Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop L-Carnitine or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules

A powerful mitochondrial antioxidant to promote healthy cognitive and cardiovascular function.*. What is acetyl L-carnitine? Acetyl L-carnitine (ALC) is the acetyl ester of carnitine an amino acid derivative. It is distributed throughout the central and peripheral nervous system. ALC is known as a mitochondrial antioxidant that can provide anti-aging nutrition.*.  . How does acetyl L-carnitine support health? ALC has been shown to reduce both physical and mental fatigue associated with aging.*. ALC is a precursor to the important brain neurotransmitter acetylcholine which contributes to the support of cognitive function and memory.*. ALC can help to maintain blood pressure levels already within normal range.*. New research indicates ALC may promote healthy glucose metabolism.*. Why choose Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl ? Provides 500 mg of ALC per 1-capsule serving. Contains 300 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA's Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.53 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
62 out of 66(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loki007
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Vitamins and Herbal Supplements are Fantastic!
 October 25, 2014
"We have been ordering from Vitacost for over a year. They ship the products very very quickly and packaging is fantastic. High quality products and will continue to order from Vitacost. Recommend Highly! We love that the vitamins are not synthetic and are top notch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shopdiva
fromLong Beach, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Best Value
 September 7, 2014
"Acetyl L-Carnitine HCI is difficult to locate in supermarkets and discount stores and certainly not in the milligrams I require. Vitacost.com price points are very competitive for those of us on fixed incomes and never fail in quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
miracleboy
fromNew Smyrna, Florida
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 March 24, 2014
"I've been using this product for about 4 years. It works as advertised and I am well pleased. Vitacost continues to be my most trusted company for all vitamin and health needs. Just like this product, all of the different products are high quality and I know I can trust them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everest
fromNYC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
large quantity, easy-swallow caps, good price
 December 2, 2013
"large quantity, easy-swallow caps, good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BubbaS
Great product and the price is right!
 September 25, 2013
"Great product and the price is right!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyDave
fromPA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Rated as approved in Consumerlabs.com
 March 3, 2013
"I would like to say what prompted me to purchase this product was the fact it was approved as one of the best products on consumerlabs.com website. And at a great price $$$$ too. As a subscriber to Consumerlabs I use this site thoroughly for all my products that I research before buying..."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
michytichy
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Energy Without Stimulants!
 January 8, 2013
"My husband and I use this product daily. It gives great endurance during workouts without increasing heart rate or blood pressure. Love it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freckles8669
fromOtis, OR
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 July 5, 2011
"Recommended by my bariatric surgeon, I'm not sure of it's effectiveness. I don't like the fact that it has doubled in price in 18 months! I may be forced to quit taking this & then I will finally know whether it is effective or not."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barron
fromHawaii
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A important supplement
 July 5, 2011
"I have used this important supplement in conjunction with Alpha Lipoic Acid and a trace amount of iron maintain my physical condition for many years"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JaguarJ
fromOsaka, Japan
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good quality and less expensive.
 July 1, 2011
"I can buy good quality of this product at lower price."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcoker
fromAustin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Deal
 December 31, 2010
"I feel like the Jarrow formula gives me more energy, but I tried this because it's cheaper, and I still feel great on it. Will continue to take it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
fromMid, Mi.
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 April 16, 2010
"The main thing/complaint is that their in the same colored capsule as many other suplements I take, its easy to mix it up."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JESMD
fromVero Beach, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
excellent product
 September 17, 2009
"Considering its many benefits, it is an excellent product for the price"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yssag
best for energy
 March 12, 2009
"best vitamin for energy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jacky
fromOsaka, JPN
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Cheaper than buying in Japan!!
 March 9, 2009
"I'm not sure it's effective to my body or not, but my body condition is not going worse after having the capsule. So I continue to take the capsule for more than a year. And this product is cheaper than the similar product I can buy in Japan even considering the shipping cost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HazelHealthnut
A high quality product
 November 20, 2008
"This is a high quality product and a good value."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gynchygap
fromLoveland, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
happy with the results
 September 24, 2008
"my husband and I both try to eat healthy and exercise, this helps"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mandarin
fromSOUTH EAST FLORIDA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
acetyl l-carnitine
 July 24, 2008
"wonderful product, wonderful service, the best prices anywhere"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
walleye49
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Don't Waste Your Money
 June 22, 2008
"This product won't work. You need propionate and here's why:
Acetyl-L-carnitine propionate, which is very hard to find. You will find acetyl-L-carnitine pretty easily and for cheap, but the lack of the propionate ester makes the supplement ten times less effective."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Acetyl L-Carnitine HCl -- 500 mg - 300 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mclan
fromSan Diego CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Beginning to rely on NSI products
 May 30, 2008
"Although I've given NSI's Acetyl L Carnitine HCI the highest ratings in all categories, I don't truly know how effective it is. I've just started taking it on my doc's advice. However, I have been using NSI products for about a year now, and each one I have tried has been effective, high quality (pharm. grade) and the value cannot be beat.
My doc is highly suspect of most vitamin companies, feeling they sacrifice quality for profit. I've come to believe this is not the case with NSI. I also like the fact that you can buy many of their supplements in quantities of up to 300 tabs or capsules--that really helps to keep the price down."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next