Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(498)
Amino Acids(1,322)
Calcium(3,472)
CoQ10(2,329)
Coconut Oil(3,173)
EFAs(3,336)
Fish Oil(1,463)
Iron(525)
Krill Oil(725)
Magnesium(1,671)
Melatonin(1,012)
Multivitamins(10,801)
Omega-3(4,669)
Algae(733)
Bee Pollen(270)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(135)
Choline(126)
Collagen(215)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(372)
DMAE(75)
EFAs(105)
EpiCor(30)
FOS(2)
GABA(158)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(38)
Iodine(41)
L-Lysine(144)
L-Theanine(198)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(221)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(321)
Lycopene(93)
MSM(371)
NADH(46)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(70)
Pycnogenol(134)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(78)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,784)
SAMe(542)
Spirulina(81)
Vitamin A(131)
Vitamin B(4,364)
Vitamin C(2,641)
Vitamin D(2,312)
Vitamin E(473)
Vitamin K(251)
Whole Foods(1,164)
Zinc(340)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Phytosterols - Plant Sterols or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets

Combination formula featuring a blend of natural plant sterols. What is Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol? Vitacost Phystosterol Complex is a dietary supplement featuring phytosterols which are natural components found in a number of vegetables. Beta-sitosterol is one of the most common dietary phytosterols (plant sterols) found and synthesized exclusively by plants.  . How does Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol support health? May support healthy cholesterol levels already within the normal limits when used twice a day in conjunction with a healthy diet and regular exercise.*. Why choose Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol? Provides a standardized blend of plant sterols. Supplies 240 tablets per bottle which is a great value when compared to other name brands. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.395 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
38 out of 43(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Review 1 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PocosDad
fromMid-Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This product works!
 August 21, 2014
"I've been taking the Phytosterol Complex for about a year and when I go to see my doctor, she always says something about how good my cholesterol profile looks. It's not magic, but a part of my daily health regimen."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nascarfan123
fromWesterly, RI
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
This produt is good, but tabs are very large.
 July 27, 2014
"Since the tabs are so large, they are hard to swallow, and tend to get stuck, in your throat. I now cut them in 4 pieces and take one after the other, but keep them in my mouth a few seconds, to let the sharp edges melt off. This seems to work better, but you still have to be careful. I wish they would make them as a capsule, or even a gel cap. That would be so much easier."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
txcadred
fromTX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Does what it is supposed to do
 May 26, 2014
"Works great, great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dmc12
fromfresno ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good product
 April 9, 2014
"Its an good product, good price and was delivered on time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Biodynamic
fromTucson
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 December 26, 2013
"This products is highly effective, super potent, low cost, and it just works! I looked around the web, but found this to be the best so far."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Chewwie
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Tablets are very large.
 September 6, 2013
"I was pleased to find the ingredients on this product but they are so large and hard to digest and swallow. Cutting them in half makes them jagged and hard to swallow. I won't be buying them again. I will look for Beta-sitosterol in the capsule form again."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Xico
fromYucaipa, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Male
My Dr recommended this product
 August 26, 2013
"I have been using this product per my Dr's recommendation. It has been helpful. My one complaint is that the tablets are so large that I have to be very careful or I'll choke on them. They are the largest tablets I've ever tried to take. Water does not work well. I find the thicker body of milk or orange juice helps them to slide down more easily. I wish I could find the product in a smaller tablet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
steelershomegirl
fromTucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Pills are way too big.
 June 8, 2013
"We ordered these pills to help keep our cholesterol in check but when we opened the bottle, the pills were huge. We couldn't even swallow them. We tried cutting in half but that was worse because of the ragged edges on a cut pill. We will need to find a way to crush them in order to use them."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bayliski
fromGA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Really works
 May 8, 2013
"Same great results as the expensive brands at a fraction of the cost."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HemetValley
fromHemet, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 November 29, 2012
"We buy most of our over the counter vitamins, herbs, make up and so much more from VitaCost, per the recommendation of our primary care doctor for many years. ALWAYS, great inventory, great prices and most reliable and timely delivery. Thank you Vita Cost."
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
HowieHoney
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Tablet much too large!
 September 22, 2012
"Tablet is huge. Could not swallow without difficulty even after breaking it into 3 pieces!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DakotaDon
fromNebraska
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Definitely influenced by other reviews
 August 6, 2012
"Just started Phytosterol Complex but am anxious to see the results. Already had a PSA test scheduled for next month and am excited about results. Will follow up on any changes. Thanks for a product of hope!"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frisko
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
 July 2, 2012
"Phytosterol complex w/ Beta-sistosterol...They are a good. A bit smaller would make them easier to swallow."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
hailstormer
good product, great value!
 April 29, 2012
"best value on the web for this product! I would recommend it!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ProfW
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Prof Phytosterol
 August 28, 2011
"The tablet is quite large. I think that it should be scored in half so that a person could easily break it in half and swallow both halves, one at at time."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
C222
Good Product
 March 16, 2011
"A good product. Pills are large but no problem swallowing. A good price."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
johnnyguitar
fromNear Kyoto,Japan
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
 September 10, 2010
"The contents of this product are far superior to any other competitor at a price far superior to theirs.The one and only recommendation I have would be to make to product a bit easier to swallow.Perhaps a soft-gel could be avialable someday."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromcalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great product
 June 18, 2010
"great product! i have been taking the product for two weeks and already see improvement in not have to get up @ night to go to the restroom less.yeah"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dlowe
 May 26, 2010
"I have had this product for only a short time but it seems to be very much what I was looking for and at a very good price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Phytosterol Complex with Beta-sitosterol -- 240 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Louis2104
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NSI Phytosterol
 April 7, 2010
"Outstanding value for this product. Large amount of pills for a good price and a reputable brand name."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next