Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Acai Berry(465)
Aloe Vera(555)
Astragalus(101)
Chia Seeds(450)
Cinnamon(265)
Curcumin(71)
Fenugreek(97)
Flaxseed(226)
Garlic(294)
Ginger(138)
Ginseng(230)
Green Tea(455)
Mushrooms(231)
Oregano(267)
Other Herbs(7,224)
Alfalfa(67)
Amla(6)
Anise(5)
Arjuna(5)
Artichoke(21)
Bacopa(26)
Banaba(12)
Basil(17)
Beet Root(23)
Berries(209)
Bilberry(100)
Bioperine(12)
Borage(25)
Boswellia(73)
Broccoli(16)
Buchu(1)
Burdock(33)
Calendula(18)
Camu Camu(10)
Catnip(2)
Catuaba(9)
Chamomile(36)
Chrysin(34)
Cloves(9)
Comfrey(5)
Copaiba(1)
Damiana(24)
Dandelion(67)
Dong Quai(46)
Echinacea(147)
Elderberry(107)
Eleuthero(23)
Eyebright(35)
Fennel(31)
Feverfew(26)
Fo-Ti(40)
Gotu Kola(33)
Guarana(27)
Guggul(22)
Hawthorn(103)
Hemp(3)
Hibiscus(11)
Horsetail(32)
Kava Kava(16)
Kelp(174)
Koflet(3)
Kudzu(5)
Larch(2)
Lomatium(11)
Maca(375)
Melissa(9)
Mucuna(11)
Mullein(22)
Myrrh Gum(10)
Neem(49)
Nettle(39)
Oat(26)
Osha(1)
Papaya(96)
Parsley(13)
Pine Bark(59)
Pygeum(10)
Raspberry(54)
Relora(24)
Rose Hips(24)
Rosemary(15)
Sage(5)
Seaweed(10)
Senna(33)
Shatavari(17)
Skullcap(30)
Thyme(10)
Tribulus(19)
Triphala(161)
Valerian(244)
Wild Yam(29)
Yarrow(7)
Yohimbe(9)
Yucca(2)
Turmeric(581)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Slippery Elm Bark or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges

Natural Remedies since 1847. Healing Protective. A Sound Remedy. A source of oral relief since 1847 our original Slippery Elm Lozenges deliver healing protective natural comfort to the throat and mouth without menthol – and they’re vegan-friendly! Ulmus Fulva? That's A Mouthful. Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges have been providing relief to singers speakers salespeople and other vocalizers since 1847. Made from the inner bark of the Slippery Elm tree (ulmus fulva) these dependable demulcents soothe the tissues of the mouth and throat and restore the voice without the dulling effects of menthol. Try them - you'll soon be singing our praises. Trusted by tenors teachers tour guides and other types who trill talk and testify Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges speed relief to the throat and mouth. They're also free of preservatives gluten lactose and sodium making them the all-vegetable remedy of choice for vegan vocalists. Dissolve one in your mouth before you sing talk or use your voice; take another one afterward to soothe the membranes and heal any oral abrasions.
Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
10 out of 13(77%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Review 1 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Filed With Sorbitol
 July 25, 2014
"Why do they claim free of this and that, yet add sorbitol, which is terrible............"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rose123
fromNew Bern, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
So soothing..
 February 24, 2013
"Excellent for soothing a dry irritated throat. In the cold Winter months with dry forced air heat on, my throat often feels dry and irritated. These lozenges melt in my mouth, soothe my throat, and I like the fact that they don't taste too sweet ...just right."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lassie1
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Wonderful Product
 February 22, 2013
"I can always count on Thayers to provide a product that really works! Thayer's Slippery Elm Lozenges Original provide relief for dry throat, and, when I feel a cold coming on I simply pop a lozenge in my mouth...soooo soothing. When I feel a cold coming on, I use the lozenges and often a full blown cold never materializes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NumberOneGrannie
fromDownRiver, MI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Slippery Elm Is Excellent
 January 12, 2013
"I actually pop a tablet in my mouth to suck on when I got to bed every night because as soon as I lay down my sinuses begin to drain and then I start to cough which terribly interupts my sleeping. The tablet lasts the whole night and coats my throat just like slippery elm is suppose to."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilian
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Wonderful! Just Wonderful!
 August 22, 2009
"Slippery Elm has a long history of being used for soothing tissue, and it works. Bravo for the simple old school. Elm is drugless, sugarless, effective, and tastes good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ttttterry
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Unexpected benefit
 June 15, 2009
"I purchased this to soothe a throat irritated by constant coughing and post nasal drip. It did help somewhat. However, more interestingly, it seemed to loosen up mucus, allowing me to feel air in sinuses and reducing post nasal drip.
Please note that these are not like a cough drop. The consistency is rather fiber-y. However, they taste fine."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ween
Best product for a sore throat
 September 10, 2007
"Slippery elm is the most soothing product I've ever used for a sore throat."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Numberoneson
 July 5, 2007
"My mother is confined to a nursing home and spends a great deal of time in bed. Slippery elm seem to be the only product that soothes the tickle in the back of her throat and allows her to get a decent night's sleep."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mintpatty
Great Stuff
 June 13, 2007
"Best product around for soothing a sore throat. My brother is a smoker so I've got him using it, and it's made a great difference for him. He had his throat scoped and was told it looked like a peeled banana! Not any more...it's all healed!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
tortoise
Not Worth Trying
 June 11, 2007
"This product tasted stale and unpleasant. It did not coat my throat and was not soothing. Since this product did not do anything to soothe my irritated throat, I would not recommend it to others."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Thayers Slippery Elm Lozenges Original -- 150 Lozenges
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
2 out of 3 recommend this product