Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Evening Primrose or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels

Natural oil containing omega-6 fatty acids supports a healthy inflammatory response.*. What is evening primrose oil? Evening primrose oil is derived from the seeds of the North American Evening Primrose plant a flowering perennial found in North America. The evening primrose plant contains an omega-6 essential fatty acid called gamma linolenic acid (GLA). GLA increases the content of dihomo-y-linolenic acid (DGLA) which can be converted to prostaglandin E1 (PGE1). How does evening primrose oil support health? Omega-6 fatty acids are required for optimal health.*. Supports healthy skin.*. Supports a healthy inflammatory response.*. Supports healthy tear production.*. Why choose Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil? Supplies 1300 mg of evening primrose oil per 1-softgel serving. Contains 300 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.634 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
67 out of 71(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
beau387
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
good, wish they offered organic EPO
 May 20, 2014
"As far as the size of the capsule~ I chew mine, and it tastes fine, not sure I would want to swallow such a large item. I think vitamins can be broken down easier when chewed or broken up before swallowing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mharper
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
GOOD PRODUCE FOR THE MONEY
 March 31, 2014
"I've been buying from Vitacost for years. Their own products are high quality and effective plus cheaper. Can't beat cheaper!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Turboshopper
fromNorthern California
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Makes My Hair Glossy
 January 25, 2014
"I had read that this product was good for improving hair quality in some people. My hair has looked shinier since I began taking this."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Houndjog
fromOrange County, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Vitacost rocks!
 August 16, 2013
"Great product - great price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1mamac
fromFlorence South Carolina
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Seems to be good
 August 10, 2013
"I am new to the using the product, but so far, so good."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DJFaz
fromDelaware
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent Product, Excellent Price
 August 1, 2013
"Evening Primrose Oil offers such benefits for women (of a certain age <g>). I will continue to take this supplement."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saycibon
fromNorthern California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Only once a day!
 June 2, 2013
"After having a non-cancerous cyst aspirated in my breast many years ago, a doctor encouraged me to take this supplement for good breast health. Getting 1300mg a pop makes me happy! I was taking 2 big capsules every day (before discovering you guys), and now I can take 1 and get the job done. Thanks Vitacost!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wenona
fromFort Worth Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love this product
 April 24, 2013
"I love the strength of this product. I have tried other products and this one has an excellent price and does what it is supposed to."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ciao
fromLong Island
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg
 March 3, 2013
"Great product, exceptional value"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
azai
good
 February 15, 2013
"excellent"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chandelier
fromnv
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent product
 September 25, 2012
"Works great w/bioflavonoids for skin brusing."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Judi45
fromOhello, WA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product works well for me
 September 21, 2012
"I have used this product for several years now, and have been very pleased with it."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
missy4
fromBeaumont, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Stuff
 June 3, 2012
"This is just a great value."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rivka
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent quality and value.
 May 7, 2012
"I have used evening of primrose oil for years and was very happy when Vitacost made it available in their brand. The price is by far better than any other I have bought and the quality is good as well. I will continue buying it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loves2Laugh
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Easy to swallow
 February 5, 2012
"I wish the capsules weren't so big, but they're smooth and they do go down easy so I shouldn't complain!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Peaches17
fromCAlifornai
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
hard to swallow
 December 9, 2011
"Not sure how people swallow this size capsule. I bite it and swallow it when I've been able to downsize it. Have taken smaller version before and would rather take two smaller capsules that I can swallow. I have not taken this long enough to know if it will be of benefit - will update review after a few weeks."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
schillibee
fromPacific Northwest
Gender:Female
 November 18, 2011
"Good stuff!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bettydli
fromcalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 12, 2011
"excellent productand good price"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bricoleur
For we of a certain age...
 September 24, 2011
"I started using Evening Primrose Oil years ago and can't say enough about how much I love it. This is the best way to buy .. best price, most convenient amount, etc. if you are a daily user. I keep a smaller 60 gelcap bottle around to fill from this larger bottle monthly since this large size is a bit unwieldy. Hair, skin, nails, and hormones..."
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Evening Primrose Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 300 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Momm425LP
Good Product
 June 11, 2011
"The doctor recommended this product. It was a good price from Vitacost and shipped quickly."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next