Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Carnitine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules

An amino acid supplement that supports heart and muscle health.*. What is L-carnitine fumarate? L-carnitine fumarate is a stable form of the amino acid L-carnitine. L-carnitine is found abundantly in heart muscle and skeletal tissue. It functions primarily as a shuttle for fatty acids transporting them across mitochondrial membranes into the mitochondria where they are used for energy production. L-carnitine has been used to enhance exercise recovery and maintain healthy lipid metabolism.*.  . How does L-carnitine fumarate support health?  Supports fatty acid metabolism.* .  Supports the cardiovascular system.*.  Supports oxygenation of heart muscle tissue.*.  . Why choose Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate?  Contains 300 servings per bottle.  Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.472 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
33 out of 36(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
LisaPalNOLA
fromNew Orleans, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Something's different.
 October 6, 2014
"I've ordered this many times and had no problems but the last batch I got smells like baking soda and tastes salty like baking soda and some of the capsules looked like they were popping open. I don't know what happened, but now I don't want to take these."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4boysmomWA
fromVancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 July 4, 2014
"Was recommended by my doctor to take this product. So far, so good. Was delivered in a timely manner. Thanks!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kaola
Excellent
 April 9, 2014
"Shipping is always so prompt & fast
order is always immediately filled.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nancylb
fromatlanta
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product, Great price
 March 24, 2014
"Great for pre-workout and energy throughout the day. Best price!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doug7as
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
recommended
 November 17, 2013
"This product was recommended by my Doctor, It seems to be helping me a great deal. I would recomend this to all"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
biggdogee
fromWashington state
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great products and pricing!
 June 2, 2013
"I've used Vitacost for my supplement purchases for many years and have always been very pleased with their products!
I've seen them reviewed in Consumer Reports and ranked very highly by them. What's not to love!
Laura
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
cc415
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great value
 May 22, 2013
"Vitacost's carnitine is great. Carnitine works. The capsule form& few fillers are a huge plus. Can't beat the price, either.
My only qualm...the smell will knock you down. Especially if one of the capsules is broken. LCarnitine in general has an off putting, fish-like smell. But this brand is even more noticable. That's why I reviewed this 4/5 stars."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mike7046
fromwillington Ct.
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -
 April 11, 2013
"A great product for many issues I take 3 a day,helps me with weight loss as many other uses a kick for q-10, a great price and form, Mike willington ct."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PapaBearLovesGod
fromWashougal. WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Value
 November 7, 2012
"When I was told I would be using L-Carntene for a long time following gastric-bypass I checked several places where I could get the product, I saved 25 to 50% off the price of any other place. The people in customer service are very friendly and helpful."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ready
fromwashington
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
This is a wonderful product
 August 12, 2012
"This product was recommended by my Doctor, It seems to be helping me a great deal. I would recomend this to all."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CPRN
fromHillsboro, Or.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Physician referred me to this site for supplement.
 June 24, 2012
"My muscle mass has improved since my doctor requested that I start taking L-Carnitine. Been on it for 1 year and will continue."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
oregonmom1968
Awesome Value
 December 15, 2011
"This is a product I am unable to find locally. They have always had it in stock when I need it. Great quality for and even greater price!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
louiseconner
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dr Recommended this
 April 19, 2011
"Very good quality. Dr recommended."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
C222
Good Product for the Price
 March 16, 2011
"Works fine. Good price."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromOR
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 May 12, 2010
"On Dr advice for me, I started using as he said Ix2 a day, it has been very effective."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Achy54
Would not buy again
 April 1, 2009
"This is the first time I have purchased an NSI product. Some capsules were partially filled and it appears some or all the capsules are leaking"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kutty
Broken capsules
 March 25, 2009
"There were a few broken capsules in the bottle and that has made all the other capsules extremely salty. Also, if I take more than two capsules at a time, my face and ears start to flush - the flushing lasts for a few hours and is a little annoying."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bresearch
Super Value
 November 21, 2008
"Revs up metabolism"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
litwit
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
free of magnesium stearate
 August 2, 2008
"I am especially pleased that this product contains no magnesium stearate, an ingredient that is problematic for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost L-Carnitine Fumarate -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
tobi
NSL L-Carnitine Fumerate
 September 4, 2007
"I have had other brands of L-Carnitine and I really felt the difference of my energy level when I took it for couple of days. My family takes it too and it had the same effect on them also.
The NSl L-Carnitine somehow did not leave the same effect at all on any of us.
"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next