Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Soap or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz

Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps: 18-in-1 Hemp Tea Tree Pure-Castile Soap. Made with organic oils. No foaming agents. Enjoy 1 soap for 18 different uses! Guaranteed pure potassium castile soap. Dr. Bronner's TEA TREE Pure-Castile Soap has our most controversial label as it includes Dr. Bronner's ecstatic love poetry. When the Almond-Castile label is rhythmically recited while bathing and breathing in the almond-scented steam-misted waters of the inner bath-tub sanctum people enter deep dreamy mystical trance states of super-sensuous luxuriousness and consciousness and emerge from their bath as if from the Fountain of Life--reborn renewed refreshed and ready to help unite the human race! All-One! All One! Supermild Castile has outstanding water softening and cleansing powers preferable to harsh soap & defattening synthetics. It does not cut dirt but dissolves it. It is the mildest most pleasant soap you have ever used. Soap is made by saponifying a fat or oil with a strong alkali. A fat or oil is a triglyceride which means that three fatty acids of various carbon lengths are attached to a glycerine backbone. The strong alkali is either sodium (for bars) or potassium (for liquids) hydroxide. The saponification process is a simple one-step reaction with no waste generated: the glycerine is split off from the fatty acids and the fatty acids combine with the sodium or potassium to form soap while the hydroxide forms water. The result is soap glycerin and water (no alkali remains). Quality soap-making consists in great part in choosing the right proportions of the right oils with their different fatty acids. Most commercial soaps skimp on quality because of cost and use lots of tallow from beef fat with a little bit of coconut or palm kernel oil. Our unsurpassed soaps use olive hemp and palm oils instead of tallow and use three to four times more coconut oil than commercial soaps. Saponified coconut oil generates high-lather cleansing even in hard water because it has shorter-chain saturated fatty acids. Hemp olive and palm based soaps make a mild smooth creamy lather because these oils contain longer chain unsaturated and polyunsaturated fatty acids. Dr. Bronner's makes a higher quality soap in other ways as well. Unlike most commercial soapmakers who distill the glycerin out of their soaps to sell we retain it in our soap for its superb moisturizing qualities. We also superfat our soap with olive fatty acid which both ensures that there is no free alkali and lowers the pH making a milder smoother lather. We use rosemary extract and plant-derived vitamin antioxidants to protect freshness (the rosemary is effective at 0.005% so it contributes absolutely no scent). We do not add any chelating agents dyes whiteners or synthetic fragrances. We use only 100% pure high quality essential oils. Our liquid soaps are so concentrated that they are only a few percent away from being a solid which ecologically saves on packaging materials. They are a superb value costing less than less-concentrated inferior detergent body-wash "liquid soaps." Our soaps are most popular for at-home washing but they also are the choice when camping and hiking as our soaps are so biodegradable and nature-friendly. Dr. Bronner's soaps have spread by quality and word of mouth alone into virtually every health food store in the country. Unsolicited articles raving about our soaps have appeared in magazines and newspapers as diverse as Natural Health Outdoor Gear Vogue The Washington Post The Chicago Tribune The Associated Press The Wall Street Journal Parenting and New Age.
Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
64 out of 68(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mandabean
fromfairfax, va
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
love it
 July 14, 2014
"i love this soap and will use nothing else!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mamma4
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Can't go wrong with Bronner's
 May 8, 2014
"I love Dr. Bronner's version of castile best. The smell is very tea tree, if you are used to that smell it will be pleasant for you. Knowing that tea tree oil is antibacterial, antifungal and a few other anti's the smell is comforting. I use this (1T to a half full bucket of water) to mop my hardwood floors. I do wish it had more of a hemp smell as I prefer that. But the product itself is everything you'd hope for."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Faroe
fromBlanco, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reliable goodness!
 February 2, 2014
"Clean, fresh and simple!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
DTran
fromHouston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Cleans good but the scent needs to get used to
 January 26, 2014
"I think the soap cleans and lather quite well but the scent is too weird. It does not smell like tea tree. I wished I had bought a smaller bottle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JustAFriend
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
HORRIBLE Scent!
