Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop EPA & DHA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels

Premium-quality purified fish oil softgels provide an optimum ratio of omega-3 EPA and DHA. Ideal way to increase omega-3 consumption without having to eat more fish! What is Vitacost Mega EFA Omega-3 EPA & DHA? Vitacost Mega EFA Omega-3 EPA & DHA is a premium-quality purified fish oil supplement delivering high elemental levels of two of the most-studied omega-3 essential fatty acids: EPA and DHA.  . Omega-3 fatty acids are essential to the body and must be obtained through diet. Fatty fish such as cod tuna and salmon are the best source but they can also be found in some plant sources and in flaxseed walnuts and soybeans. Most people do not eat enough of these foods however to obtain optimal amounts of omega-3 nutrients. In this case taking a supplement such as Vitacost Mega EFA may be beneficial.  . Unlike other low-cost low-grade fish oil supplements which may contain traces of dioxin mercury PCBs and other environmental contaminants Vitacost Mega EFA has been molecularly distilled to guarantee the freshest purest product. Mega EFA also contains a higher milligram-per-serving amount of omega-3 fatty acids than other brands with 800 mg of EPA and 400 mg of DHA in each two-softgel serving.  . How does Vitacost Mega EFA Omega-3 EPA & DHA support health? EPA and DHA are well known for their cardioprotective properties their ability to maintain healthy cognitive function their potential to support healthy moods and their positive impact on joint comfort and flexibility*. Higher blood levels of omega-3 essential fatty acids including EPA and DHA are associated with a healthier mood*. Why choose Vitacost Mega EFA Omega-3 EPA & DHA? Provides higher milligram-per-serving amount than other fish oil supplements (EPA = 800 mg and DHA = 400 mg—in each two-softgel serving). Easy-to-swallow softgels with pleasant strawberry flavor. Molecularly distilled to ensure mercury dioxins and PCB levels are well below industry standards. An economical and convenient way to meet the American Heart Association’s recommendation to increase daily omega-3 fatty acid consumption. Contains 120 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(1037 reviews) 698
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,037 reviews
5 Stars
779
4 Stars
176
3 Stars
38
2 Stars
13
1 Star
31
967 out of 1,037(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yellownape1
fromHighlands, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
best purchase
 November 12, 2008
"Great product. I also give it to my dog. No after taste. Has the highest EPA and DHA."
+11points
27of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YouOnlyLiveOnce
fromPG County, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Omega is the Best!
 September 20, 2014
"I give my Rottweiler Salmon Oil in his food daily. He has the best coat ever! It is shiny and lustrous. Then I thought, "Hey, why am I not taking this daily also?" So I bought this product and love it. My skin and hair have a natural sheen and it's great. I love that this product is not fishy. When you open the bottle you get a hint of strawberry and also when you swallow it. There's no after taste at all. This is my second bottle and there will be a third and a fourth, etc."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NJmam
fromDE
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Very good product
 September 17, 2014
"Fish oil is not a super-complicated product. I like this because it meets all the requirements: balance of active ingredients, amount of ingredients, quality, and cost. Because you get so much in a single softgel, I only have to take two-a-day instead of three or four."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ASLKDJFOANWE
fromKansas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 September 12, 2014
"I notice a strawberry aftertaste if I take it during the day. I store my tabs in the freezer and take them before bed; this seems to eliminate any aftertaste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromMorrisville, VT
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Best product for the price!
 August 27, 2014
"A major product of mine for years, works well, no fishy aftertaste and as with so many Vitacost products, a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Burke
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Mega efa is great!
 August 12, 2014
"This is a great product that I use everyday."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kirk9
fromfl
Age:75+
Gender:Male
excellent product
 August 10, 2014
"the amount of DHA in it makes it valuable.
potent and powerful. good going vitacost!!!!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dollylolly
fromBeaumont, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Really happy
 August 4, 2014
"I tried another O3 supposedly better and didn't see a difference. I like this and if it isn't broken I'm not going to fix it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YogaGurl
fromMidwest, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
High quality, low price!
 July 31, 2014
"Vitacost fish oil are incredible! The strawberry flavor added prevents repeating and the coating makes it silky smooth so swallowing is a lot easier. A great choice for anyone looking to add fish oil to their regime."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
seajay
I buy solely on cost, and that is why I bought thi
 July 15, 2014
"I buy solely on cost, and that is why I bought this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wancaril
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good balance of EPA to DHA
 July 12, 2014
"It was recommended that I look for a supplement that had twice as much EPA as DHA. This meets this requirement.
It is also not too expensive.
And I agree with all the reviews that state there is no fishy aftertaste. This is because it is molecularly distilled, I believe... tho' it does not state this on my bottle - it did mention this in the vitacost product details.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
redfeather1999
fromGulfport, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A fish oil with no fishy after taste
 July 4, 2014
"I bought Vitacost Mega EFA & DHA Fish Oil - 2126 mg It has been a long time since I last bought fish oil and tried some other brands always with the after fishy taste, I started taking the Vitacost brand, and someone asked me, "do you get the after fishy taste", that's when I remembered why I hadn't bought any fish oil and I said, "NO, with these supplements I do not experience any after taste". I take the recommended 2 pills and have no problems."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shutterbug
fromNew Jersey
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Mega EFA is a mega dose
 July 1, 2014
"I like this for a number of reasons. First of all you get huge doses of Omega-3, EFA and DHA in one pill. Also the taste is not bad at all, maybe because of the strawberry flavor. Although the strawberry is very faint. Finally I also like it because you do not get the normal fish oil burps."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sloflo1
fromDetroit, Mi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 June 30, 2014
"Excellent product @ a great price!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrapin
fromPetaluma, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Double Strength Omega-3!
 June 17, 2014
"Can't do much better than VitaCost's higher potency fish oil product; don't have to take as many softgels as other, "weaker," competitors, and the source, sardines and anchovies, are quite low on the food chain in the ocean, a good thing relative to ocean "pollutants."
Nice fruit flavor, too.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BakerBabe26
fromMontreal, Quebec, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Met expectations and more - really good product
 June 14, 2014
"Same comments as Crosswalks and Nanaz - easy to take, nice strawberry smell, no fishy burps, great price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Naturalisc
fromMission, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Wonderful
 June 12, 2014
"I love these Omega 3 supplements!!!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GeeksterInSF
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Can live w/out flavors
 June 11, 2014
"I know there are vegetarians like me who don't care for eating fish and this is a good way for them to not have their (fish) cake and not eat it too. But can we lose the flavors? Why does everything from yoghurt to tea to chocolate have to be infused with every berry/fruit flavor known to man? Give it to me straight, I'm an adult and can pop a pill w/out being traumatized. Thank you."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crosswalks
fromScottsdale, AZ
Great fish oil supplement
 June 10, 2014
"No burps, no fishy after taste and easy to swallow. Thanks, Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Mega EFA® Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
strega
 May 29, 2014
"Good quality ,best value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 35 next