Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Whole Foods or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Greens Today Original -- 18 oz

Have You Had Your Greens Today?®. 4000 mg of Green Super Foods - Spirulina Broccoli Barley Grass & Wheat Grass. 1000 mg of Fiber - Flaxseed Rice Bran Apple FOS Vegetables Fruits Mushrooms Adaptogens & MORE! Powerful Nutrients. Greens Today® Original Formula is an unsurpassed advanced phyto-nutrient Superfood which supplies uniquely combined nutraceutical ingredients including Vitamins and Minerals Green Superfoods Fiber Herbs Vegetables and Fruits in an easy to mix delicious formula. Green Up Your Day! 
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
41 out of 50(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Review 1 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeggieLady2
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 May 21, 2014
"This has everything in one spoon. I put it in with some almond or coconut milk and flax seeds and chia and a banana or berries. Yum! And my body just soaks it up!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
patrick453
fromMineral Wells, Texas
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Awful fishy taste
 June 4, 2013
"Even mixed with Snapple tea, this stuff was awful tasting and didn't mix well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kungfu
fromBowie, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Outstanding!!
 May 27, 2013
"This product has a lot of nutrients needed to achieve optimal health. It has aided me in acheiving that as a health goal with a broad spectrum of greens, bee pollen and other nutrient recognized by nutritional science."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
grappler
Could not get the taste out of my mouth
 October 18, 2011
"Unfortunately I was unable to take Greens today for more than three days. I was very excited about this product and tried very hard to find creative ways to take Greens Today. The taste was horrible. I read the reviews before I purchased this product but was still willing to try it. I did find animal parade kid greenz chew-able which taste awesome."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tones
fromLongmont, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Better altneratives available
 May 10, 2010
"Not as good tasting as the Garden of Life varieties. Left substance at bottom that was hard to mix in."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Benefits2u
fromEdmond, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Won't Show Up In Your Urine As Other Supplements
 March 4, 2010
"I know, the title of this review is a little untoward but it's the truth. Virtually any vitamin I have taken winds up being eliminated through urination (bright green color) which tells me it's not being fully processed by my body. When I take greens today, I have noticed that there is no change in the color of urine which indicates to me that my body is properly processing it as any other whole food. I have been taking this for 3 years and highly recommend it for overall fitness."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
roweboat09
Did not work for me
 February 20, 2010
"I was impressed with the ingredient list on this so I tried it - had a bad reaction. I think it is the soy, as I have had similar reactions to multivitamin pills with soy in them. So if soy is a problem for you don't buy this. But if you're not sure it is worth a try as they seem to be good quality and Vitacost has a generous return policy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
tbaz
fromSan Francisco
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Sucralose
 February 18, 2010
"I wish I would've read the ingredients more closely, as I found once it arrived that it contained sucralose, a type of sugar. I didn't like the taste, but more importantly, because of headaches, I have taken sugar out of my diet, and I was disappointed to find it (unnecessarily) in this product.
I don't know why they couldn't have left the green taste green! Instead, they not only made it taste icky, but they also made it less healthful.
Will not buy again -- will go back to PerfectFood.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bravocompany
fromKentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent source of energy!
 February 15, 2010
"I have used these products for quite some time, I use the other formula that is for working out with weights. This item spicifically is excellent becuase of what you get in a daily dosage. I use it like a multi vitamin and I actually like the taste. Maybe one gets used to it after a while. It gives me a rush of energy as well. I used to give it to my oldest son before his High School Wrestling tournamnets and he said it also gave him an extra surge of energy. I took it before soccer games in the over 40 league with the same results."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KVNNOW
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 September 5, 2009
"This stuff is fantastic. I put it in a breakfast smoothie every morning, and don't get hungry again until late afternoon. Nutrition packed and a great value compared to other "green powder" products. It can really cut down on the amount of food you need to eat, while keeping you very well nourished."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BIANCAt
fromva
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
I LOVE IT
 March 9, 2009
"Taste great. I mix it with cold water and drink away. I purchase one for my mother also. I think I found a new love"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Juany75
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Tastes bad but oh so good for your body!
 February 4, 2009
"I agree with the reviewers on the taste but I have to advocate for this product. It has improved my overall health. Before taking greens today, I had no energy. Now I have increased energy and I feel great. Sure, the taste is bad but if you can just concentrate on the benefits; this is a worthwhile, quality product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anonymous
fromSeattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
There's better stuff out there...
 January 27, 2009
"I tried this product for 2 months and feel that it's a little overvalued for 2 main reasons. Firstly, when the product is refrigerated (as most vitamins are supposed to be), it settles in a very compact manner, yielding less. Instead of 30 servings, you actually get about 20. Secondly, I don't feel that the product really supports my system or well-being. I've tried other products (which I will go back to using) that seem to work better for me. In my opinion, the ingredients in Greens Today is lower quality as compared to others, and I can feel the difference. However, I don't find the flavor as offensive as others do; it's pretty neutral by my estimation."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marscha
fromDraper, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
taste disappointed
 January 6, 2009
"This product has everything going for it, except for the taste, almost to the point it makes me gag. I've tried it in several juices and water and actually prefer in water. I'm not sure if I'm going to buy this product again in the future unless they can make the taste more tolerable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sponguebob
fromNYC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Still my favorite
 November 26, 2008
"I don't know, recently the packaging is leaking or something. Last 3 containers were covered in powder, and this one a tiny bit under 18 OZ? This is STILL such a great product, god knows I'll still be buying it though. Just turned three friends on to the company. Hope they watch their QA/QC, since they're almost bound to experience growth when people will be cutting back on everything else?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hibba
fromCleveland
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 September 14, 2008
"The taste is hideous yet very effective. I now use this rather than a multi vitamin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrissy19
fromNEW JERSEY
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
GREAT PRODUCT!!
 August 11, 2008
"This is an amazing green powder. The taste is awful but it's so concentrated and so so good for you. I put water and a litle bit of organic lemonade in it to help the taste and sometimes a few berries. Can't stand the taste but will continue to use it for all its amazing benefits"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
evanoika
fromColorado
Drink your vitamins!
 June 26, 2008
"This is the best super food. You get ALL of the vitamins and nutrients you need in one product. I've been buying it elsewhere and spending A LOT more money!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
momritz
fromOhio
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Super yucky taste
 June 21, 2008
"I was really impressed with the ingredients and was looking forward to the benefits health wise. But I just couldn't drink it. I forced myself through it with water and then tried it with jucie and also with yogurt and fruit as a smoothie. All really really bad. I just couldn't do it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Greens Today Original -- 18 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fitnessqueen
fromSouth Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
So far so good.
 April 29, 2008
"I've only been taking for 2 weeks I take with 8 oz of water. I hold my nose to chug down because the smell and taste are terrible, but no pain no gain...right? I don't feel a difference yet, but I am taking because of all of the healthful benefits that are in just one scoop. I don't believe that regular multivitamin tablets have much of anything in them and don't believe they break down completely in our system not to mention they have fillers and who knows what else. My kids won't take it yet they don't like the smell, but they'll come around."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next