Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz

Adds Fullness and Texture to Fine or Thin Hair. Rich in Botanical Ingredients. Extra Gentle Cleansing. Soy protein combined with panthenol strengthens nourishes and adds extra body and volume to thin oily fine hair while natural soap & detergent-free Shikai Extract provides extra gentle cleansing.  . Each ShiKai shampoo is based on this special botanical extract obtained from the fruit of an East Asian acacia tree. It is this extract which provides rich dense gentle later and leaves hair shiny and manageable. Plant based. Low detergent extra mild. No animal ingredients. No animal testing.
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
23 out of 25(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steph36
fromFrance
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Excellent
 January 26, 2014
"I've used it for 2 years, it really thickens the hair and makes it really healthy when used every 3 days in quite generous quantities"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vickyb
fromNew York
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My Mom's favorite
 October 28, 2013
"My Mom looked everywhere to find this product when hers ran out - luckily I found it at Vitacost and at a great price. She thinks it's the best shampoo she's ever used. The volumizing works wonders for her short bob haircut and her beautiful white hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RSG3
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nice shampoo
 October 11, 2013
"Good shampoo, and I have tried many. I have long color treated hair. I would recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VitaWriter
fromNorthwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fabulous used with Color Reflect Conditioner
 April 3, 2013
"I have always had the most difficult hair on the planet and now that I'm not so young any more, it's thinner and finer than ever. Over-colored (blonde), over-shampooed, over-terrible straw-like hair. I bought this shampoo and Shikai Color Reflect Conditioner together, tried them, and could not believe I was looking at the same head of hair. It looks thick. It holds a curl. It bounces. It's like the real me with good hair has finally emerged.
Alone, this shampoo would be too drying but with the conditioner, it's amazing. I towel dry hair, then apply conditioner and leave it on for at least 3 minutes. Then, while I'm drying, I take just a dab of conditioner, rub between palms, and rub into hair. I wash and condition every other day. And yes, I do use a little spritz of hairspray."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Esmerelda
fromMerrick, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
it works
 October 22, 2012
"Cleans thoroughly without feeling of residue, gives body with usual styling. I have very fine hair, and would recommend it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
yista1
fromTampa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this Shampoo
 October 10, 2012
"This foams up really good and is thick, so you don't need to use a whole bunch to get the job done. It smells great and does a good job of cleaning."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
silversky
Love it
 October 2, 2012
"My second bottle, so I can recommend highly..nice,simple,easy wash,hair feels good after."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmbphx
fromGlendale, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My favorite shampoo.
 July 15, 2012
"I love this shampoo and the price is awesome on your website. So glad that you are carrying my Shikai favorites."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjg14
fromIndiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!
 July 7, 2012
"I first bought this off of a clearance table at the grocery store. I am always looking for natural products without chemicals in them. I was thrilled with the shine and fullness it gave my fine hair. It was discontinued at that store so I was thrilled when I found it at Vitacost. My daughter uses it as well and it is much more affordable than salon shampoo and works even better!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YOSEF
fromRAMLA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 May 5, 2012
This customer did not provide a text review.
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
horseandhound
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
I love this shampoo!
 January 26, 2012
"This product leaves my fine, chemically-processed (high-lighted) hair looking full and very shiny. It lathers extremely well without having to use a ton of product. It smells wonderful and I swear that I see less hair falling out. I also like the fact that it's not loaded with chemicals!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jobes
shikai vol. shampoo
 August 3, 2011
"Feels great on the hair and gives volume to thick, fine hair, also. It leaves a terrific, clean feel."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
jreb
fromChicago, IL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Frizzies instead of Volume
 May 22, 2011
"Shikai Volumizing Shampoo has a nice fragrance and consistency, but instead of providing volume for my fine hair, it just made it fly-away. Also, instead of adding shine, it dulled my hair. I will not purchase again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
likeorganics
fromGermantown Hills, IL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Love this product
 February 9, 2011
"Def adds volume to my hair!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
cmr79
fromFredericksburg, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Smells Great & Feels Great!
 November 18, 2010
"The only thing I am not totally satisfied with is it doesn't volumize a whole lot. But the smell and feel help make up for this. So if you don't need a ton of volume you will probably love this product. I have been using this for about a month."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WiseOne20
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Body for Fine Hair
 June 10, 2010
"Gives body to fine hair that lasts."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mendo2
fromSan Francisco
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Hair-raising?
 December 8, 2009
"My hair is very fine and has begun to thin a little. The Shikai Volumizing Shampoo adds volume, as promised, to my hair (and even my neatly trimmed beard), and with the help of the panthenol in the formula still gives a bright shine to my hair. The product requires two applications for the best result. And no sodium lauryl sulfate or similiar ingredients!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicesmilegal
Excellent, Have Used for Years
 October 10, 2009
"I have gone through countless bottles of this shampoo, and I am drawn to it because I find it cleanses well, appearing to remove residue from other hair products. I had a problem with my son's hair in that nothing seemed to cleanse his oily hair, but this does . . . and at the same time, I can use it with dry hair, and it seems to somehow work for the both of us without buying two different shampoos. I highly recommend it, especially if you want to avoid all the horrible chemicals in other, typical shampoos."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kellygirl55
fromHavertown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Product changed and is awful
 December 26, 2008
"I have been a constant user of this product for over a year now and absolutely loved it. However, I recently bought two new bottles and both were awful. The smell was different, it lathered different, and while I could live with that I could not live with the fact that not only did it leave hair not feeling clean, my hair did not enjoy the ususal fullness this product once gave but left it flat and lifeless. I thought maybe something was wrong with the one bottle so I put a bottle I just bought out which my son used this morning. After he was done in the shower he said to me "what's up with that shampoo?" I asked him what he meant and he said my hair feels awful--it doesn't even feel like I washed it. I did just send the company an email letting them know my dissatisfaction as I had not found another natural product that I could buy in a store that was reasonably priced and that was as good as this shampoo once was. I will be curious what they have to say and hope they do respond. I have never written a product review before but given I am now out the cost of two bottles of shampoo I have thrown out I did not want anyone else have happen to them what happened to me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Shikai Natural Volumizing Shampoo -- 12 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamjam
fromBend, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 December 13, 2008
"I've been using this shampoo for years. works pretty well as a shampoo though phenomenal for a natural bubble bath. loads of bubbles an no chemicals! love this product!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next