Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz

New & Improved. Very Emollient. Natural Protection. Water Resistant. Tear Free. Paraben Free. UVA/ UVB Protection. Very emollient and botanically moisturizing natural sun protection.  .  
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 25(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Linton
fromColorado
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:61-180 days
Love this product
 September 8, 2011
"This is my favorite sunblock for the whole family. We live at 8000 feet, where the sun is strong. This stuff meets all my criteria: effective, low on the harsh chemicals, smells great, goes on smoothly, no white finish on the skin, and best of all, the value on VitaCost can't be beat. I buy in bulk and get free shipping. My one complaint: Vitacost has too much packaging. Each tube is shrink wrapped. Ditch the plastic, guys, and this would be an unqualified five-star review."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1FROG
fromSwansboro NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Does the job!
 June 26, 2011
"This protects the skin even when going in and out of the pool for hours. Worked very well on our 5-year old grandson. Soon our 4-year old grandson will visit and he'll need coverage while outside and in the pool. It takes a bit of time to get it rubbed on, but does not have unhealthy contents like some lotions and sprays advertised for babies and children."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nayknee
fromFlorida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Works great!
 June 19, 2011
"Smells good, works very well, no nasty chemicals!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taters
fromWashington State
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
A Big Relief
 July 23, 2010
"I'm so glad this product works so well... I felt guilty about using the regular types of sunblocks, but was afraid to lose their effectiveness. This product works great, and is easy on my kids' sensitive skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
musiccitymama
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love this stuff!
 July 22, 2010
"I use this all summer on my kids for going to the pool, playing outside, etc., and it is very effective. It has a great smell, isn't oily, and stays on even after an hour of swimming. We go to the pool regularly during the summer, and no one has been sunburned yet. I stock up on this every summer!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Effective but "emollient"
 July 21, 2010
"I like buying products for kids because manufacturers are even more careful about not using potentially harmful ingredients. I tried this one because I thought "emollient" meant that it sinks into your skin and doesn't feel greasy. That's what I hate about wearing sunscreens and sunblocks - that oily, dirty feeling. This one doesn't eliminate that problem, it does feel oily, but I found that it was helpful for fading some old spots on my face that I thought were permanent, and this in the high solar glare of June-July. So I guess my other sunscreen was just not as effective. There is some stinging in my eyes, not sure what ingredient is causing this, either as it evaporates in the heat or perhaps as I sweat on my forehead."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lunastar
fromPhila
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great, but be careful on the face
 June 24, 2010
"I bought this for my 17 month old. It works great on his body, but I had problems using it on his face. I applied it very carefully, but when he was playing out in the sun, it melted into his eyes- he was miserable and rubbing them like crazy. I wish I could find a natural "stick" sunblock...I havven't yet & have to use coppertone for his face."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
RSHinFlorida
fromPalm City, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Don't bother because...
 May 12, 2010
"if you are purchasing this product because it is organic and all natural then there are better safer products out there. Alba leads the consumer to believe that it does not have any harmful ingredients but this sunscreen contains oxybenzone, which is a harmful chemical. That said, it does spread well, smells great, has a good price point, but it is only average in effectiveness."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shoremom
super sunscreen
 May 9, 2010
"This goes on great for kids & adults including my 2 year old who has sensitive skin. Helpful product at a great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cajac
great product, great price
 May 7, 2010
"If you are looking for an all natural sun screen for kids, this works great. It sells for double if you go direct to the manufacturer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ersla
Great Product!!
 March 17, 2010
"I ordered this for my 8 yr old son to use on our trip to the Mexican Riviera. My son has very fair skin and has a tendency to burn quite easily. I applied this every morning, even his face, and never had to reapply. Fabulous product, went on easy, non-greasy, didn't make him look white like others can, and had a nice subtle scent to it, which I can't stand anything with a "synthetic" smell to it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LRHM
The Best Kids Sunscreen
 September 26, 2009
"My daughter has very sensitive skin and this Alba sunscreen in the only sunscreen I've found that doesn't give her a rash. Not to mention she can swim all day in the sun and not get a sunburn (normally I reapply once during the day but I've forgotten before and still no sunburn). This was the best price I've seen, so I bought a couple of them to stock up and then the price per bottle with shipping was still cheaper than any I've seen locally. Can't beat that!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
northshore
fromSalt Lake City, Utah
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
wonderful sunscreen
 July 25, 2009
"I feel so good about using this sunscreen for my children and myself. It smells wonderful, and works wonderfully. My children have only tanned using this product. I will keep this on hand year-round!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jacksmom
fromWest Virginia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great Product
 May 26, 2009
"This product is fantastic. My son is allergic to absolutely everything and all previuolsy used sunscreens have caused him to break out. We used this with no irritation at all. It does sting if it gets into the eyes so be careful of that, but otherwise it is great! I recommend it enthusiastically!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shelibelli
fromSan Diego,Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love it
 November 24, 2008
"It's a great sunscreen even for adults. I like the fruity smell(it's not strong). It protects my skin all day. I never get burned with it on. It's not greasy. It's natural."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet777
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Smells great
 September 5, 2008
"My children have sensitive skin and would breakout from popular store brands. This smells great and and they do not have any reactions from it. A little goes a long way, use sparingly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yogimum
fromaz
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Alternative
 August 30, 2008
"Great alternative to drug store bought sunblocks. We live in AZ, where sun seem to never never never take a break.... I bought it for my 2 toddlers. Both my kids and I love it for the smooth application without greasy feelings. The lotion is lighter, almost heavier mousse texture and it absorves into your skin and feels so light (very important here in AZ) and smells really light and good too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MOMOLISA
fromATLANTA,GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good for Adults, too
 July 18, 2008
"I love this sunscreen because it smells so nice and does not sting my eyes.
This product is made for kids, but great for adults with sensitive skins like me.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
jmf0628
fromwilmington, de
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
still got sunburned!
 June 26, 2008
"I applied this sunscreen 30 minutes prior to going outside, then re-applied after an hour or so, but my daughter still ended up with sunburn. I love all the other Alba products I have used, will give this another shot."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alba Botanica Kids SPF 45 Sunblock -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SunnyDays
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
My toddler loves this Sunscreen
 June 26, 2008
"My toddler loves this sunscreen to be applied to her. The smell is fruity and the feel is rich and creamy. It goes on clear with no white residue. And it works. Wish it was a bigger bottle though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next