Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Health Care or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules

Includes Prebiotics & Probiotics. Promotes Growth of 'Good' Bacteria In Your Pet's Digestive System  For Dogs & Cats 12 weeks of age and older. Gentle Digest® provides human grade bacillus coagulans (formerly known as Lactobacillus Sporogenes) helps promote growth of friendly bacteria to pet's digestive tract. Gentle Digest® uses live microencapsulated spores with Chicory a recognized prebiotic a source of FOS (fructo-oligosaccharides) resistant to gastric acids to ensure delivery.  . Occasions to Use Gentle Digest®. To restore digestive balance interrupted as a result of antibiotic therapy. For help with diarrhea and/or constipation. To reduce gas and flatulence. To aid digestion and absorption of critical nutrients -beneficial for "Sr." pets and pets under stress. Assists yeast infections - particularly ear infections.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
19 out of 20(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
capricaga
fromNH
helped my doggies!
 May 30, 2014
"When we have to give our pups heartguard through the summer season only it causes them to have diarrhea when first giving it. After giving Ark Naturals Digest for 2 weeks prior they did great and had no digestive upset!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
triciaub13
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
 May 7, 2014
"It really doesn't work. I have 2 Havaneese with BAD gas problems. I tried this for several weeks and it really did NOTHING. I now put 1 tablespoon of plain yogurt in their food weekly. That helps a bit but I think we just need to find an agreeable type of dog food."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
susie1234
fromReading, MA
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 April 2, 2014
"My 15 year old cat has colitis and I give her 1/2 a pill a day with her food. It has been helping her with this ailment. Very happy I found this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marlas
fromPanama City, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
works well
 September 26, 2013
"I bought this for my cat, works well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Goodboyrudy
 August 5, 2012
"I'm using this for my black lab and it seems to be helping him with digestion."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DianaV
fromMaryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
no more stinky dog!
 May 14, 2010
"Gentle digest worked overnight to stop my beagle/terrier mix's silent stink bombs! It also helped to firm up her stools somewhat. The price on Vitacost can't be beat!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mblady
Ark Naturals Gentle Digest
 April 7, 2010
"I have an older dog, so it seems that no one product stops the gas in the evening. He is on a raw food diet, and there are good days and bad days. You product seems to agree with him, and hopefully after continuous use, the gas will subside."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chippy
 February 16, 2010
"Helped decrease the amount of vomiting my dogs have."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MakingTheMostofLife
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It works!
 October 20, 2009
"We have a delightful little dog with a sensitive stomach. With Ark Naturals Gentle Digest she rarely vomits and her bowels are much healthier. Makes her happier and a lot easier to live with."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amma
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent product!
 September 12, 2009
"My pups are given one of these a day in their raw food meal to help them digest it. I don't like to have a body be dependent on any product daily, so they get it til the bottle is empty, then off a month, then on again. I have noticed their stools are great, they have no flatulence when on the product. Their fur is softer and shinier. I would recommend this product for any animal."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mirabelle
fromWashington, DC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product really works
 June 22, 2009
"One of my Brittanys gets horrendous gas after eating. I have tried all kinds of diets and pills for her, to no avail. Since I have had great success with another Natural Ark product, Happy Traveler, I thought I'd try the Gentle Digest. It really works. It's really obvious when we forget to give her a pill."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
golfinggrammie
Gentle Digest
 May 21, 2009
"Our dog was having problems with burping and constipation. He's been on the Gentle Digest for a month now and doing much better. I am satisifed with this product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BuddysMom
Pretty Good Stuff
 April 20, 2009
"I bought this in hopes of helping my dear nearly 2 year old basset hound's belly. His bowel movements were like soft serve ice cream no matter what kind of sensitive stomach food I tried. Finally just one pill added to some peanut butter at lunch time has him feeling better. The bottle recommends more since Bud's 65 lbs but I find one is sufficient. If this is your problem this stuff is worth a try."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
avalonbeachperson
fromMilton, Florida
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Helps to fix stomach isssues
 January 21, 2009
"Helps the pet after antibiotic therapy. Wish it were in powder form to add to pet's food rather than capsules, but the capsules can be taken apart."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vitacost
fromfort lee, nj
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Happy Cat
 June 25, 2008
"It is the first product that actually helped my cat digest her food."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilvoice
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Gentle Digest is Awesome
 May 11, 2008
"This product truly works!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product