)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Tryptophan or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules

Mood Relaxation Sleep. The essential amino acid L-Tryptophan helps support relaxation restful sleep and feeling better. It plays a part in the synthesis of both melatonin and serotonin hormones involved with mood and stress response. L-Tryptophan also supports immune functions because it is the body's precursor to the kynurenines that regulate immunity. If needed L-Tryptophan converts to niacin in the body which supports circulation a healthy nervous system the metabolism of food and the production of hydrochloric acid for the digestive system. Source Naturals L-TRYPOTOPHAN is extremely pure and is regularly tested to ensure the highest standards of quality.
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 17(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solstice
fromPalm Harbor, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Dosage Accuracy
 October 19, 2013
"Have tried many different brands of tryptophan, others are weak. Source Naturals (500 mg. caps) and Now (1000 mg. tablets) are reliable in regard to dose."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blondrenee
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works great
 June 15, 2013
"I used tryptophan years ago. Then they took it off the market. I am so glad it is back. I have tried lots of other products for sleep and this one works for me. I am an insomniac and this is a safe way to quickly fall asleep. No hangover feeling the next day. I trust this brand. It is gluten free and that is essential for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
patougwen
fromSeattle Wa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good sleep aid
 April 18, 2013
"I use 2 capsules at night before bed. great to help relaxing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leenie62
fromSalem, Oregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Benefits
 March 26, 2013
"Both my husband and my daughter use this product as a sleep aide and are very happy with the results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kiki1
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
natural relaxant
 September 27, 2012
"This is a great natural relaxant..it takes the edge off! I have to be careful because sometimes it can make me sleepy. I take one in the morning, then take 1 or 2 at night."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthyph
fromFairfield. CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This is a "life saver"
 August 22, 2012
"I have no problem going to sleep at night, but I usually wake up between 1 and 2am. Thats when I stuggle to get back to sleep. This helps me drift to sleep with NO drowiness when I have to get up!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
avidrunner
fromLincoln NE
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
for better sleep
 May 2, 2009
"I take this for increased Seritonin production which improves sleep. I've had modest improvement in sleep. Although I prefer Meletonin before bedtime, it's good to take both together. My sleep is inconsistent so I don't always sleep the same so, therefore, I cannot accurately say if Tryptophan has all the benefits I'd hoped, but I take it knowing it also cannot hurt. Doctors' I spoke with said the same; it cannot hurt. L-Tryptophan is a good product and can be utilized for whatever health benefit the user desires."
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheLateNighter
fromSouth Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Product!
 March 4, 2009
"I have nothing to compare this to since it's my first experience with amino acid supplements. However, after 7 pregnancies and 6 children, I have suffered a great deal with poor sleep habits. It's an hour or THREE to fall asleep, then up a few times through the night and once I'm disturbed from sleep, I am unable to return no matter how much I relax or try again. My first night with this product, I don't even remember falling asleep. I just know that I was sleep and sleeping good and I was absolutely amazed when I awoke in the morning at 7am! One caution: if you don't go straight to bed and try to fall asleep after you take these, they will only make you relax and you will not be able to go to sleep for several hours later. USE AS DIRECTED: "within 30 minutes of going to bed." I will continue to use until I am well again."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Source Naturals L-Tryptophan -- 500 mg - 120 Capsules
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9 / 5
9 out of 9 recommend this product