Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Vitamin B3 - Niacin or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules

Supports healthy lipid metabolism and circulation!*. What is niacin (vitamin B-3)? Niacin (vitamin B3) is one of eight B vitamins—vitamin B1 (thiamine) vitamin B2 (riboflavin) vitamin B5 (pantothenic acid) vitamin B6 (pyridoxine) vitamin B12 (cyanocabalamin) and folic acid—often referred to as B complex. Niacin is water soluble meaning it’s not stored in the body and must be replaced daily. It can be found in many foods including meat fish milk eggs green vegetables cereal grains and yeast. The amino acid tryptophan present in foods such as red meat poultry turkey dairy products and eggs can also be converted to niacin. Niacin is important for many biological functions. It plays a role in carbohydrate fat and protein utilization. In its coenzyme forms niacin is crucial to energy transfer reactions related to fat alcohol and glucose.*. Niacin acts as a vasodilator and the flushing and tingling sensation it creates is often mistaken for an allergic reaction. Flushing can occur when using large or even small doses of niacin. How does niacin (vitamin B3) support health? Niacin is used by the body for energy production. Promotes healthy lipid metabolism.*. Supports healthy HDL cholesterol ratios already within normal range.*. Supports coenzymes involved in the energy cycle.*. Supports the cardiovascular and circulatory system.*. Why choose Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3)? Supplies 1000 mg per single-capsule serving. Contains 300 servings per bottle. Incredible value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.275 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
33 out of 40(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Jimmy76
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Flush too severe
 March 28, 2013
"Had no idea about the flush, and my wife and I both had a terrible experience with it. Would not recommend, feels like you have had an allergic reaction, itchy all over and red. Anyone who thinks that's normal or a good thing I would be concerned with.
I understand the benefits of B3, just don't feel it's appropriate to get the physical reaction that this gives. Very uncomfortable."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SheilaD
fromFort Lauderdale FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Top notch!
 March 9, 2013
"This product is excellent quality and the best price on the market. Before you order be certain that you are ordering the niacin you want. I use the fast acting which causes a flush. If you want the no-flush be sure you order that or you will be in for a surprise flush!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
numinous
fromsoutheast Indiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
I love the flush, it means it is working
 December 14, 2012
"I love the flush I get with this product. It starts within ten minutes of taking it and lasts 45 minutes. I get real red, hot, and itchy. I scratch all over, which is pleasurable. This means the product is working! Even if you don't like the flush, at least you know it is working."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
olderbutwiser
frombeach area, so. ca.
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good value and works well
 October 15, 2012
"Great value, just plan ahead so that, on occassion, the flush doesn't upset your plans. The lush lets youknow you need the niacin so don't ignore it. However, the sunburn look went out with the hippie look."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TexasPopPop
fromFreeport Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Can't beat the quality and price
 October 11, 2012
"I have been taking Niacin for several years, a different much more expensive brand. I decided to try Vitacost and must say I am more than satisfied with the quality and delighted with the price. I have reordered this brand and will probably stay with it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizP
Hard to find elsewhere
 February 19, 2012
"Have been using niacin for years at my doctors suggestion and have gradually increased dosage to 2000 mg per day. Vitacost is the only source that I have found for the 1000 mg tablets. The fact that Vitacost is used for most of my other vitamins, etc. is a plus."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Researchgal
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works As Advertised
 February 13, 2012
"I've been taking the NSI brand which is now Vitacost 2,000 mg. total per day with 4400 mg. fish oil and my lipids are normal. You must build up to this amount of B-3 and taking an aspirin 15 minutes before the niacin will negate the flushing if it bothers you.
This will be the first purchase of the Vitacost brand and I'm assuming it will be as good as the NSI which is no longer available."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
VegasViking
fromLas Vegas
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
As Advertized
 January 13, 2012
"Fast Shipping, fast shiping.
Very satisfied..
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
RitaMom
fromCleveland, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Prepare to Flush
 November 24, 2011
"The niacin flush on this was horrific for me. I had to discontinue use."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
retiredpoppi
fromEcuador
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Economical supply
 February 2, 2011
"NSI Vitamin B3 (Niacin) -- 1,000 mg - 300 Capsules is a great way to obtain a large supply economically. I was using Twinlab 1000 mg, 100 capsules in a glass bottle. Now, I get 300 capsules in a light weight plastic bottle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GeorgeoftheJungle
fromHolly , Mi
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works as Advertized
 November 11, 2010
"I use this and it works great ! I see no difference between the non flush and the regular Niacin though. I will be ordering this again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
slegsonly
Did I take it?
 April 27, 2010
"No flush. I had to do a double take to make sure it did not say flush-free."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robwill78
fromHouston
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
1000 MG B3 Niacin
 March 4, 2010
"Made the mistake of not requesting the non-flush time release Niacin. This is full strength and can cause major flush."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Duane4ta
fromConcord, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
2 MUCH FLUSHING...
 February 18, 2010
"I thought I'd be 'OK' taking this as I thought my body was acclimated to high dosage. I was wrong...I have since exchanged it for the slo-release product & am much happier.
This was MY ERROR in assuming I'd be 'OK'...Vitacost was SUPER easy to deal with on the return & all.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brooklyn333
Check Expirations Dates
 January 7, 2010
"I purchased 6 bottles of niacin and was surprised that the expiration date is approx. 1 year from my date of purchase. I called customer service and all they could tell me was that the product was manufactured on April 09, thereby sitting in the warehouse almost 1 year. I never bought vitamins with a expiration date less than 2 years from date of purchase. My next vitamin purchase will not be with Vitacost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GBrady
fromOhio
Vitamin B3 (Niacin)
 December 7, 2009
"VitaCost had the best price for the dosage we needed. Also shipped right on time. I have ordered from them many times and have always been satisfied."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Golfnat
Solid product
 November 16, 2009
"There is no question this product has some kick. I was not aware of 'flushing' so that first time I used it I wondered why my face and arms were tingling and itchy. Now I kind of like it because I know it's working. Anyway, it all goes away in a few minutes. Recent studies show that B3 is a good thing. So we will see."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WPatten
Niacin
 July 24, 2009
"As someone who needs to take Niacin on a regular basis, this product had it all. It is priced well and since I open the gel caps for maximum potency, it was nice that the gel caps easily slide apart."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bionic46
fromIdaho
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good product, good price.
 July 12, 2009
"I would have rated this product higher but my only problem with it is the talcum powder used to control the sticking of the capsules. It is a little much. I wouldn't mind if it was a non-scented product but I've never been fond of the scent of talcum powder, nor the taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Niacin (Vitamin B-3) -- 1000 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JerryD
 November 19, 2008
"It is very strong and I only took it once due to flushing, tingling and redness all over."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next