Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop SAMe or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs

With 400 mg Active S-Adenosyl Methionine Per Tablet. Pharmaceutical Grade. Enhances Mood & Neural Function. Promotes Joint Comfort & Mobility. Supports Liver Health & Detoxification. Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 contains 400 mg of active SAMe in each tablet. Doctor's Best utilizes only the highest quality Italian SAMe available on the market. This ensures that you receive the most potent SAMe product with the highest percentage of the active SS form per serving bar none. S-Adenosyl Methionine (SAMe) is derived from the amino acid methionine and is one of the most important methyl donors in the central nervous system. Methylation (donation of methyl groups) is an essential process in ensuring the proper function of a number of organ systems. SAMe is involved in numerous biochemical reactions in tissues including the liver joints and brain. SAMe is also required for the biosynthesis of critical neurotransmitters and hormones. Supplementing with SAMe. The manufacturing process of SAMe yields two forms the SS and the RS isomers. The SS isomer is the active form that mediates biochemical activity in the human body where as the RS form is considered to be biologically inactive. The Italian SAMe used in Double-Strength SAMe 400 is processed to yield the highest available percentage of the active pure SS form on the market. SAMe and Joint Function. SAMe may enhance cartilage protection and promote the synthesis of proteoglycans essential components of connective tissue. Clinical studies show an ability of SAMe to enhance mobility and movement and promote joint comfort. SAMe and Neural Health. SAMe-catalyzed methylation reactions promote the synthesis of neurotransmitters which have the potential to promote enhanced mood. SAMe may also upregulate the production of phosphatidylcholine supporting cognitive function. SAMe and Liver Function. SAMe enhances liver synthesis of glutathione an antioxidant. Glutathione promotes detoxification and liver protection. Studies show SAMe may protect liver tissue from injury caused by a number of toxins.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 44 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
41 out of 44(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Review 1 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kitamon
fromEastern NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product
 May 29, 2013
"Great product. My preferred source of SAME. Works with my other joint supplements well & boosts mood too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MammaGeek
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Best value, great product
 April 28, 2013
"I've been buying Doctor's Best SAMe from vitacost for years. This is a great product and vitacost has the best price around."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LB53
fromOceanside, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Sam e
 April 1, 2013
"I find this helps especially during the winter months for me. Very effective product and worth the money!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gin55
fromCanada
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Very good product, I am very satisfied
 December 15, 2012
"I had no side effect which I had with other product. Very good product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AUboy
Why pay more
 September 17, 2012
"This product is priced far below other quality products. Why pay more?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suezie
fromRI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent product f/pain
 February 7, 2012
"took it for 90 days...stopped to see if difference....MAJOR...will continue as long as I can afford it....price is VERY reasonable!!!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vienne
fromWest Coast
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good + Bad
 October 1, 2011
"Excellent product, good to know something is out there in the strength needed.
Packaging is extremely wasteful. Unless the enteric coating is very sensitive to humidity, I'd MUCH rather have these in a jar than in the bubble packs.
"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grannygage
fromWashington State
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best Buy on SAMe
 April 14, 2011
"Doctor's Best really is the best. They only use the highly assimilable form of SAMe so you really get 400mgs of it in every tablet. I have compared with other brands, this stuff works the best for me."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Panamajudy
fromHouston, TX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Value
 April 3, 2011
"I take this every day and like the low price offered at Vitacost"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
mtkkicj
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
doesn't seem to work
 January 14, 2011
"I buy these for my mom, i have had her try multiple brands over the past 3 years. This was the most recent purchase and for the first time she said, "they don't seem to work like the other ones I've tried, please order me a different kind"."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tomapio
fromSantiago, Chile
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Slooow, but very good.
 July 29, 2010
"It took me 34 calendar days to finally get the product (i live in Chile), but it was totally worth it. It's an excellent product and thanks to Vitacost i was able to get it with a 50% discount. The best deal ever!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
samaz
Speedy and Professional
 June 23, 2010
"This transaction was great - speedy and exactly what I ordered."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dana007
fromorlando Florida
Age:45-54
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
5 star Sam-e
 May 16, 2010
"This is far the best Sam-e I have ever used.
THANK YOU
THANK YOU
THANK YOU!!!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mybabymax
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
the most effective sam-e i have tried
 December 5, 2009
"The is at least the 4th brand of sam-e i have used. It is the most effective I will continue to buy this product from Vitacost. It really does give a boost of daily positive energy and helps those joints too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
KIMEL
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg -
 September 7, 2009
"I like this product because it does not have "extra" ingredients like calcium or vitamins. This makes it possible for me to take it first thing in the morning and it does not upset my stomach or have poor interactions with my other medications."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Naenae610
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Disappointing Performance
 May 22, 2009
"I have been using Sam e with great results for a number of years. However, I usually take Nature's Made. I decided to try Dr.'s Choice because of the price difference. Never again! I could barely tell that I had taken the product. I felt 100 times better on Nature's Made vs Dr.'s Choice. No comparison!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitality
fromNew Jersey
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
SAMe 400 Product Review
 March 20, 2009
"I find that Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tablets have had some positive effect on mood and productivity. This is because I stay focussed, organize priorities better and do not deviate from them. I will order them again. Thank you also for the quick turn around time to delivery."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
plushbee
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
all sam e isn't the same
 March 3, 2009
"I switched from drs best sam e to naturemade and it did not seem as effective so i called naturemade customer service
and found out it had 65 percent
s,s and 35 of the ineffective kind of sam e. I believe with doctors best
you have a higher percentage.
I always thought nature made had the best but i was wrong and felt the difference in two days.
"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
noogies
fromtexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
good product
 March 3, 2009
"bought this for a family member, they feel like it gave good results better than another brand that they tried before"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Doctor's Best Double-Strength SAMe 400 -- 400 mg - 30 Enteric Coated Tabs
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
louisa
fromny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Helps with mood however,
 December 31, 2008
"I have been taking this SAMe for a few weeks and, I do notice an improvement in my mood. However, it does upset my digestion so, I take it an hour after eating (not on an empty stomach first thing in the morning). May not be as powerful this way but, seems to work for me."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next