Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz

Brings Out Natural Highlights and Shine. Adds Luxurious Body "Turn on the lights" and restore the shimmering brilliance hidden in your hair. The secret is non-coloring neutral Henna -- well known for its extraordinary ability to reflect light -- like cellophane -- and reveal hair's many colors and natural shine without the damaging effects of artificial coloring agents. In this formula they use high quality henna which will not change the color of your hair and washes out with each use. Safe to use on color-treated hair.
Overall rating:
4.522 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
22 out of 23(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
slsmwc
fromOKC, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice shampoo
 May 1, 2014
"I like this shampoo, it clean well and rinses thoroughly. I haven't noticed much in the way of highlights. If they are there, they are subtle. Still a good shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mayathebee
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Shiny, beautiful hair!
 January 24, 2014
"This is one of my favorite products. I don't know if I can convey with words how wonderful it is! I have very fine, straight hair that is easily weighed down and looks greasy easily. With many shampoos, my hair looks dirty and greasy just a few hours after washing my hair. For a long time, I used clarifying shampoos and skipped conditioner to avoid this. As a result, my hair became quite brittle and dry, stripped of its natural moisture. A good friend recommended Shikai products and they have totally transformed my hair. I use both the Henna Gold shampoo and conditioner daily, and my hair looks great all day. They have added a ton of shine and body. Natural red highlights have been brought out in my hair which are especially noticeable in the sun. Very, very highly recommended."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Licurici
fromFrance
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great highlighting
 October 12, 2013
"Makes hair silky and easy to hairdo"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JH99
fromCALIF
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Lives up to its name!
 October 4, 2013
"i read the reviews and decided to try it!
YES! it really does "highlight"
good lather, rinses well, and hair feels wonderful.
I am so pleased
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JAST
fromCincinnati Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Makes hair shine
 October 2, 2013
"Love this stuff"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tbar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great highlights!
 May 4, 2013
"I have dry hair and many shampoos dry it out. This one leaves my hair soft and very shiny. The highlights are amazing! I have dark brown hair and this shampoo brings out blond and red highlights to the point my BF can't believe it! Great stuff with a nice natural scent, NO chemical fragrance."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
seasalt
 November 27, 2012
"like this shampoo, will buy again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
morganBlade
fromFloyd, Va
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
wonderful product,good price environmentally sound
 November 14, 2012
"I have used this product for years on my naturally blonde, high-lighted hair. Only shampoo that keeps my hair looking clean and shinny. Has a great environmentally friendly rating."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
PamE
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
great for shine, not so great for everything else
 March 13, 2012
"My hair has become very, very shiny while using this shampoo (and conditioner) but, ever since I started using this pair of products my hair has been so dry! I have fine hair, usually very full, and soft, and now - my hair is dry, knotted, frizzy. I do not like this at all! I've resorted to shampooing my scalp with this shampoo, and using conditioner on the rest of my long hair. My hair stylist told me that people with fine hair should avoid henna because it is so drying - would have been nice to know that beforehand!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
VitaLiving
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 December 17, 2011
"I love this shampoo for the brightening effect, and the bottle lasts a long time as just a small amount produces great lather. I'm trying all of the products in this line now."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MotherSunshine
fromHawaii
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Beautiful, Shiny Hair
 December 10, 2011
"My 14 year-old daughter and I have both used this shampoo for years. She has medium-brown hair and I have light-brown hair. It brings out the most beautiful shine, especially in the sunlight. It won't bleach or dye your hair, it brings out your natural highlights and adds shine. It also cleans well and makes your hair soft."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SmartShopperMommy
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
LOVE IT!!!
 June 30, 2011
"I LOVE this shampoo. It makes my hair feel like silk and it looks so shiny. When I went and got my hair cut my stylist liked the look and feel of my hair so much that she asked me what I was using, how much it cost, and where to get it. I also use this on my 7 yr old. Her hair lays so much better now, and so does my curly hair. I highly recommend this shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Radiant22
fromMobile, AL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
THE best shampoo
 May 22, 2011
"My hair in medium texture and curly (not too curly). This shampoo NEVER dries my hair or makes it frizz. While even professional products would. I love how it makes my hair feel . . . well, like hair, lol!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
maji
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 May 4, 2011
"This shampoo together with the highlighting conditioner are great!The first time I used them I noticed the highlights immediately. My hair feels soft and I get compliments all the time. I highly recommend the duo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
grammag
fromWestern Washington
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works well
 June 11, 2010
"really brings out the blond highlights in my hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mandy462
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
As promised!
 April 13, 2010
"Very gentle, pleasant smell, don't need much, and lightened my dark brown hair just enough to notice. I'm done with harsh and/or toxic ingredients, I'm a Shikai convert!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
imstillthirsty
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
it's ok....
 February 20, 2010
"im not very impressed with it. It MAYBE brightens up my hair a little bit, but not much. it's ok as a shampoo. I dont love the smell."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Organiclover
Best Highlighting Shampoo
 October 23, 2008
"My daughter had me try this one. After using it ONCE, I decided to order myself. The Shikai highlighting shampoo really brings out the highlights. I have highlighted hair and at times it starts looking a bit dull. This works. Brings back the shine and lustre. Another MUST TRY!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrazyAboutNature
fromSalt Lake City UT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good shampoo!
 December 29, 2007
"This shampoo is vegan! It washes real good and it makes my hair all soft! I have been using it for about 2 months now. But as far as the highlights go, I haven't seen any yet! Maybe it is because I just use it once a week! Maybe I will try to use it more times and see if there is any difference after all!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shikai Henna Gold Highlighting Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kerbe
fromMississippi
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Nice, but...
 November 14, 2007
"This is a fine product, but I prefer the "Everyday" shampoo and conditioner."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next