Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(496)
Amino Acids(1,311)
Calcium(3,468)
CoQ10(2,324)
Coconut Oil(3,143)
EFAs(3,317)
Fish Oil(1,451)
Iron(523)
Krill Oil(721)
Magnesium(1,663)
Melatonin(1,009)
Multivitamins(10,752)
Omega-3(4,677)
Algae(728)
Bee Pollen(266)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(83)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(134)
Choline(126)
Collagen(213)
Colostrum(172)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(369)
DMAE(75)
EFAs(105)
EpiCor(29)
FOS(2)
GABA(155)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(37)
Iodine(41)
L-Lysine(144)
L-Theanine(196)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(318)
Lycopene(91)
MSM(373)
NADH(46)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(70)
Pycnogenol(133)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(98)
Taurine(77)
Yeast(71)
Probiotics(4,769)
SAMe(541)
Spirulina(81)
Vitamin A(130)
Vitamin B(4,340)
Vitamin C(2,622)
Vitamin D(2,306)
Vitamin E(469)
Vitamin K(248)
Whole Foods(1,157)
Zinc(339)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Tryptophan or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules

Doctor's Best® Science-Based Nutrition™. USP Pharmaceutical Grade. Featuring Ajinomoto's TryptoPure™. L-tryptophan is an essential amino acids (protein building block) in human nutrition. Essential amino acids are not synthesized by the body and must be obtained in the diet. The L-tryptophan in this product is manufactured and tested for purity according to the United States Pharmacopeia (USP) standards.
Overall rating:
4.65 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Review 1 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElixirGirl
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good product
 June 7, 2013
"I like this product. I take it to help me sleep. It doesn't always work but it usually helps relax me. Sometimes I open up the capsules and pour the powder into my mouth for faster results."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jiloa
fromKentucky
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
great product
 May 30, 2012
"I've used this product for years and have had really good results. I don't have to use it every night, only when I have trouble sleeping. I never wake up drowsy, but come out of sleep naturally."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SASHABASHA
fromnj
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
the best for sleep
 July 8, 2011
"this is the best product for sleep. Taken before you go to sleep, you can sleep like a baby...at first some have very vivid dreams, they do calm down after about a week, then the most needed sleep happens."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Tokki
fromEast Coast
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Awful
 June 25, 2009
"For some I don't doubt that this may work but for me it is terrible. It made my body ache and made me feel real scummy in general. Im not sure about the quality although I have tried other brands of tryptophan that didn't work but also didn't make my body ache or make me feel so scummy. Also, there are ingredients on the bottle in the "other ingredients" that aren't listed on this website. Had to return."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
se55
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great for sleep
 May 22, 2008
"This product works great..I have used it for the past two years whenever I have trouble sleeping. No lingering sleepiness in the morning either."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tenacioust
 September 15, 2007
"Really helps sleep & relaxation for my husband & I."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tami
Smooth Sleeping
 August 27, 2007
"Oh my goodness! I have had soooo much trouble sleeping! This has gone on for years. A dear friend (who happens to run a hospital emergency room) told me of this product along with Melatonin. I tried it and have slept every night since!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Spike
Available tryptophan
 August 13, 2007
"doctor's best are excellent, quality formulations and their tryptophan is a great example of their standards. Tryptophan calms the nervous system and is useful for those under stress. I ama radionic practitioner, and can therefore test the quality of indidvidual products, and believe me, all brands are NOT the same."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spicejar
good price for tryptophan
 August 9, 2007
"Very good price for
l-tryptophan. I take this everynight before bed and it helps me sleep.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Doctor's Best L-Tryptophan featuring TryptoPure™ -- 500 mg - 90 Vegetarian Capsules
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
11 out of 11 recommend this product