Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules

Includes Prebiotics & Probiotics. Promotes Growth of 'Good' Bacteria In Your Pet's Digestive System  For Dogs & Cats 12 weeks of age and older. Gentle Digest® provides human grade bacillus coagulans (formerly known as Lactobacillus Sporogenes) helps promote growth of friendly bacteria to pet's digestive tract. Gentle Digest® uses live microencapsulated spores with Chicory a recognized prebiotic a source of FOS (fructo-oligosaccharides) resistant to gastric acids to ensure delivery.  . Occasions to Use Gentle Digest®. To restore digestive balance interrupted as a result of antibiotic therapy. For help with diarrhea and/or constipation. To reduce gas and flatulence. To aid digestion and absorption of critical nutrients -beneficial for "Sr." pets and pets under stress. Assists yeast infections - particularly ear infections.
Overall rating:
4.731 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Review 1 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHolmdel, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product.
 December 26, 2015
" This product has helped my cats with digestive issues and made a big difference in their well being. I will continue using it and recommend it to any one who has a cat with digestive issues. it's also very easy to administer. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Excellent probiotic for cats
 November 26, 2015
" My cat has digestive issues and this product really helps. I highly recommend it. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
it's ok
 November 12, 2015
" I've purchased it secondly for my cat .
Only the problem , that i need to put it into the wet food ,he doesn't eat it with his dry food.
But after this enzymes his stomach works better.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPennsylvania
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 October 7, 2015
" I have been giving my Newfoundland this for a few years now. Seems to work great. It's about 1/2 the price at vitacost compared to my local health food store. He never has had a stomach issue.
Never has he had gas. I highly recommend this product.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMonterey,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Unexpectedly no more terribly stinky gas!
 September 27, 2014
" We bought this for our 15 year old chihuahua who has food allergies. Since he only weighs seven pounds, I divided the capsule between our two small cats and the dog. The dog seems to more easily lose weight now and we no longer have to leave the room when the cats use the restroom! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product for your pet.
 August 18, 2014
" Pre and probiotics are the unsung heroes of supplements- they work wonders for humans and pets alike. Prebiotics predigest food so it is easier on the tummy. Probiotics help your pet get more nutrients from the food consumed. I have been giving this to my cat for years and her coat glows. Now let's mention price- what a bargain! This product is a great and afffordable first step to ensuring your pet's health for years to come (great for dogs as well.) . "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNH
helped my doggies!
 May 30, 2014
" When we have to give our pups heartguard through the summer season only it causes them to have diarrhea when first giving it. After giving Ark Naturals Digest for 2 weeks prior they did great and had no digestive upset! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromBuffalo, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
 May 7, 2014
" It really doesn't work. I have 2 Havaneese with BAD gas problems. I tried this for several weeks and it really did NOTHING. I now put 1 tablespoon of plain yogurt in their food weekly. That helps a bit but I think we just need to find an agreeable type of dog food. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromReading, MA
Age:55-64
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
 April 2, 2014
" My 15 year old cat has colitis and I give her 1/2 a pill a day with her food. It has been helping her with this ailment. Very happy I found this product. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPanama City, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
works well
 September 26, 2013
" I bought this for my cat, works well. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
 August 5, 2012
" I'm using this for my black lab and it seems to be helping him with digestion. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMaryland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
no more stinky dog!
 May 14, 2010
" Gentle digest worked overnight to stop my beagle/terrier mix's silent stink bombs! It also helped to firm up her stools somewhat. The price on Vitacost can't be beat! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ark Naturals Gentle Digest
 April 7, 2010
" I have an older dog, so it seems that no one product stops the gas in the evening. He is on a raw food diet, and there are good days and bad days. You product seems to agree with him, and hopefully after continuous use, the gas will subside. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
 February 16, 2010
" Helped decrease the amount of vomiting my dogs have. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPortland, OR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
It works!
 October 20, 2009
" We have a delightful little dog with a sensitive stomach. With Ark Naturals Gentle Digest she rarely vomits and her bowels are much healthier. Makes her happier and a lot easier to live with. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorth Carolina
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Excellent product!
 September 12, 2009
" My pups are given one of these a day in their raw food meal to help them digest it. I don't like to have a body be dependent on any product daily, so they get it til the bottle is empty, then off a month, then on again. I have noticed their stools are great, they have no flatulence when on the product. Their fur is softer and shinier. I would recommend this product for any animal. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWashington, DC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product really works
 June 22, 2009
" One of my Brittanys gets horrendous gas after eating. I have tried all kinds of diets and pills for her, to no avail. Since I have had great success with another Natural Ark product, Happy Traveler, I thought I'd try the Gentle Digest. It really works. It's really obvious when we forget to give her a pill. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gentle Digest
 May 21, 2009
" Our dog was having problems with burping and constipation. He's been on the Gentle Digest for a month now and doing much better. I am satisifed with this product. "
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty Good Stuff
 April 20, 2009
" I bought this in hopes of helping my dear nearly 2 year old basset hound's belly. His bowel movements were like soft serve ice cream no matter what kind of sensitive stomach food I tried. Finally just one pill added to some peanut butter at lunch time has him feeling better. The bottle recommends more since Bud's 65 lbs but I find one is sufficient. If this is your problem this stuff is worth a try. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ark Naturals Gentle Digest® for Dogs and Cats -- 60 Capsules
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMilton, Florida
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Helps to fix stomach isssues
 January 21, 2009
" Helps the pet after antibiotic therapy. Wish it were in powder form to add to pet's food rather than capsules, but the capsules can be taken apart. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next