Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(488)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,254)
CoQ10(2,222)
Coconut Oil(2,838)
EFAs(3,290)
Fish Oil(1,385)
Iron(493)
Krill Oil(672)
Magnesium(1,526)
Melatonin(959)
Multi-vitamins(10,403)
Omega-3(4,474)
Algae(695)
Bee Pollen(241)
Caffeine(29)
Celadrin(77)
Charcoal(79)
Chitosan(38)
Chlorella(118)
Choline(115)
Collagen(192)
Colostrum(168)
D-Mannose(38)
DHEA(357)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(144)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(11)
Glycine(7)
HGH(17)
Iodine(36)
L-Lysine(146)
L-Theanine(188)
LPP(37)
Lecithin(209)
Lithium(8)
Lutein(301)
Lycopene(90)
MSM(365)
NADH(43)
Pectin(37)
Propolis(66)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(121)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(1)
Silica(17)
Soy(92)
Taurine(69)
Yeast(113)
Probiotics(4,444)
SAMe(520)
Spirulina(74)
Vitamin A(116)
Vitamin B(4,055)
Vitamin C(2,436)
Vitamin D(2,146)
Vitamin E(442)
Vitamin K(225)
Whole Foods(1,016)
Zinc(323)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Pregnenolone or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules

Supports the production of hormones.*. What is pregnenolone? Pregnenolone is a naturally occurring metabolite produced primarily in the adrenal glands and central nervous system. It’s synthesized from cholesterol and functions as a precursor for the cascade of events from which all other sex hormones such as progesterone estrogen and DHEA are made. Pregnenolone is found in larger quantities in the brain and cranial nerves than any of the sex compounds. Animal studies provide information showing the correlation between cognitive performance and the cerebral concentration of pregnenolone sulfate.* . With age the amount of pregnenolone synthesized in the body decreases. Around age 75 it’s believed to be reduced by as much as 60 percent (from the normal amount present at age 35). How does pregnenolone support health? Supports the body’s pool of available material for hormone production.*. Promotes mental energy and reduces mental fatigue in highly motivated people under stress.*. Supports healthy brain function.*. Why choose Vitacost Pregnenolone? Supplies 50 mg of pregnenolone per single-capsule serving. Each bottle contains 180 servings. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.824 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
1N2health
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Only gripe is ....
 February 6, 2014
"Source Naturals has this flavor to it that helps me remember that I popped it. This capsule looks exactly like my D3, my DHEA, and maybe another one or two capsules, so sometimes, I pop it so automatically, I don't remember if I did. For that reason, I prefer Source Naturals. Otherwise, this product is fine."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
duthwado
fromwisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good for overall health
 May 28, 2013
"this is a good product for people as they age. i take it with dhea."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TXSnowbunny
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Grandmother Hormone
 May 27, 2013
"This famous, "Grandmother Hormone," converts to what your body needs, works great! I used to buy a competitors version, but your ingredients are better. Sometimes, less additives are worth more! :) I have been using the 50mg capsule for the last 15 years."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaleoRo
fromCalifornia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Buy
 October 4, 2012
"I switched to Vitacost brand after trying more expensive name brand product purchased from local health food store. Much more economical and works equally well."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spaceslides
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good Product to use with DHEA
 August 22, 2012
"My hormone replacement therapy doctor in Los Angeles recommended Pregnenolone in combination with DHEA 5 mg for anti-aging therapy. I purchased Pregnenolone in his office which contained 30 mg. When I ran out of this product, I found his prices of the "brand name" product had escalated. I then found Pregnenolone 50 mg on your website and I feel even more energetic than before. I will also buy DHEA 5 mg from Vitacost when my current supply runs out."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Galane
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Best Price
 January 23, 2012
"I have purchased this product in several different stores before and have found this site to have the cheapest price."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
prayerwarrior
fromMI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 May 12, 2011
"I like that this is in capsule and not a tablet"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
reapra
fromNorthern California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Look no further....
 September 29, 2010
"I have been tested and am low in pregnenolone. Other brands are more expensive and this one does the same thing - works just fine and so much cheaper. The pills are also a MUCH smaller capsule."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Charly51
fromPR
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Best value in the market
 January 18, 2010
"Great quality and best price on the market."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cealie
fromQueens, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
I feel better
 March 30, 2009
"I really felt a difference when I started using this. More energy, it lightened my mood and generally made me feel a little younger."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ashby
Great product
 September 29, 2008
"Have taken this for several years and am great with it"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
alwayscanadian
Pregnenlone
 July 8, 2007
"All I know is I was paying $50 at the Pharmacy for them to compound it. So I decided to try NSI Pregnenolone. My doctor said it was ok, but I don't think she believes in compounded hormones. I've been taking this product for 3 weeks now. I still feel good that's all I care about."
+9points
14of 19voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Vitacost Pregnenolone -- 50 mg - 180 Capsules
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product