Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Calcium & Magnesium Complex or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets

This supplement now features all-natural flavoring for improved taste. The formula remains the same.   Promotes healthy bones and supports proper functioning of body systems.  . What is Vitacost Calcium Citrate?  . Vitacost Calcium Citrate is a calcium supplement that supplies 1000 mg of calcium (as calcium citrate) plus 400 IU of vitamin D3 and 500 mg of magnesium per four-tablet serving. Calcium citrate is a water-soluble form of calcium that’s well absorbed on an empty or full stomach.  . How does Vitacost Calcium Citrate support health? Calcium is an essential ingredient of bone that must constantly be replenished.*. Vitamin D contributes to bone strength as proper levels create optimum conditions for bone formation.*. Vitamin D supports the proper functioning of the nervous and immune systems.*. Magnesium helps build strong bones by converting vitamin D to its active form and setting in motion key enzymes that stimulate bone cells.*. Magnesium contributes to calcium absorption.*. Magnesium helps maintain normal muscle and nerve function.*. Why choose Vitacost Calcium Citrate? Provides a combination of calcium vitamin D and magnesium in one convenient formula.  . Features a readily absorbable form of calcium (calcium citrate). Features vitamin D3 which is considered superior to vitamin D2.*  . Supplies 1000 mg of calcium citrate per 4-tablet serving. Contains 30 servings per bottle. . Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
3.48 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(204 reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 204 reviews
5 Stars
75
4 Stars
39
3 Stars
29
2 Stars
31
1 Star
30
127 out of 204(62%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Review 1 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jenzy
fromMA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good product
 April 24, 2015
"Some reviewers hated the taste. They must have been expecting candy. They are a bit chalky (expected!) and are fine. I find these a good value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
kentnkathy
fromSt. Paul, mn
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nasty taste
 April 6, 2015
"I usually like chewable vitamins but the taste is nasty..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maryw
Great calcium that is chewable
 April 4, 2015
"this is a great chewable calcium. One of the best on the market as it contains magnesium and vitamin d and it's the most easily absorbed calcium. I like the taste!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Be prepared for the taste
 March 10, 2015
"The product is chewable and the flavor is tart n'sweet - very much so, it makes you squint. Pleasant in some instances but not upon rising or at bedtime. It mixes horribly with toothpaste. I considered swallowing whole but the pill is too large and if cut in half would have pointed edges. I suppose you could take at another time but I do not take medications any other time of day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
slashharley
fromGrande Prairie, AB Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 March 4, 2015
"The taste was chalky, not a lot of flavour."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
6ducklings
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 February 20, 2015
"Magnesium controls chocolate cravings! This product tastes fine even if it is a bit chalky."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
ssfantasea
fromsan siego
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yuck
 February 11, 2015
"They taste horrible.
May work crunched up in a smoothie.
But don't plan on chewing on a few
between meals for extra calcium.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sandydwsn
fromMaryland
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Yuck!
 January 3, 2015
"I purchased these when it was for BOGO Free. Now I know why. These chewable tablets are as large as a nickel coin. They are chalky and have a metalic taste. I can't even finish the first bottle. The only way I did consume them was to put them in smoothies. The vanilla/orange flavoring is very faint, and does not hide the taste of the metallic. Yuck!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fraugitte
fromCambridge, MA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Not palatable
 December 30, 2014
"I have tried several different brands of chewable calcium. This Vitacost product is unconsumable for me. It is very chalky with only the faintest hint of orange flavor and a significant bitter aftertaste (I am a supertaster for bitter so others may not find this objectionable). I can not use this product and would send it back if it was not for the effort that that takes.
