Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Borage Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels

Supports a healthy inflammatory response*. What is borage oil?  . Borage (Borago officinalis) is an herb native to Syria that eventually spread throughout the Middle East and Mediterranean. It is now cultivated in many different areas of Europe and the U.S.  . Borage flowers and leaves are edible. The seeds are often pressed to produce an oil rich in gamma-linolenic acid (GLA). GLA is an omega-6 unsaturated fatty acid normally used by the body to create prostaglandins. GLA increases the content of dihomo- -linolenic acid (DGLA) which is converted to prostaglandin E1 (PGE1). Prostaglandin E1 is a hormone-like substance that plays a part in many biochemical and metabolic processes of the body.  . How does borage oil support health? Omega-6 essential fatty acids are required for optimal health.*. Supports a healthy inflammatory response.*. May support healthy platelet function.*. Supports healthy skin.*. Supports healthy tear production.*. May play a role in maintaining a healthy weight after weight loss.*. Supports healthy gum tissue.*. Why choose Vitacost Borage Oil? Frequently chosen by mature women as one of their top supplements.*. Offers exceptional quality at extraordinary value. . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP). .  .  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
34 out of 36(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletred76
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great price
 June 4, 2014
"Good quality and great price - works well in conjunction with E.Primrose for skin!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
temperence
fromMelbourne, Fl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Product
 September 24, 2013
"As a woman in my 50's and with many on going health issues, I have found that with all the health benefits it has made a significant difference in my daily life. I would highly recommend this product as a daily supplement."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisasReviews
fromSydney, Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Improved dry skin & skintone
 July 17, 2013
"Read how GLA is good for us and how Borage Oil is good for skin and as it's winter here at the moment, traditionally a time when skin's driest, I thought what better time to test it! I'm very happy with the results, no more dry or cracked skin, my skin feels smoother to the touch and I started to see those benefits within a few weeks. I take one capsule with dinner every night."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Franksjr
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product!
 May 14, 2013
"It's so important to get your healthy fats, without them your body won't produce the kind of cells needed to rebuild properly. Vitacost offers high quality products and great pricing. we buy most all of our supplemants from vitacost and this Borage oil with GLA is one of them!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wallee
fromCypress, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
good quaility
 April 22, 2013
"The soft gels are easy to consume"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dutchman
fromNetherlands
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Good source of GLA
 March 26, 2013
"Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA is a good product, I use it because together with omega-3 and DHA it is good to balance excess of omega-6. I think it helps a little to reduce inflammation in my joints."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
carolyn68us
fromActon, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Borage oil is great for skin
 September 23, 2012
"Fast shipping, great customer service and best prices."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sydney97
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
The best buy
 September 17, 2012
"I had been taking evening primrose oil for years, on the recommendation of Ann Louise Gittleman, but in the last year, the oil's estrogenic effects started to catch up with me. Borage oil is a terrific alternative, containing more GLA per capsule than even Barlean's EPO. I only have to take 1 capsule of borage oil per day! It's fantastic. And you can't beat the price at Vitacost. Trust me -- I did serious research before I made my purchase."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Midassyd
fromSt. Louis
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Improvement to hair and skin
 July 22, 2012
"I believe that this product has improved the feeling and appearance of dryness in my hair and skin."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
joe66cat66
fromAlbuquerque,NM
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 April 24, 2012
"A great source of the valuable fatty acid GLA>"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
fromhouston, tx
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Broke out in itchy arm rash
 October 26, 2009
"I broke out in a very itchy arm rash from these."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GermanGirlWithCurls
fromKansas City
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very Good Value
 October 8, 2009
"It's hard to say if this actually makes a huge difference in the way that I feel, but you can't beat the price, esp. for the quality. I take these for hormonal balance and overall health, but I also take several other potent herbal formulas, many Chinese, for hormonal and Women's balance...so I can't totally say these are making a huge impact. But def. worth the price!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
wizzzad
fromconnecticut
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
remove wrinkles and crows feet
 September 6, 2009
"I discovered that while taking a product from purtiy called hylastin they had borage oil in the ingredients. Well I am into saving money and this is a great deal. I am not sure if it helps my moods and joints.."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
UKChic
fromVictoria B.C. Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Borage/Starflower Oil Capsules
 March 11, 2009
"While my delivery took a little longer than I hoped, I was very pleased to receive the above product. I much prefer to only have to take one capsule a day, and these were excellent value."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaxEJ
fromPalm City, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful product
 September 25, 2008
"I have found that taking borage oil capsules really help in keeping me feeling cheerful. Sometimes I can feel a little down but taking these regularly are a real help."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sissiromy
Best GLA source
 August 16, 2008
"GLA is critical for your body to lose weight and Borage Oil has more GLA than Evening Primrose Oil. THis is a great product."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Princess
fromSilverdale, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Helped A Lot
 December 25, 2007
"I read that Borage oil would help alleviate hot flashes. Did the reseach on this product and purchased. Am happy to report that my hot flashes diminished in approximately two weeks time. They are now bearable. This brand is touted as being one of the best, yes it is."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SquirrelDude
fromArizona
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
This stuff is alergetic
 December 17, 2007
"Be cautious in using this. When I took them for as little as 3 days I broke out in Hives that itched like crazy. I stopped and they disapeared in a day. Regular GLA 300 by Twin Labs was not a problem and I had great results."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mizner561
fromBoca Raton, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love this product!
 December 12, 2007
"I was complaining to a friend about my achy joints and she suggested that I try this product. I did, and what a difference it has made! My joints feel just fine now and I'm experiencing greater mobility. Thanks for a great product at a great price!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Borage Oil with GLA -- 1300 mg - 120 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
klabaty
 August 10, 2007
"good value"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next