Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(504)
Amino Acids(1,328)
Calcium(3,504)
CoQ10(2,349)
Coconut Oil(3,244)
EFAs(3,343)
Fish Oil(1,485)
Iron(532)
Krill Oil(728)
Magnesium(1,695)
Melatonin(1,024)
Multivitamins(10,882)
Omega-3(4,708)
Algae(738)
Bee Pollen(275)
Caffeine(35)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(137)
Choline(126)
Collagen(223)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(45)
DHEA(377)
DMAE(76)
EFAs(107)
EpiCor(30)
FOS(2)
GABA(159)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(43)
Iodine(44)
L-Lysine(145)
L-Theanine(198)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(223)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(328)
Lycopene(96)
MSM(374)
NADH(46)
Pectin(39)
Propolis(71)
Pycnogenol(135)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(2)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(78)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,861)
SAMe(548)
Spirulina(81)
Vitamin A(133)
Vitamin B(4,440)
Vitamin C(2,667)
Vitamin D(2,362)
Vitamin E(465)
Vitamin K(257)
Whole Foods(1,182)
Zinc(343)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Algae or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g

100% Pure Chlorella. Provides RNA DNA and Chlorophyll. Yaeyama chlorella is a subspecies of Chlorella vulgaris a single-celled fresh water algae grown in the environmentally pristine coral reef region of Japan's Ishigaki Island using mountain spring water tropical sunshine and food grade nutrients. Yaeyama Chlorella cell walls are broken by high impact jet-spray drying that pulverizes the algae wall for increased absorption of its vital nutrients. Yaeyama Chlorella provides chlorophyll RNA DNA and proteins and is a source of naturally occurring vitamins and minerals. Yaeyama Chlorella supports healthy cell function and promotes detoxification especially heavy metal excretion. "Yaeyama" means richer more flavorful and more nutritious chlorella!
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
51 out of 56(91%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Review 1 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carlito888
fromMontreal
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Chlorella
 September 4, 2014
"Amazing product! Best price!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewMex
fromNew Mexico
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best!
 September 12, 2013
"Great product, great buy!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tonja
fromSan Diego
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good Stuff
 June 9, 2013
"I started taking chlorella as part of a cleanse after I had my mercury fillings removed. I did not have any particular expectations and it was a recommendation on Dr. Oz. The taste took a while to get use to, but couple squeezes of lemon made it much easier to gulp down. After taking it for a couple weeks, my bowels become more regular and started to notice that I would fell much better drinking a glass of chlorella after the nights of eating out and drinking. It seemed to neutralize all the not-so healthy foods I consumed. After some research, chlorella has many positive benefits, just watch the iron levels. The 2 lb jug is a lot of chlorella, but a great price compare to capsules. Organic would have made it 5 stars."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheGoodShepherd
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It's not made in China
 June 6, 2013
"I wanted to consume some seaweed/algae, but I did not want them to come from China because of a lot of food contaminants in food products from China. This one is from Japan and the price is excellent. There seems to be no fillers, no color, no preservative."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RoscoP
fromSacramento CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Quality and Value
 April 20, 2013
"This is the best quality and value I could find online."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthOne
fromCA
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent product!
 October 14, 2012
"High quality chlorella powder, easily dissolves in any smoothy or beverage drink or mixed with cereal...it's great!!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazz88
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Excellent Chlorella
 September 11, 2012
"Excellent price, excellent product. Mixes very well. I found that pills were too expensive and switched over to powder, as I wanted to up my intake of this stuff. Most places in my area sold it at $37-45 bucks for 200g. Here, I get 5x more for a couple bucks more."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rsetexas
fromAfghanistan
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Yaeyama Chlorella Powder
 July 21, 2012
"Great product for your body overall. Working in the conditions where I am its beneficial. A few of my friends have also ordered this product as well. If you maintain the recommended servings it will last 9-12 months."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
craigananda
fromOrange County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent green superfood
 March 2, 2012
"I have been using this for several months and have noticed definite health benefits---especially increased energy. This is probably the most potent of the "green superfoods". More chlorella by far than wheat grass juice, for example. It is made in Japan, but don't worry...the company is 1800 kilometers from Fukushina, in Okinawa."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Houndjog
fromOrange County, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Chlorella is a fabulous superfood!
 January 2, 2012
"I have bought and happily used this product in the past, now I have concerns after the March incidence. It is hard to verify what exactly is in it."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenolive
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Chlorella is a superfood
 September 26, 2011
"this is a God sent superfood. It contains all your protein, vitamins, minerals, etc. for supreme health. Cleanses from the top of your head to bottom of your sole. It tastes like pond scum BUT when you mix it with cranberry juice, mango, banana, or any other strong juice the bad taste will cover up. There's too many good benefits to this superfood to pass up. Be smart and buy it. For life!"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nnname
fromOscoda, MI
Gender:Male
great
 April 30, 2011
"great"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rachelle
fromColorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 June 1, 2010
"I like the taste (mixed with cranberry juice). I like the price. I feel better when I take it. It's considered a "super food"."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sasch
Excellent!
 March 22, 2010
"This is the same quality of Chlorella used by a number of other "premium" suppliers that charge an arm and a leg.
An excellent product! Yaeyama Chlorella is the one to get!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IrishSassy
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product to Detoxify
 February 16, 2010
"This particular brand of chlorella was highly recommended to me by a natural nutritionist and I've been using it for a few years. I put 1-2 tsp in my morning rice protein drink with blueberries. Blends well. Wouldn't start my day without it. Keeps the toxins moving daily. Vitacost substantially reduced my retail cost for this product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eirik
Great product
 February 10, 2010
"This is a high quality product at a very reasonable price. Im not keen on the taste, but it is so good for you that it is worth just adding a little to a smoothie to get a whole lot of benefits!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
eureka75
fromSingapore
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great value for this quality product
 December 31, 2009
"This is the best price I can get for a bulk bottle of Chlorella. Works as well or even better for detox, beauty and energising aid for my body. Use it for my green smoothies drink and mixes easily with water."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
billious
fromDenver CO
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
arguably the finest chlorella
 December 14, 2009
"This has a lot going for it...superior taste for one thing. I use it in conjunction with the less expensive kissing-cousin spirulina in a ratio of 1-2
To me the fresh water Yaeyama tastes a world better than the sometimes brackish Spirulina.
Taken together they support each others weaker nutritional points."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chacho
Every Athlete should use it!!!
 October 1, 2009
"Every athlete should be using chlorella together with spirulina, it is a must to improve your muscle recovery."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jarrow Formulas Yaeyama Chlorella Powder -- 1000 g
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marnacla
fromNorthern California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Chlorella powder
 September 15, 2009
"I don't like taking capsules and this is an easy and effective way to get the benefits of chlorella in a smoothie or mixed with fresh fruit. I've been this for years. Very good deal!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next