Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(491)
Amino Acids(1,285)
Calcium(3,418)
CoQ10(2,286)
Coconut Oil(3,020)
EFAs(3,305)
Fish Oil(1,430)
Iron(506)
Krill Oil(708)
Magnesium(1,618)
Melatonin(982)
Multivitamins(10,626)
Omega-3(4,619)
Algae(716)
Bee Pollen(259)
Caffeine(85)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(82)
Chitosan(39)
Chlorella(127)
Choline(123)
Collagen(202)
Colostrum(170)
D-Mannose(43)
DHEA(363)
DMAE(73)
EFAs(103)
EpiCor(28)
FOS(2)
GABA(154)
GLA(6)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(7)
HGH(33)
Iodine(40)
L-Lysine(142)
L-Theanine(191)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(220)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(308)
Lycopene(89)
MSM(369)
NADH(44)
Pectin(38)
Propolis(68)
Pycnogenol(128)
Quercetin(122)
RNA/DNA(1)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(97)
Taurine(73)
Yeast(69)
Probiotics(4,660)
SAMe(534)
Spirulina(78)
Vitamin A(127)
Vitamin B(4,231)
Vitamin C(2,575)
Vitamin D(2,248)
Vitamin E(456)
Vitamin K(241)
Whole Foods(1,139)
Zinc(332)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop GABA or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules

Supports a relaxed state of mind and may promote healthy sleep*. What is GABA (gamma-aminobutyric acid)?  . Gamma-aminobutyric acid (GABA) is major neurotransmitter widely distributed throughout the central nervous system (CNS). It’s the most important and widespread inhibitory neurotransmitter in the brain.* .  . GABA helps to prevent over-firing of nerve cells and decreases overall neuron activities in the CNS.* Over-firing can cause restlessness spasmodic movements irritability and anxiety.* GABA is also utilized by the brain to create tranquility and calmness through the brain’s metabolic processes.*.  . How does GABA (gamma-aminobutyric acid) support health? Supports a relaxed state of mind*. May promote healthy sleep*. Supports smooth or “involuntary” muscle movement*. Supports healthy resting growth hormone release after exercise*. Appears to have a significant influence on the pituitary gland’s hormone secretion primarily through its hypothalamic effect*.   Why choose Vitacost GABA (Gamma-Aminobutyric Acid)?  Non-habit-forming and non-drowsy formula.* .  Each bottle contains 100 two-capsule servings.  Extraordinary quality.  Great value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . †*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 48 reviews
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
44 out of 48(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LucyLou48
fromCovington Ga
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
A must have supplement
 July 23, 2014
"Start taking GABA and feel the difference."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lindseysoda06
fromUtah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product and even better price!!
 July 14, 2014
"Wonderful product, no side effects if you do you research, and determine when it is best to take the supplement."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mememe7
fromtonasket wa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
review gaba
 June 9, 2014
"Good quality product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hasting
fromMadison, AL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Works for me.
 June 1, 2014
"I take one of these about an hour or two before going to bed. It really helps me get a better nights sleep."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dihan
fromAlberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 April 1, 2014
"This product has helped calm me when I'm under lots of stress, and also aids in helping me fall asleep"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ivroomagain
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 February 25, 2014
"I bought this to help me get a more restful sleep. It hasn't solved all my sleep troubles, but my mind is definitely more at rest and I am more mentally relaxed"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elliotber
fromFort Lauderdale, Fl
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great Product
 February 24, 2014
"Comparing this to all the other products available, I've found the Vitacost product works the best and is the best value by far."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
jazarthur
fromNashville TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Still experimenting with dosage.
 October 3, 2013
"I've always had an issue with eye-strain during sleep. I have just begun taking GABA (which my doctor approves) since it purports to reduce firing of neurons in the brain and eyes. Too early to tell, especially with complications from stress. I have been using 1 capsule at night but am going up to 2 to see if there's a difference."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marrilygo
fromOmaha NE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
helps me sleep deeper
 August 13, 2013
"I take 2 of these right before bed. Helps me sleep through the night."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
faithshield
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Relaxing
 June 21, 2013
"I take it almost every night to relax me. I take on days that are a little hectic also to keep me level headed and lessen the anxiety."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NamasteLight
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Top Shelf
 February 8, 2013
"GABA is a perfect addition to my vitamin regiment ~! Treat yourself ~"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oraibii
fromPueblo, CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 December 2, 2012
"This is a great price and good dose. I use it each evening."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sharonshiatsu
fromSeattle
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Dont' know what's wrong....?
 October 14, 2012
"I have previously used GABA for sleep before with great results. However, this is the first time I have used the Vitacost brand. It isn't working for me and I'm quite dissapointed. I would buy GABA again, but in another brand."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ssycats
fromRapid City
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Calming
 August 17, 2012
"Helps me sleep and fall asleep fast even when my mind has been racing. I feel rested in the morning and no adverse side affects or groggy feeling. Take 1 tablet before bed."
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
janale
fromNew Mexico
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Everything excellent
 March 30, 2012
"Right product, right price"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
formedofclay
seniors beware
 September 24, 2011
"I bought this based on the positive feedback. Took 1 capsule in the evening for about one month. I'm noticing I'm having trouble with coming up with words. Looked up on wikipedia and found out it is a neuro inhibitor-not something I will continue taking."
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casi
Awesome product!
 June 30, 2011
"One product that I definitely don't want to be without. It's that good."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SteveO29045
fromElgin, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Better than Gamma-O
 November 20, 2010
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"It took about 2 weeks to notice a difference, then my strength started to grow. My muscles are fuller and I feel like superman. I have taken Gamma in the past and was not satisfied with the results of the Gamma-O line. I am a NSI man exclusively from now on."
-13points
2of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mis103
excellent product
 February 15, 2010
"I love this product and the fact that it has "minimal" additives."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost GABA Gamma - Aminobutyric Acid -- 1000 mg per serving - 200 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gina
fromPa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Pleased with this supplement
 April 15, 2009
"Calming. Relaxing. Does more than take the edge off when stressed."
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next