Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Pre-Workout or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets

Advanced arginine pre-workout supplement. What is arginine alpha-ketoglutarate? L-Arginine-alpha-ketoglutarate (AAKG) is a compound made from the amino acid L-arginine and alpha-ketoglutarate a substance produced during the body's energy-generating process.  . AAKG is a precursor to glutamine which plays a major role in the regulation of protein metabolism.  . How does arginine alpha-ketoglutarate support health? May increase strength in experienced weightlifters.*. Why choose Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate? Supplies 3000 mg of AAKG per 3-tablet serving. Safe and well tolerated. High quality and value-priced! About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  .  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
23 out of 27(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Review 1 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
activated
fromshelby, nc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
super boost
 June 22, 2013
"actually bought this for my husband but I think it is doing me more good than him! great boost for the day and does not make you jittery not hyper."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CosmicMoor
Arg-AAKG!
 March 9, 2013
"I have used another brand of a-akg Olympian labs by but its the same thing pure str8 arg that gets to the blood stream quicker than hcl gives a good pump but not a long lasting enduring pump. This must be stack with other aminos L-Ornithine which is like best and L-Citrulline. If u really wanna a vasosurge ( dont steal my prodcut name lol) u can use gingko or yohimbe just becareful the latter boosts ur blood pressure beyond belief use moderately or use yohimbine hcl more processed for workouts and chemically altered."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
bmpm
fromr.i.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
to hard
 January 12, 2012
"to chew could not tell if it did anything to help with soorness after a intense work out"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tapout
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
A good NO booster for the $$$
 March 18, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"A good basic NO booster. Just pure Argenine without all of the other junk a lot of NO boosters feature. I get pretty good vascularity from this product and I like the AKG source."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
alnewms
fromSoCal
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
OK but tablets fall apart
 March 16, 2011
"The tabs seem to be reasonably effective. Pumps are good. But there were many broken tablets in the bottle I bought."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLAngel
fromFL
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product
 July 1, 2010
"My husband uses this product and is very happy with it. He is a repeat buyer and has recommended it to friends."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromBaghdad, Iraq USAR)
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Too soon to tell
 May 30, 2010
"I just started this regimen and it's too early to tell if it will be effective. The results so far look promising, better pump than with previous product I used, noticed increased vascularity which has to be good. It also seem to have increased my memory."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crudesteel
fromCA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Better than NO Xplode
 April 12, 2010
"The get max effect you must stack it with Creating Ethyl Ester. Will get you better results than NO Xplode."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cabinguy
fromWest Point
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome stuff
 November 25, 2009
"I originally started taking Nitr02 about a year ago to boost my workouts, and it is so effective that I've never looked back. What I didn't expect was the dramatic way it affected libido. Trust me on that. This stuff is the closest thing there is to the fountain of youth. I'll never stop taking Nitr02."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nat3rade
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Soreness?.. What's that?
 July 30, 2009
"My first NO product was Force Factor, which is very effective, but way to costly. This product provides me similar results at a 1/3rd of the cost. The "pump" is great! The best quality of the product is the reduction of soreness. This product reduces soreness by atleast 80%."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ronnie8
fromChicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Keeps it flowing!
 March 8, 2009
"I agree with the other reviewers: I've tried other Arginine Alpha-K formulas, and none seem to have the positive impact of this formula."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jeremy
fromSweet home Alabama
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great NO product
 October 17, 2008
"One of the better NO products I've tried. Effective and by far the best value for the money. I've purchased this product numerous times, and will purchase again. NSI continues to impress."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
BigFishSmallPond
fromOH
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Not what I expected
 September 4, 2008
"When I first read all the hype about AAKG, I expected to have the same pump and look you have right after a work out. I expected that only to a slightly lesser degree for at least a few hours after taking AAKG. I was mistaken. Perhaps my expectations were too high or I simply expected the wrong thing, but that look never increased beyond how it always is after working out. After about 15-30 min that pump and size were gone. It does however seem to make it easier to flex certain muscles when not lifting for a quick show off. Doesn't seem to increase their size at all via a pump effect. But thats just me. I've been taking it for 3 weeks now as directed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
surf89
great product as good as name brand
 July 19, 2008
"this is my first NO product ive used and i must say the results are great i look more vascular and can actually feel better circulation from using this product. ive been on it for 3 weeks now and it works. dotn expect this to suddenly make you ripped and grow tons of muscle, i use it as a supplement along with a solid workout routine and a very clean diet. it wont make you gain muscle over night but it does what it claims and you cant beat the price. take this stuff along with whey protein and creatine and you cant go wrong."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
45andHealthy
fromOregon
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent Value
 June 18, 2008
"If you’re looking for a NO product this is the one to buy!
Exactly the same ingredient as the higher cost "name brand" at half the cost.
In weight lifting blood flow is paramount for results and NSI NitrO2 gives me the pump and increased stamina needed for intense workouts.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ericka
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
Weird dreams...
 May 14, 2008
"While using this product, I had weird/disturbing dreams almost every night. For the first three nights of taking the supplement, my dreams were so vivid that I was exhausted when I woke up! After a while, the dreams began to upset me too much, so I decided to stop taking the supplement (Soon after, my dreams had returned to normal).
Now although that seems crazy to tie the two together, I did some research via Google on similar products such as Nitrix and some people had reported the same issue.
As for the effectiveness of the product, I did notice it made me more "veiny" whenever I worked out or lifted anything. But it wasn't a huge difference, and certainly was not worth the sleepless nights.
So far I've done really well with NSI's CEE (Creatine Ethyl Ester). I feel I definitely have increased muscular endurance and development because of it."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
August
fromHouston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Helped me improve my endurance
 October 19, 2007
"I play soccer 3 times a week and needed a product that would help me break through some endurance barriers. I would say it took about 2 weeks before I really noticed a difference. I use this product in conjunction with the NSI ToCoQ10 and they seem to compliment each other really well. I follow the recommeded dosage (3 tablets) about 2 hours before a game. On other days I just take it after a meal. Works great. Highly recommend. No problems on the stomach."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jetpropel
High Quality Arginine / NO Booster
 September 25, 2007
"NitrO2 has officially replaced my Universal Animal Pump. The price, the results, the pump, are completely on a whole other level! The reason? NSI uses a high quality Arginine AKG with little to no overlap or filler.
With such a clean ingredient list, this supplement doesn't necessarily need to be taken 30-45 minutes prior to exercise. I take Nitr02 first thing in the morning on an empty stomach and in the evening, 2 hours after dinner.
The price is absolutely fair for the quality of the supplement and the effectiveness. Don't pay for advertising, don't pay for packaging, pay for quality."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lordsavage
no2
 September 13, 2007
"noticed massive size increase and pump after workouts, and faster healing."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost NitrO2 Arginine Alpha-Ketoglutarate -- 3000 mg per serving - 180 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
marathonman
fromTinker Air Force Base
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:Over 180 days
NSI Nitr02
 July 28, 2007
"I have used nitrix from bsn and nitr02. I like Nitro02 same effect as bsn product but half the cost.I use different supplements what is good for runners I also weight train. Oh by the way I'm on my 2nd bottle of Nitr02 !"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next