Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(566)
Algae(893)
Amino Acids(2,142)
Bee Pollen(330)
Caffeine(39)
Celadrin(82)
Charcoal(102)
Chitosan(43)
Chlorella(194)
Choline(144)
CoQ10(2,651)
Coconut Oil(4,119)
Collagen(353)
Colostrum(185)
D-Mannose(53)
DHEA(440)
DMAE(67)
EFAs(3,749)
EpiCor(38)
FOS(2)
Fish Oil(1,664)
GABA(196)
GLA(9)
Gelatin(19)
Glycine(14)
HGH(46)
Iodine(57)
Krill Oil(765)
Lecithin(283)
Letter Vitamins(12,719)
Vitamin A(171)
Vitamin B(5,507)
Vitamin C(3,247)
Vitamin D(2,920)
Vitamin E(517)
Vitamin K(353)
Lithium(6)
Lutein(404)
Lycopene(107)
MSM(446)
Melatonin(1,222)
Minerals(9,086)
Multivitamins(13,046)
NADH(53)
Omega-3(5,286)
Pectin(22)
Probiotics(6,341)
Propolis(84)
Pycnogenol(152)
Quercetin(136)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(12)
Relora(2)
SAMe(621)
Silica(21)
Soy(80)
Spirulina(112)
Yeast(65)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Vitamin B or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules

Supports healthy lipid metabolism and circulation!*. What is Niacin (Vitamin B3)? Niacin (vitamin B-3) also known as nicotinic acid is a member of the B family of vitamins and is found in the company of other B vitamins—vitamin B1 (thiamine) vitamin B2 (riboflavin) vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid) vitamin B6 (pyridoxine) vitamin B12 (cyanocabalamin) and folic acid.  . Niacin is water soluble meaning it’s not stored in the body and must be replaced daily. It can be found in many foods including meat fish milk eggs green vegetables cereal grains and yeast. The amino acid tryptophan present in protein-rich foods like red meat poultry turkey dairy products and eggs can also be converted to niacin. Niacin is important for many biological functions. It plays a role in carbohydrate fat and protein utilization. In its coenzyme forms niacin is crucial to energy transfer reactions related to fat alcohol and glucose.*.  . Niacin acts as a vasodilator and the flushing and tingling sensation it creates is often mistaken for an allergic reaction. Flushing can occur when using large or even small doses of niacin. Symptoms of a mild deficiency of niacin include fatigue and indigestion. Pellegra has been long understood to be a form of a niacin deficiency.  . How does Niacin (vitamin B3) support health? Promotes healthy lipid metabolism.*. Supports healthy HDL cholesterol ratios already within normal range.*. Supports coenzymes involved in the energy cycle.*. Supports the cardiovascular and circulatory system.*. Why choose Vitacost Niacin (vitamin B3)? Supplies 500 mg of vitamin B3 per single-capsule serving. Contains 300 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at extraordinary  value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.323 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
27 out of 31(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well
 February 17, 2016
" My husband and I take this daily to support mental health. We are both feeling better. This gives a good flush! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 October 7, 2015
" Works good "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLI NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Flush Right
 June 13, 2015
" Best Niacin flush you can get. "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 December 26, 2014
" This is a wonderful product and its a great price here.... "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFort Lauderdale, Fl.
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great Product
 February 24, 2014
" Comparing this to all the other products available, I've found the Vitacost product works the best and is the best value by far. "
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromReno, NV
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Consistent quality
 November 5, 2013
" The only thing better would be if they brought back the 1,000 mg version they used to offer.
Every product I've purchased over the years from Vitacost has been of high quality. Add to that very competitive pricing and you have a winning combination. "
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGrand Rapids, Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 September 11, 2013
" Great product, great price and very fast shipping. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Sad they dc'd 1000mg caps
 June 14, 2013
" I've been buying this full flush Niacin for years. Last time I checked the literature, there was an indication that benefits from flush niacin were better than flush-free. Also there was an indication of unwanted and potentially unhealthy effects from large dosages necessary of the flush free - all that extra effort and marketing to avoid the flush - when in fact the effect dissipates the longer it is taken. It's my understanding that the European medical community utilize regular niacin and not the flush-free.
I'm just sayin' - - - "
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great buy
 March 6, 2011
" Very pleased with the product, service and pricing. "
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBurbank,CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best flush fot the $
 December 6, 2009
" I've used this product before and it is a great buy. Sometimes I flush and sometimes I don't. But I find the same is true for the LEF products and they are many times the price of this.
Seems if I want to flush I take this on an empyt stomach and on a full tummy if I don't.
"
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKingsport, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Value
 July 15, 2009
" Since sustained-release niacin is not recommended due to liver problems, this is the only other option besides going Rx with Niaspan(Extended Release) which is very expensive. If you can tolerate the 'flush', as I, this is a great choice. Very economical too. "
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromSt Louis
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Niacin didn't work
 April 8, 2009
" I have now been taking niacin daily for a couple years. When I take niacin I want to feel the skin flushing that comes with it so I get the regular niacin that causes flushing as opposed to the slow release variety. With this niacin I felt no flushing while taking 1000 mg, so I have to think that something is wrong. I purchased the 1000 mg capsule size here before and it worked fine. This just did not work. Don't know why but I tried another brand at the same time and it worked fine, so I know my body is not now immune to flushing. I can only conclude that something is wrong with this batch. "
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
No Results
 March 2, 2009
" I have always purchased Twinlabs Niacin in the past. This time I thought I would try NSI.
I felt I was getting a quality product and a good value from past experience, but I experienced no flush and no skin tingling sensation, absolutely nothing! I have always had this sensation in the past within the first few minutes of taking, though not the most pleasant feeling, but at least I knew it was doing something. I will go back to taking Twinlabs Niacin.
"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
What a Flush!
 December 18, 2008
" Wow, never knew what flush-free meant, till I bought the regular, FULL flush stuff! Wasn't sure if I had the heat up too high, ate bad food, or was having a strange alergic reaction... turns out it was just Niacin flush. Boy did those capilaries open wide! I looked like a lobster for over 1/2 an hour. Now, I just get a minute or two of a warming sensation.. almost time to up the dosage again - keep that purifying process happening. "
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
FLUSH version - NOT flush free
 November 25, 2008
" I was driving to work this am & my head started getting hot... after turning off the heat, I kept getting hotter... was trying to think what I ate this am that was different than usual... I had just gotten this B3 for the 1st time... I've never taken regular Niacin - Always taken Flush-Free in the past. My whole body is bright red (looks sunburned) & slightly itchy now. Googled the Niacin Flush & I think that's what has happened... good to know I'm probably not dying! Itch is subsiding, but I'm still as red as a lobster. Had I payed attention when ordering, I would have never ordered a non- flush-free version... but, after Google-ing the Flush, I'm glad I got this type. Plus, I can't wait to drop one of these in my wife's suplement. ;-) "
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromLayton UT
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Unclear listings in catalog
 August 14, 2008
" I ordered this product to follow the directions of my doctor. The listing of B3-Niacin needs to be clearer on each Niacin product. I have experienced flushing because I didn't see a 500 mg no flush b3. Please be clearer in your catalog. anon the direction "
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromHartford, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great value
 October 31, 2007
" Had what I wanted at great value, work effectively "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
A Poor Value
 August 13, 2007
" The packaging of the bottle was bloated and swollen; and the drug itself gave an immediate flush. Very poor quality. I like VitaCost but dislike this product. "
-9points
2of 13voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Based on the average of (13) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
13 out of 13 recommend this product