Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop St. John's Wort or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules

Herbal extract that may help promote positive mood.* Supports women experiencing symptoms associated with menopause.*.   What is St. John’s wort? St. John's wort (Hypericum perforatum) is an herb that has been used for 2000 years for health purposes. The genus name Hypericum is from the Latin word hyper meaning "above" and icon meaning "spirit." The species name perforatum refers to puncture-like black marks on the underside of the plant's leaves. St. John’s wort especially its tiny yellow flowers is a natural source of hypericin and other flavonoid (antioxidant) compounds. Hypericin a natural pigment and the active ingredient in St. John’s wort has become the subject of intensive biochemical research over the past three decades. How does St. John’s Wort extract support health? Supports mental and emotional well-being.*. Clinically researched mood support.*. Supports vasomotor symptoms associated with perimenopause or postmenopause in women.*. In conjunction with Vitex agnus-castus can support the PMS-like symptoms in late perimenopause.*. In conjunction with black cohosh can support the symptoms associated with menopause.*. Why choose Vitacost St. John’s Wort Extract? Standardized to 0.3% hypericin ensuring consistent potency in every dose. Delivers 450 mg per each one-capsule serving. Each bottle contains 120 one-capsule servings. Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.685 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
51 out of 54(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Review 1 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AZHandyman
fromAZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
effective and affordable
 March 23, 2014
"I like taking liquid extracts but find these more effective for me"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mauritania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Very good quality, very low price
 March 19, 2014
"I did a lot of research about the standardized extracts in St. John's wort that are most effective, and this Vitacost formula fit the bill. Since I've taken it, my mood has been very stable and I've had no side effects. Highly recommend."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FrequentShopper
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product!
 January 21, 2014
"Love this product and the cost if perfect! Thanks Vitacost!
Always easy ordering and shipping!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sadnomore
fromToronto, On
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
it really works. really does
 January 9, 2014
"For me,it's a godsend!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
twinmama82
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
works well enough
 December 8, 2013
"I noticed while taking it my mood was improved. My body adjusts to taking this kind of thing quickly so after a while it stops working but it's nice that it helped for a time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Do8Mc
fromCoatesville PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Perfect I will buy this again
 October 23, 2013
"Nice size.. good dosage. I am very pleased."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trytobefeelgood
fromHuntsville Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
I want to feel better
 October 19, 2013
"It does seem calm me down."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Imager
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product !!
 July 27, 2013
"This helps me when I start to feel a little depressed throughout the week. I maintain a better mood and happy thoughts."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
April1946
fromLafayette, TN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Heart Health
 April 27, 2013
"Anyone who thinks this is just brain food needs to look up the other benefits of St. John's Wort."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MysteryGoo
fromSanta Cruz, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Calms the voices in your head
 April 19, 2013
"I'm a surly 51 year old male. I like my job, but hate where I work. I have teenage kids (self-explanatory). Normally, I can't tell if a supplement is working but I think this helps take the edge off (and I piggy-back it with L-Theanine)."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Memememememe
fromHuntsville AL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Not what I was hoping to order,,,
 February 26, 2013
"I was hoping to get a bottle of Serofin but it was no longer available. This was the next best thing I could find. As far as I can tell it is working for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
keira
fromHagerstown, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Really a great product
 February 15, 2013
"It really help you and I highly recommend this."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roxzan
fromSouthern California
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Excellent
 January 7, 2013
"This product is one of the best SJW I've ever used. And I've been on and off it for a decade. I recommend whole heatedly. Price was very fair as well.."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mal78
Surprised!
 October 23, 2012
"Usually a store/company brand while cost effective, isn't potent enough to actually work or takes a long time to work. Vitacost brand product have proved to be both! Within a few days I started to notice a difference and haven't felt the need to up the suggested amount."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lifelover
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great stuff!
 September 6, 2012
"I have been very pleased with hte results of this product. I've tried other brands, but this one seems to work the best!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mooncat
fromArizona
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Hard to find better
 July 31, 2012
"It is almost impossible to find this in the 450mg strength, which is what I need to take. Consistently high quality, top-notch product at a great price."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tsobenes
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Price!
 July 9, 2012
"I have been using another more expensive brand but saw this and decided to give it a try. It does as much maybe even better than the other one I was using and the price is unbeatable. What is more my skeptical husband likes it as well!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krazy4Christ
fromPennsylvania
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Product just as good as namebrand standardized
 June 20, 2012
"I was purchasing Ecletic St. John's Wort for my husband, but it got really expensive and they only carried it in the smaller quantity which made it MORE exensive. I decided to give Vitacosts brand a try and it works just as well at a fraction of the cost. And it's pharmaceutical grade too!!!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeighBLeighBLeighB
fromDallas/Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Quality and Price
 February 6, 2012
"I have been taking SJW for 15 years. I have used many, many brands and potencies. Even went through a phase where I only bought the most expensive - thinking it might work better or faster or whatever. They did not work any better or faster. For me, Vitacost just tops them all for quality and price. Been using their brand for 4 years."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost St. John's Wort Extract - Standardized -- 450 mg - 120 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Linda5W
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good stuff
 November 19, 2011
"I have been taking the St. John's Wart Extract for quite some time, although I like the tablets better, the capsule form works just as well."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next