I'm disappointed although in general I am very happy with the Vitacost products and prices.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
happyinjackson
fromJackson, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love this product
 December 17, 2014
"I enjoy the taste of this product. I have been ordering from Vitacost for about three years with no problem."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KCEE
fromHartford, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
A great way to get your calcium, magnesium and D
 December 17, 2014
"I find this a great way to get your magnesium along with calcium and extra Vitamin D. I feel like I already take too many supplements in pill form so it's nice to have some that are chewable. It's true the taste isn't great, but I've had much worse and it washes away easily with a glass of water. I take 2 with breakfast and 2 with dinner which is easy enough. I really like that I had hardly any broken tablets in the bottle as other chewables I've tried have had many crushed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stiggy
fromEscanaba, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product is great
 December 1, 2014
"I would recommend this product to anyone who is need of extra calcium. It is a great chewable tablet that includes the needed Magnesium and Vit. D3 for absorption. It has helped me greatly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jeannieo
taste is disgusting
 November 9, 2014
"I bought these based on the description that they had a "delicious flavor." they are disgusting. I felt like I was trying to choke down a stick of chalk. I didn't even get one down before I had to spit it out due to gagging."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sunnyhealth
fromAppleton, Wi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A bit chaulky, but not bad tasting
 November 5, 2014
"I really like this product. It is 4 large tablets to chew, but I do not find the taste objectionable at all. It's not candy, but it's not yucky either. Slightly sweet, not over powering. I feel it's an easy, excellent way to get calcium."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaWill
fromFayetteville, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good ratio
 October 7, 2014
"This product contains a good ratio of vitamin D, calcium citrate and magnesium. My only disappointment is that it contains magnesium stearate."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tariq
fromColumbus, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
This Supplement is essential!
 September 28, 2014
"Started taking this supplement for 2 days ago in conjunction with chewable multivitamins from vitcost. After all the research Ive put into figuring out the best supplements. Vitamin D and magnesium are so, so important. The taste is somewhat off-putting but I drink a herbal tea with no sweetner and it knocks out the taste. This supplement for me is a 9/10 for me simply because it actually works. My advice would be to combine this supplement with a potent multivitamin and you will feel amazing and very level headed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Willow1584
fromPA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 September 17, 2014
"I see several reviews complaining about the flavor. Here's my version. I have lots of difficulty swallowing pills, so if I can get my hands on chewable, liquid, or powder forms, I take them. So, I've tasted LOTS of flavored chewable products. This one is near the top for good.
It's not a bad flavor, unless you really hate orange. It's more of an orange cream flavor, but more orange than cream. Not strong on flavor, but enough that it's almost like a candy.
The texture isn't the greatest, but also certainly not the worst. A little gritty and a little chalky, but not severely so.
I feel like this is an excellent form of calcium. Never irritates my stomach, and I tend to take it in the mornings with or near breakfast. I can be sensitive to acidic things, and I can drink a cup of coffee and take one of these calcium close together and suffer no effects.
I take one when I know I'm not going to get enough calcium for the day. I'm lactose intolerant, so I rely on other foods for calcium and don't always get what I need in a day.
The value of this product is also excellent, and a larger quantity means I'm not running out so fast. I do recommend this product."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
GreyhoundGal
fromPortland, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Calcium Citrate Chewables
 September 11, 2014
"The ingredients and price are great, and they don't taste awful ... but I find myself avoiding them and not taking a full days-worth. I am sure chewables are better absorbed, but if they don't taste great, and these don't, I'd rather swallow capsules. I recommend them with the disclaimer to only get them if you're not a wuss like me about how they taste."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
ReneeCO
fromDenver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The flavor is not good
 September 5, 2014
"I got the chewable ones after getting sick of downing 4 large size capsules. I should have just stayed with the capsules. These taste so sickly sweet it is disgusting and for the record I love sugar. These, in my opinion, do not taste good at all. Now I'm breaking them in half and trying to swallow them so I don't have to taste them. Although, they are a good deal and have a good balance of nutrients in them. I only have like 300 more to go....."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 & Magnesium -- 1000 mg - 120 Chewable Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dt56
fromNew Hartford, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Bits and Pieces
 July 29, 2014
"The overall quality of the product is good, the flavor and texture good as well. It's calcium, so there is a bit of chalkiness that is expected, but it is flavored well and the individual tablets are of an easily manageable size...when they are in whole pieces.
The problem with this product is in the packaging and subsequent handling. Were it packaged properly, the handling would not be such an issue. You see, it arrives with virtually all the tablets broken into tiny pieces. There is not enough material inside the bottle to keep the fragile tablets from rattling/smashing around and breaking apart. So, if you are willing to make an educated guestimate of how many "bits and pieces" make up a whole tablet, then this aspect will not deter you from buying it. Other than this, it is a good product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next