Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz

Adds Fullness and Texture to Fine or Thin Hair. Rich in Botanical Ingredients. Extra Gentle Cleansing. Soy protein combined with panthenol strengthens nourishes and adds extra body and volume to thin oily fine hair while natural soap & detergent-free Shikai Extract provides extra gentle cleansing.  . Each ShiKai shampoo is based on this special botanical extract obtained from the fruit of an East Asian acacia tree. It is this extract which provides rich dense gentle later and leaves hair shiny and manageable. Plant based. Low detergent extra mild. No animal ingredients. No animal testing.
Overall rating:
4.645 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
29 out of 31(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Shampoo
 April 12, 2016
" Smells great. Lathers well. My hair is as volumized as when I used conventional volumizing shampoos (so not much, but what can you do). This is one of the few products that I repurchase again and again. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVicksburg, MS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
No parabens or sulfates.
 January 17, 2016
" No harmful chemicals but great performance. Good lather. Nice smell. Performs well. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It does what it claims!
 January 15, 2016
" This shampoo does what it claims to do - adds volume to thin hair. I have thin straight hair that always hangs flat. After washing with this shampoo my hair feels and looks much fuller. The only downside is that it is harder to comb it if you don't use conditioner (I usually don't use conditioner anyway), so I wait till my hair is almost dry and then surprisingly it combs well. Will use it from now on, since it is organic and vegan. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
the best
 July 18, 2015
" I have straight, thick, flat hair. I have tried about every volumizing shampoo to get some body, I prefer to use a natural shampoo, when I ordered this shampoo I was just trying one more..
boy!!.. this is one of the best (or BEST!)
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love It
 January 31, 2015
" I've been using this shampoo for years. It does a nice job of adding the volume I'm looking for and I love the smell. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTallahassee, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works well for my fine hair
 November 13, 2014
" Love it. It works well for my very thin hair and I like the soft feel that it leaves after I use it. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFrance
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent
 January 26, 2014
" I've used it for 2 years, it really thickens the hair and makes it really healthy when used every 3 days in quite generous quantities "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My Mom's favorite
 October 28, 2013
" My Mom looked everywhere to find this product when hers ran out - luckily I found it at Vitacost and at a great price. She thinks it's the best shampoo she's ever used. The volumizing works wonders for her short bob haircut and her beautiful white hair. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice shampoo
 October 11, 2013
" Good shampoo, and I have tried many. I have long color treated hair. I would recommend. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorthwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fabulous used with Color Reflect Conditioner
 April 3, 2013
" I have always had the most difficult hair on the planet and now that I'm not so young any more, it's thinner and finer than ever. Over-colored (blonde), over-shampooed, over-terrible straw-like hair. I bought this shampoo and Shikai Color Reflect Conditioner together, tried them, and could not believe I was looking at the same head of hair. It looks thick. It holds a curl. It bounces. It's like the real me with good hair has finally emerged.
Alone, this shampoo would be too drying but with the conditioner, it's amazing. I towel dry hair, then apply conditioner and leave it on for at least 3 minutes. Then, while I'm drying, I take just a dab of conditioner, rub between palms, and rub into hair. I wash and condition every other day. And yes, I do use a little spritz of hairspray. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromMerrick, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
it works
 October 22, 2012
" Cleans thoroughly without feeling of residue, gives body with usual styling. I have very fine hair, and would recommend it. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTampa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this Shampoo
 October 10, 2012
" This foams up really good and is thick, so you don't need to use a whole bunch to get the job done. It smells great and does a good job of cleaning. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it
 October 2, 2012
" My second bottle, so I can recommend highly..nice,simple,easy wash,hair feels good after. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGlendale, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My favorite shampoo.
 July 15, 2012
" I love this shampoo and the price is awesome on your website. So glad that you are carrying my Shikai favorites. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!
 July 7, 2012
" I first bought this off of a clearance table at the grocery store. I am always looking for natural products without chemicals in them. I was thrilled with the shine and fullness it gave my fine hair. It was discontinued at that store so I was thrilled when I found it at Vitacost. My daughter uses it as well and it is much more affordable than salon shampoo and works even better! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRAMLA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 May 5, 2012
This customer did not provide a text review.
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
I love this shampoo!
 January 26, 2012
" This product leaves my fine, chemically-processed (high-lighted) hair looking full and very shiny. It lathers extremely well without having to use a ton of product. It smells wonderful and I swear that I see less hair falling out. I also like the fact that it's not loaded with chemicals! "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shikai vol. shampoo
 August 3, 2011
" Feels great on the hair and gives volume to thick, fine hair, also. It leaves a terrific, clean feel. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromChicago, IL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Frizzies instead of Volume
 May 22, 2011
" Shikai Volumizing Shampoo has a nice fragrance and consistency, but instead of providing volume for my fine hair, it just made it fly-away. Also, instead of adding shine, it dulled my hair. I will not purchase again. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGermantown Hills, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love this product
 February 9, 2011
" Def adds volume to my hair! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next