Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Amino Acid Complex & Blends or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules

Supports blood vessel flexibility DNA replication collagen formation and LDL integrity.*. What is Vitacost L-Lysine & Proline Complex? Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex combines the amino acids L-lysine and L-proline with ascorbic acid green tea quercetin and a citrus bioflavonoid complex. L-lysine is an essential amino acid meaning it must be obtained through diet. L-lysine is necessary for the formation of collagen connective and bone tissue.* It’s found in large quantities in muscle tissue. . L-proline is a nonessential amino acid meaning it can be manufactured in the body from other amino acids L-glutamate and L-ornithine. It’s present throughout body tissues with the highest concentration in collagen.*. Ascorbic acid is an antioxidant that protects low density lipoproteins (LDL) from oxidation contributes to healthy collagen and connective tissue formation and promotes arterial flexibility and healthy endothelial function.* These functions work together to offer benefits to the circulatory and cardiovascular systems.* Ascorbic acid also works in conjunction with lysine- and proline-based enzymes in many of the above related functions.*. Green tea quercetin and the citrus bioflavonoid complex are antioxidants that can play a role in supporting the cardiovascular system promoting healthy DNA function and duplication and supporting the integrity of the vascular system.*. How does Vitacost L-Lysine & Proline Complex support heath? Supports cardiovascular health.*. Promotes the formation of collagen and connective tissue.*. Supports healthy DNA formation.*. Promotes healthy gene expression.*. Supports blood vessel health.*. Promotes healthy endothelial tissue function.*. Protects LDL cholesterol from oxidation.*. Why choose Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex? Unique multi-nutrient formula. Great value! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 28(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joyful236
fromStrongsville, OH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
L-Lysine and L-Proline Comples
 August 22, 2014
"Two amino acids that I am trying. I am thinking this will work with all the other items I take to stay well. Positive thinking and nothing better."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SG65
fromSingapore
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
A Highly recommended product for Seniors
 September 22, 2013
"My wife & I have started taking Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline for the past 2 weeks. And we feel great for we know this will help maintain our heart health, bones & general fitness. We are grateful to Vitacost."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ReviewerSteph
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Oxidizes/gets damp very fast & too acidic
 April 15, 2012
"Every couple of years I buy this product because I love the idea of it, but I always end up throwing it out because the capsule contents darken and get damp very quickly. They always spoil, even sealed in the pot.
Also, the Vitamin C is in the acidic form, which means one can't take very much of it at all without over-acidifying the body and feeling the effects of that. However this this particular product is intended for mega-dosing, which can only safely be done with non-acidic Vitamin C.
If they used Calcium Ascorbate instead, and an airtight pot with proper drying granules, I'd buy a product like this for sure."
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
THESMOKER
frombridgeport,ct
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
GREAT FORMULA
 March 14, 2010
"Until I found this product, I had bean searching for something with lysine and proline for quite some time. some doctors believe they act as sort of a teflon coating for the veins. add in the green tea and vitamin c, you've got a pretty cool cocktail for your health."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warren9
fromVolcano, Hawaii
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Plus a gram of Vitamin C
 January 31, 2010
"I'm doing the Linus Pauling Protocol and purchased this because it has a gram of Vitamin C with the L-Lysine and L-Proline in the right proportions. Thanks NSI."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pattyrose
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
effective
 May 19, 2009
"have seen good results in a few weeks"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
kalyson
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great combo, but doesn't keep
 December 20, 2008
"It seems like a very good combination of things together. But even though we used the desiccation packets and stored the item properly, the pills became very dark and mottled looking. Maybe they are still ok to use, but we are afraid to. At the very least the effectiveness would be compromised if some sort of chemical reaction is going on. We considered calling the company, but they generally don't have much in-depth product knowledge."
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fluffypups
fromGA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product!
 November 7, 2008
"Very effective product, love it."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Joyajoya999
great purchase
 June 12, 2008
"this was a great purchase, but, I have a thyroid disorder and it makes me shakey. On these types of drugs it doesn't tell you not to take it if you have thyroid and heart problems. I do believe it is the green tea that bothered me. If you don't have these problems then I'm sure you'll love the extra energy."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTATBHG
fromGarden Grove, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Outstanding Value!!
 January 15, 2008
"Super combination of antioxidants that I use individually after working out & after meals. You must take a number of pills (4) throughout the day, but I highly recomend this product"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fialka
Very effective.
 October 4, 2007
"Very effective combination. Excellent product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dab1
Excellent value product!
 August 18, 2007
"This is a great product. This is a highly effective
vitamin c product,and an excellent value.
"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Excellent combination of ingredients
 July 25, 2007
"Excellent combination of ingredients in one supplement. Good price also."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SupplementSam
Pretty close to the Rath formula
 June 25, 2007
"The Rath formula has these ingredients. This was one of the few products on the web that has all the various pieces (EGCG, Lysine, Proline).
The Rath formula used a different ascorbate. Still a good deal for the money.
I don't know that anyone can speak to the quality or effectiveness unless I get a before and after ultrafast CT Scan - though the Green Tea Extract is Standardized.
I use it mostly as a complimentary supplement with the other NSI vitamin C products I take.."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost L-Lysine & L-Proline Complex -- 240 Capsules
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
13 out of 14 recommend this product