 January 5, 2014
"I have used Dr. Bonner soap since the '70's and this just scent is just wrong wrong wrong !!! On my error I must not have read the label well enough, thinking I was buying some kind of orange scent ( well ... It is packaged in orange!!!) So my dismay when I went to lather up and the smell reeked of something similar to gas/grease/some kind of petroleum smell ... YUCK!!! Don't think I would even keep it to use on my car. Bummer I purchased a whole quart. I think sometimes these companies think they need to evolve to something they should just leave well enough alone! I will be much more cautious in the future.
p.s. In the past I bought their Citrus Orange Hair Rinse ... another failure
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zzen
fromSingapore
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Versatile soap
 August 16, 2013
"I dilute the soap in a foaming dispenser bottle and it works great - as a facial cleanser (seems to help with my friend's acne prone skin), body/bath soap, as a shampoo at times, and even to clean my basin when it feels grimy! I like how it leaves my skin squeaky clean, but not dehydrated and feeling 'tight'."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SCarol
fromNC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Impressed
 June 14, 2013
"I was buying this for my son and decided to get some for myself to try also in a smaller size. I was surprised. While, there is a slight medicinal smell, this stuff works! I felt so clean and my skin was so soft afterwards, that now I'm hooked. I like the added Tea Tree Oil because of all its "anti" properties. My son's athlete's foot went away in 2 days! I am sold on Dr. Bronner's now."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Homeschoolkeeperahomemom
fromWashington,GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Really Great Product!
 June 9, 2013
"My family and I really enjoy useing this product.It is gentle on hands and non irritating.We use it in the kitchen for hand washing,doing the dishes and wiping down the countertops.A couple of drops to a good squirt on a wet dish cloth makes lots of suds.The scent is kinda like carrots.This item does not mix well with vinegar.(use a separate cloth if you use vinegar for cleaning!)"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NomadMom
fromEast Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Soap works great, the smell is REALLY EARTHY...
 March 11, 2013
"I love this soap to pieces! You only need a tiny drop to wash your whole body. It's so versatile too...use it for your body, face, hair, hand soap, cleaning floors, dishes etc...but this is for any Dr Bronner's Soap. I totally prefer the almond scent best. This one is definitely 'earthy' but not offputting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2b4vegan
fromOrlando, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
100% vegetarian
 February 26, 2013
"I have used Castile Soap for months after having a bad skin reaction to cheap bar soap and I will continue to use this amazing product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runnerup
fromMountain View, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Just love it!
 January 18, 2013
"I love Dr. Bronner's Castile Soaps since they don't contain artificial fragrances or additives that have plenty of toxins.
And the tea tree oil one is my absolute favorite, it just smells so nice!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
justplainbarb
fromIrvine, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fresh Clean Scent
 January 18, 2013
"I use this product for cleaning in the kitchen and also dilute it in a foaming hand soap dispenser. It has a fresh, clean scent and is a great price for the 32 oz container."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaeRenae
fromMontevideo, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Can't live without this soap.
 January 15, 2013
"We use it in the shower for skin and for hair. Nothing works better for us and it is so pure."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
spinkie
fromMiami Fl
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Safe, antibacterial soap
 October 17, 2012
"I have an autoimmune disease and wash my hands frequently to help prevent transmittal of disease to myself. This tea tree oil soap is gentle, non-drying, and, most importantly, antibacterial."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
reviewer5678
fromSavannah, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not crazy about the smell
 August 18, 2012
"I like Dr. Bronner's soap but the hemp tea tree smell was awful. I will never buy this sent again but will continue to buy Dr. Bronner's products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gunny
fromNJ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
 March 25, 2012
"This has to be my favorite soap of all time. A little goes a long way, I really like the smell of tea tree oil and it's all organic what more could I want ! .
I use this in the winter and peppermint in the summer.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
xtine711
fromFlorida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 January 30, 2012
"One of those products that I really miss when I'm out of it. I use it for hand soap, body wash, shampoo, laundry, the dogs, works great for everything!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
shepone
fromchapel hill, nc
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
best ever
 November 11, 2011
"I've used Dr Bronner's products for years. Usually peppermint in the summer and almond in the winter. This new Tea Tree is a wonderful addition to the line. Reading the label is entertaining too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
artistne
fromOmaha, NE
Gender:Male
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good to excellent
 February 11, 2011
"Cleans great and leaves your skin in good shape. Not inexpensive but you get what you pay for. Wish it was a little more viscous"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Dr. Bronner's Organic Pure Castile Soap Hemp Tea Tree -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShellyMan
Wonderful Soap
 January 6, 2011
"This soap is mild but effective. It has a good, clean smell to it. I've purchased it before and it has become my main body soap."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next